We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Flashpackers Hervey Bay
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Mantra Hervey Bay(Hervey Bay)(Great Value!)
$101
$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Boat Harbour Resort(Urangan)(Great Value!)
$78
$76
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$124
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Hervey Bay(Hervey Bay)(Great Value!)
$121
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akama Resort(Hervey Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shelly Bay Resort(Hervey Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hervey Bay Motel(Hervey Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riviera Resort(Hervey Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (475)
Filter reviews
475 results
Traveler rating
334
100
23
10
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
334
100
23
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscinema roomfree breakfastwine and cheesethe kitchenfraser islandflash packersbig walkshuttle busthe east coastcommon areasfantastic hostelbed female dormprivate roomno air concommon roomshuttle servicetea coffee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
301 - 306 of 475 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2013

So clean and modern, I was really impressed. The kitchen was large and so well equipped with plenty of clean cutlery and crockery. Lots of space to sit and socialise too. The rooms are fine and the en suite bathrooms are amazing, best shower I think I'll ever find in some hotels let alone hostels! Overall thought the place was really good value and would definitely recommend this to anyone!

Room Tip: No wifi in rooms only in communal areas
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petal89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

After having to cancel Fraser Island due to the flooding we had a few spare days to fill. We had enjoyed our two nights at FlashPackers in Noosa and decided to book into Hervey Bay as this was the next stop on the bus. The hostel itself was very clean and well run. The kitchen was huge and very neat and organised as was the pool and rooms.The staff made us feel very welcome and as two 18 years old we felt at home, the atmosphere is very relaxed. The staff not only look after the hostel but they look after you too. All the staff are first aid trained and after i cut my foot really badly they looked after me, and gave me advice on how to keep it clean the rest of my trip. Although the hostel isn't that close to the supermarkets the free shuttle will drop you right outside and pick you up on the way back; a great touch. Overall, we would recommend this hostel to everyone. if you are out just to party we drank there until ten and then moved on just out of respect of the neighbours.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellenholden01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Love this place, we booked in here after we got caught in floods in Jan/Feb 2012 and the guys made us feel so welcome! Love the pool, cinema room, kitchen is massive and the showers are amazing! We knew it was gonna be amazing as we had already stayed at the one in Noosa and loved it! Chilled out atmosphere we had lots of bbq's outside and great rooms!
Want to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraP1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We booked to stay here for two nights after our Fraser Island trip, but ended up staying for ten after Cyclone Oswald hit and there was no transport in or out of Hervey Bay!

We had to go to Hervey Bay two days earlier than planned as we were evacuated from Fraser Island, and thankfully they had one room left for us.

The hostel itself is brilliant. It is pretty new, and everything is modern. The pots, pans, plates, bowls, cups and cutlery are all clean and well looked after, and there are plenty of them. There are plenty of hob tops for cooking, and the kitchen is large and well laid out. They have a walk in fridge, which is fantastic.

The communal area is large, with plenty of tables and couches to accommodate everyone. It is also very clean. The cinema room and pool are great, and there is a laundry room, and washing lines outside so you don't have to pay to use a dryer.

The best part of this hostel however, is its staff. From the moment we arrived, we were impressed by the professionalism and helpfulness of Laura, who appeared to be in charge. We were all in somewhat of a crisis state as we had onward travel and tours booked, and Laura kept everyone up to date with announcements from Greyhound and Premier bus services. We had to extend our stay four times as our buses were cancelled and it was never a problem. Laura took us to the supermarket to stock up on groceries and despite working incredibly long days, was always happy and helpful. She is an absolute asset to this hostel.

The owners came up from Noosa while we were there, and despite there being a gas leak in Bundaberg, which meant there was no hot water in the showers, they also went above and beyond to make sure we were all happy and comfortable.

This is the standard of hostel that we have now come to expect, and it has probably spoiled us, as I don't expect many in other parts of the country will come close!

If this review hasn't swayed your decision to stay here, here are a few other things that might - free computers and WiFi (very good signal), free wine and cheese on Mondays, pizza night on Wednesday, free sausage sizzle on Fridays, walking distance to the beach, shops and restaurants, free pick up from the bus station.

Do yourself a favour and stay here when visiting Hervey Bay. I cannot recommend it enough!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hjeffery00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Thsi place was a lovely place to stay in Hervey Bay. Friendly and helpful staff. Really clean, and great cooking facilities. It wasn't that easy to meet people - I think most people were travelling in groups or in couples. They had single beds rather than bunk beds, which always makes a big difference :-)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aoife_ob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews