We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Aussie hostels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We wanted to book a Palace Adventures Fraser Island tour but had heard bad reviews about the hostel the group normally stay in. We found this hostel across the road and they offered us two nights accommodation either side of our tour and stored our bags for us when we booked the trip through them (and free wifi!). The hostel itself was fantastic with a large BBQ area and hammocks for hot sunny days. There was also a communal cabin with a big kitchen area, dining area and lounge with TV. The couple running it were very friendly and although the reception was closed at certain hours of the day, the place was everything you could want from a hostel. Would absolutely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
There are newer reviews for Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 260 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012

i loved this hostel. the couple who ran it were friendly and so helpful, (previous travellers) so they knew what we wanted. rooms were so clean and homely and security was there priority. had a 3 share room with a TV n DVD player. well worth the money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We loved this hostel - its really close to the beach and shops (5-10 min walk), clean, lovely looking grounds and friendly helpful staff. We stayed here for 7 nights in total, before and after a trip to Fraser Is and ended up staying in 3 different rooms - all of which were lovely. (double rooms). Free wifi if you book trips with them - and they will pick you up and take you to and from your bus which is handy.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank selbel56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

4 Share Dorm

positive:
- calm place and nice garden
- friendly staff
- clean rooms, cleaned each day
- tv room and kitchen are ok
- private TV in room and free DVD´s from reception!

negative:
- no lockers
- no private bathroom

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
Thank CarniGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I was traveling up the Queensland coast and needed a place to stay for a night after Brisbane. Hervey Bay had the most tourist infrastructure in the area. Surprisingly the town was quite sleepy and run-down, despite having a gorgeous beach. Maybe it is more vibrant in the vacation season.

I stayed in a private ensuite room for 1 night. The room was clean and comfortable, very similar to a standard motel room. The only difference was that I had to bring my linens to the reception in the morning.

The hostel was located on a rather deserted street, a few minutes walk from the beach. I arrived late, so the manager sent me instructions on getting the key to my room. The WiFi required payment, so I did not use it. The hostel had a large courtyard that gave it a very tropical feel.

Most people probably stop in Hervey on the way to Fraser island. Unfortunately I did not have time for it on this trip. I arrived late and most restaurants were already closing. The Thai place was quite decent and there was a bar nearby. A few locals were watching a game there. They were very friendly, but hard to understand because of the thick accent.

In the morning I met the manager (or owner) who was very nice and gave me good advice about my next destinations. I asked him for a place for breakfast and he directed me to a cafe on the beach under a german flag, which was very good.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eugene_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

On my own and a lovely place to stay, friendly and very helpful Kiwi hosts and beautiful private garden to sit and relax in. Very affordable and close to beach and shops.

Room Tip: All rooms look good, small dorms and single and double rooms. TV room kitchen and garden with ha...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pingyloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

By far my favourite Backpackers hostel I've stayed in on Australia's East coast. This is probably because I travel on such a small budget I choose the cheapest places and therefore don't get the best experience - however, Woolshed is a gem of a hostel that definitely exceeded all my expectations!

Firstly, the customer service is amazing - which tends to et overlooked in many of the hostels. Brent at the reception. had our room keys, a map to our room, a map to Hervey Bay, and a hand written note with all the necessary instructions ready for us even though we checked in after office hours.

We stayed in a six bed dorm. The room was designed very well to give each person as much privacy they can have in a room with five other people. The toilets were clean and well stocked. Great cosy common room! Beautiful garden with hammocks. Bus station shuttle was a nice perk - be sure to book a seat though!

Overall had a great vibe, personal service, and well worth the money!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hervey Bay hotels
1.6 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
3.3 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 23 in Hervey Bay
1,953 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flashpackers Hervey Bay
Flashpackers Hervey Bay
#4 of 53 in Hervey Bay
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
3.1 mi away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#6 of 23 in Hervey Bay
594 reviews
0.0 mi away
Friendly Hostel
Friendly Hostel
#4 of 8 in Scarness
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island

Address: 181 Torquay Rd, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Hervey Bay
Price Range: $32 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aussie Woolshed Backpackers is a small, family run hostel, that offers a wide range of very comfortable, cosy country style accommodation. All buildings are designed around an Australiana theme and set on a large property with tropical gardens. The hostel is right in the center of town, only 5 min. from the beach, supermarket, shops, restaurants & pubs. We offer ensuite doubles & twins, standard doubles & twins (aircondition optional), triple rooms & dorms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island Fraser Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing