We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French Bakehouse”
Review of French Bakehouse

French Bakehouse
Ranked #3 of 3 Bakeries in Hervey Bay
Restaurant details
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“French Bakehouse”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This business has two outlets in Hervey Bay,.(Shop 3/349 The Esplanade, Scarness, and also the airport precinct). All food made in house by the French chef. pies, pasties, sausage rolls etc and a large range quiches and sweets. Meals are excellent and extremely good value. The proprietors are English, (Barry and Sandra Dawson), with Sandra at the airport and Barry on the Esplanade. Also excellent coffees, hot chocolates etc.
No good if you are on a weight loss diet but just the place to go to, to get relief from a diet.
Helen and David

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heldav123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    5
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Almond croissant”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Ah the choices at the French Bakehouse. The sweet pastries are constantly changing and the savouries, like the spinach and ricotta triangles, are consistently delicious. I've never left the French Bakehouse without an extra treat for "later".

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank HannahLillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great coffee and drool-worthy display”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I love good coffee and these guys calmed the jury service nerves with a great coffee at their Scarness Esplanade outlet about a year ago. Since then they've added another outlet adjacent to Hervey Bay Airport. Same great coffee and treats, great new location for airport arrivals. I confess to sticking mainly to coffees, way TOO much tempting stuff!
Their bread is I believe, oil and sugar free - top baguette!

Helpful?
Thank Allis0nMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delightful Pastries”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Well worth a visit for something sweet or something savoury.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTravels094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Not Impressed at All”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Stopped by early on my way to Brisbane (6:15am) recently (this was the store out near the Airport), and I got grumbled at becuase I wanted breakfast before she was technically open... told to go around the back to the other door because she was mopping the floors... then grumbled at because she wasn't technically open yet so if I slipped on the wet floor she was uninsured (bolony lady!, you either have public liability insurance or you don't). Then... she grumbled again because I only had a $50 note (maybe fair enough but you don't let the customer know your frustration at something like that).

I didn't force them to open, nor to accept my $50 note.

And then the food & coffee. Well, sorry to say but most of the food went in the bin as did the coffee. The Criossant was clearly not fresh at 6am, must have been from the day before, certainly tasted like it. I didn't enjoy anythign from here, and when I passed through Maryborough we got Breakfast again with far better fodo and much better coffee.

Won't be back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Auzie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Bakehouse also viewed

 
Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
Torquay, Hervey Bay
 
Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
Pialba, Hervey Bay
 

Been to French Bakehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing