We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“You get what you Pay for here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Fraser Gateway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Econo Lodge Fraser Gateway
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You get what you Pay for here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Good location and closed to a Shopping Mall.

On-Site manager was very helpful and had a good area knowledge.

Its a good accommodation option if you are on tight budget and want something close to all the basic amenities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nix_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
15
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

First, it is important to know what Hervey Bay is mostly about: a gateway to Fraser Island. Hervey Bay itself is a small town with an unimpressive beach (by Australian standards). Nothing wrong with staying there before moving on the the island, or using it for a day trip to the island (HIGHLY recommended).

The Comfort Inn is on Main Street, close to a mall complex with many restaurants and close enough for a walk down to the beach. That said, it is a town where things are very spread out. This location has a small pool out from and decent sized rooms. Overall, we were treated very well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gorper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon,USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

After traveling from Cairns to Brisbane, our third stop was this motel, a two night respite. The motel was dirty, the air conditioner overly noisy, and the shower weak. But worse of all, after returning from a full day tour of Fraser Island, the room was untouched. Dirty coffee cups, no beds made, towels arranged or straightened, wastebaskets emptied, absolutely nothing. OK, so the housekeepers made a mistake right? It happens. So, my wife goes to the office to inquire about the mishap, and what does she hear from the “New Management” (signs everywhere)? “We’re not a 5 star hotel like you’re used to...Waddya want”?
He was obstinate and nasty, with absolutely no regard for his customers. I would strongly recommend avoiding this dump. My travel agent is gonna hear about it as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank motorrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frasergateway, Manager at Econo Lodge Fraser Gateway, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Good morning Motorrader,
Firstly I would like to thank you for your review on Trip Advisor as I am very familiar with the conversation that I had with your wife.
Your wife came to see me after a long day on Fraser Island and I understand that she was feeling tired which may have explained her temperament at the time.
It was unfortunate that your room wasn’t fully serviced on this day however as explained to your wife the following which was left out of your review:
a) When personal items are left on the beds, it is our policy that we DO NOT TOUCH the items, hence is why your beds weren’t made up.
b) There is signage in your ensuite which clearly states our policy to conserve water usage and we ask guests to hang their towels on the rail if they don’t want fresh towels. We assumed that as your towels were hanging, fresh towels were not required.
c) I did give fresh towels and toiletries to your wife when requested and at the time your wife was happy with this and no other comment was given.
d) As for your rubbish, I can’t explain why my housekeeper removes only part of the items which could be placed in the external bin (I apologize for this). I have had a conversation with the person involved and further training will be provided.
e) I noted that your comments which your wife claimed.... and I quote “We’re not a 5 star hotel like you’re used to...Waddya want”? This was not said and I do find that writing inconsistent “Third Party” comments to glorify your review very concerning and harmful to the hospitality & tourism industry.
f) Our property is older; however it is very clean and tidy. Many guests tell us this and is the reason they return. The owner of the property is currently upgrading all the motel rooms with split system air conditioners. Again I note that you NEVER mentioned any of this to our staff at any time of your stay.
f) I encourage you to contact your Travel Agent and would highly recommend that you pass our details and I am available for them to contact me 24/7 for further details.
As you can see from other reviews, our Team pride ourselves on giving wonderful service to all our guests and we have found your review very upsetting and inconsistent to the actual conversation which your wife had with me. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to have a friendly discussion further.
Kindest regards
Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hervey Bay hotels

Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in room 2. Very spacious room and bathroom that were clean and well maintained.

The price was quite reasonable.

Central location.

Reception guy friendly and helpful.

Nothing at all to fault with this place at all.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KuleRucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Excellent property in the heart of Hervey Bay, Craig, Ruby and his team have done an excellent job with this property, clean and very friendly staff. Craig having lived in the area for some time has lots of local knowledge not just about Hervey Bay but also Fraser Island. The resturant 'Frasers on Main" has a different buffet each night and is great food with excellent prices.
If looking for a clean and friendly place to stay in the heart of Hervey Bay look no further.
Keep up the good work guys.....I will be back!

Room Tip: from what I had seen all rooms are great, with some rooms undertaking an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hervey_Bay_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Really nice motel. Great value for money. Very clean and spacious rooms. Hotel manager is very friendly and helpful. Well located, close to restaurants and food market. Good BBQ facilities. Early check in was absolutely no problem. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StefanieLukas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donegal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Basic cheap hotel room with paper thin walls, could practically hear conversations in the room next to us. Rooms were a good size with private bathroom. On the plus side we were able to park our car here free of charge while we did the Fraser Island tour for 2 nights. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gabD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hervey Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Beachside Motor Inn
Beachside Motor Inn
#20 of 24 in Hervey Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pialba Motor Inn
Pialba Motor Inn
#15 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hervey Bay Hotel & Resort
Hervey Bay Hotel & Resort
#23 of 24 in Hervey Bay
3.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#2 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hervey Bay Motel
Hervey Bay Motel
#14 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Fraser Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Fraser Gateway

Property: Econo Lodge Fraser Gateway
Address: 68 Main Street, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Econo Lodge Fraser Gateway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Econo Lodge Fraser Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hervey Bay
Hervey Bay Comfort Inn
Econo Lodge Fraser Gateway Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing