We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sometimes you just feel you're in the way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I was in a room that was so close to the next that I could hear them using the toilet and talking on the phone. Also I got the feeling that I was a pain in regards to dealing with the owner. Also the "dorm" rooms are very small.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goatygoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woolshedHerveyBay, Owner at Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Appreciate the review. However we're thinking this guest may have us confused with another hostel. None of our 3 dorm rooms are next to any bathrooms. The closest is 2 rooms away...
And we've never had a problem with the size of our dorm rooms. In fact, according to our permit/Lic we are able to put 2-4 more beds in each of our dorm rooms but we choose not to so our guests are more comfortable. Quality rather than quantity!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 261 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed here for one night and sorted out parking for a few nights when we did trip over to Fraser Island. Great spot outside of the town so it was great and quiet - apart from some animal on our roof at 5am :-) . We wanted a quiet place so it was great for us - We also had a car so easy for us to go and get shopping etc. If you don't have transport, it may be a bit out of the way but if you are using this as a stop to get over to the Islands - the bus stop is right outside.

Really nice size room, dead comfy bed and VERY CLEAN.

If we were not on a tight schedule we would have stayed longer. A short walk to the beach too !

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chickyboomboom99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woolshedHerveyBay, Owner at Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Thanks for the kind words. We believe one of the most basic elements of running a quality backpackers/hostel is being clean. It's one of our top priorities on a daily basis and is very much appreciated by our guests.
To clarify our location. We are actually right in the middle of Hervey Bay, one block back from the beach. All 4 backpackers/hostels in Hervey Bay are all within 100m of us. The closest big supermarket is about 1km from us but there is a smaller one on the beach front 400m away. With Hervey Bay being a city I guess you will always be 'out of the way' from somewhere...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Location, bed, staff helpfulness were all good.
I had a car to do shopping - not sure about public transport.
BBQ area can be a bit loud - but everyone was having fun (and I went to the Irish pub - walked)
Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank elleGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woolshedHerveyBay, Owner at Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you! There is a bus stop directly across the road and another 20m away on our side. One will take you all the way to the Marina and the other to the shopping cnt.
BBQ is simply awesome... All electric for ease and no loss of eyebrows! BBQ and outdoor eating is the Aussie way and so much more fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

My friend and I were supposed to stay here for only 2 nights - but ended up extending our stay!

Excellent hostel with a very nice, chilled and relaxed atmosphere. The staff was kind and helpful with booking tours etc, and answering any other questions if needed. The place is quite small compared to a lot of other hostels, which is what makes it unique. It has a nice and well maintained garden with hammocks to sit in, and even an outdoor barbecue too. You immediately feel very much at home there as you can feel that the place is privately owned - not like all the other big hostel chains.

If I ever come back to Hervey Bay, I wouldn't hesitate a second before booking myself into Aussie Woolshed Backpackers again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyHodgkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woolshedHerveyBay, Owner at Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thanks for your kind words. Not only do we own the Woolshed, we manage it 7 days a week and we also live here! It's our home and we want our guests to feel the same way. And most importantly, we pride ourselves on being a "Backpackers owned and operated by Backpackers". We have travelled through 38 countries and fully understand the expectations of our guests.
These reasons make the Woolshed unique and our guests certainly feel it...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Love this place! Arrived with a warm greeting from Brent, we were quickly checked in. Our dorm room was good, fair size and had some privacy from the partitions in the walls, which was nice! Good comfy beds and quiet surroundings so slept well. Main thing about this place is how quirky everthing is, like no other hostel I've seen!! This kitchen/common room is large and feels very much like your in the outback! Had a BBQ outside one night which was free to use and very well equipped, also a few hammocks dotted around if we wanted to chill! We borrowed a few DVDs one night as it was raining, which again were free so that was a nice added touch. The beach was a 5 minute walk aswell as some shops, the main supermarket took about 15mins to walk to, also it is a nice walk along the beach to the pier. Local buses were cheap and frequent. Thanks Woolshed, would definitely recommend!!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woolshedHerveyBay, Owner at Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you so much. Super glad you loved your stay at the Woolshed. We have tried to give guests as much privacy as possible in a 6 bed dorm. The small partition walls between the bunks works really well and we make a point of not craming people into our rooms so space is pretty good. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Super-friendly welcome from the helpful owners, and a beautiful place with accommodation buildings hidden amongst a lush subtropical garden :-)

Take earplugs though, as the birds are noisy at sunrise.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank MattEasterRd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woolshedHerveyBay, Owner at Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thanks for the review. Yes we love to put a smile on our faces and make our guests feel as though they have just come home... We love our job!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Very clean and awesome facilities, particularly the kitchen/common area. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The hostel is just a 7 min walk away from the Esplanade, where you can find a bunch of restaurants and cafés.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrNicolaiOlsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woolshedHerveyBay, Owner at Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Thanks for the review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Woolshed. Our Kitchen/Common room is amazing. Built to replicate an out back Aussie Woolshed. Such a great place to catch up or meet fellow travellers, swap stories, cook a meal or to simply chill out. Pretty awesome photo opportunity as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hervey Bay hotels
1.6 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
3.3 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 23 in Hervey Bay
2,033 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flashpackers Hervey Bay
Flashpackers Hervey Bay
#4 of 53 in Hervey Bay
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
3.1 mi away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#7 of 23 in Hervey Bay
601 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Hervey Bay
Ingenia Holidays Hervey Bay
#1 of 53 in Hervey Bay
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island

Address: 181 Torquay Rd, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Hervey Bay
Price Range: $18 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aussie Woolshed Backpackers is a small, family run hostel, that offers a wide range of very comfortable, cosy country style accommodation. All buildings are designed around an Australiana theme and set on a large property with tropical gardens. The hostel is right in the center of town, only 5 min. from the beach, supermarket, shops, restaurants & pubs. We offer ensuite doubles & twins, standard doubles & twins (aircondition optional), triple rooms & dorms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island Fraser Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing