We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Basic Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge Fraser Gateway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Econo Lodge Fraser Gateway
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Hervey Bay
donegal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Basic Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Basic cheap hotel room with paper thin walls, could practically hear conversations in the room next to us. Rooms were a good size with private bathroom. On the plus side we were able to park our car here free of charge while we did the Fraser Island tour for 2 nights. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gabD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    14
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
19
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Have stayed at the Fraser Gateway a few times over the years. It keeps changing owners/managers over the years and the service has always been pretty average. The recent closing of the restaurant tips the balance of not staying there again. It's clean enough but that;s about it.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank andysfootball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frasergateway, Manager at Econo Lodge Fraser Gateway, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Please accept our apologies for the Restaurant (Room Service) being closed on the night you stayed due to unforeseen circumstances beyond our control. We would hope that on your next visit to Hervey Bay you may re-consider staying at the Comfort Inn Fraser Gateway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Hervey Bay is a sleepy sea side town populated mostly with retirees and pensioners. This motel caters for that demographic along with business travellers. Management are friendly enough and provided early check in at 10:30am (with some reluctance.) The bulky key is somewhat annoying and be prepared to be outright rejected when asking to leave at reception. The lady said "I don't want to take such a responsibility!" Isn't that your job?

The room smelt like an orange farm and was the Cleanest EVER I have experienced in my many years of travel. The restaurant has been closed for some 2 years so don't expect a meal. Room service is offered however for a decent price. Every takeaway known to man kind can be found just up the street to the right. $90 a night is well worth the price. NOTE: If you are a qantas frequent flyer and book on qantas.com you will be rewarded with the rate LESS qantas 15% commission. Overall, a great little motel in the middle of town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jourdan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

We booked a room with this motel only one day in advance to escape a horrible hostel we were staying at in Rainbow Beach and found it to be a great choice. We were so happy to get a nice, spacious, clean and reasonably priced room. The decor is a bit outdated but we didn't attach any importance to that since everything else from the friendly welcome to the convenient location (close to several shopping and dinner options) was perfect for us.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schiepchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

Of all the mid-range hotels, motels and apartments in which we stayed during our six weeks in Austrlalia, this was the cheapest. Since it offered spacious and clean US-style, en suite motel-room accommodation, with large beds, a dining table and chairs, refrigerator and tea and coffee making, this meant that it was very good value for money. It also has a small pool and an easy to use laundry. It is located on a quiet road close to the amenities of the north end of Hervey Bay - a large Coles supermarket 50 yards down the road , the Pialba shopping and fast food mall 150 yards in the other direction and the north end of the long sandy Hervey Bay beach 15 minutes walk away - and all the tours to Fraser Island etc. will pick up from the motel. It is also the most accessible motel if you are arriving in Hervey Bay (as we did) by Greyhound bus, which stops at the Pialba shopping mall. The couple who run the motel are friendly, helpful and efficient and rather pleased to meet anyone who isn't a travelling salesperson. Additionally, at sunset, you can watch (and hear!) the rosellas massing on a nearby tree and the fruit bats flying in formation overhead to only they know where.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2007

We had a couple of nights here at the beginning of December 2006 and the managers of the motel were very efficient and friendly.

The motel room was quite spacious and more than adequate for us. It was very clean, especially the linen and towels and the aircon was good.

We didn't sleep too well though because the sun beating down outside made the roof swell and contract early in the morning and early evening, so it made an horrendous creaking sound!!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Creaking roof
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank loopylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2006

This was a nice little place all rooms are on ground level, clean and tidy and the service was nice and friendly but it is a long way from the rest of the tourist world. We were only there for a few days and the tours we booked picked us up from right out side and dropped us back there too. Also the airport coach did the same thing too. So if you have a car or are just planning a few trips then this place will be just fine. If you want to be in the middle of the strip then try somewhere else.

  • Liked — the friendliest reception staff ever!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geordiemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hervey Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Beachside Motor Inn
Beachside Motor Inn
#20 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Motor Lodge
0.6 mi away
Hervey Bay Hotel & Resort
Hervey Bay Hotel & Resort
#22 of 24 in Hervey Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pialba Motor Inn
Pialba Motor Inn
#16 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hervey Bay Motel
Hervey Bay Motel
#14 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Fraser Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Fraser Gateway

Property: Econo Lodge Fraser Gateway
Address: 68 Main Street, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Econo Lodge Fraser Gateway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Econo Lodge Fraser Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hervey Bay
Hervey Bay Comfort Inn
Econo Lodge Fraser Gateway Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing