We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a contender for best hostel in Australia...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Flashpackers Hervey Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Definitely a contender for best hostel in Australia...”
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights either side of a Fraser Island tour and couldn't fault anything (other than the lack of air con but the large fan in the room just about did the job).

The owners made us feel so welcome and couldn't do enough to help us during our stay. Anything from free rides to the shops to free wine at dinner!

The hostel has a lovely open plan living space with a nice open kitchen which has plenty of cooking space, work tops and all the pans, crockery and utensils that you will need. It is also kept very clean and tidy.

There was a huge car park out the back where we left our car while we were on Fraser Island. There is also a pool and some cool hanging seats on the terrace.

Our room was fairly recently refurbished and had a nice ensuite spacious shower room.

Free use of computers with Internet is provided as well as free wi-fi (although we had no signal in our room).

We didn't see much of Hervey Bay so can't comment on location but we were picked up and dropped off right outside by our coach for Fraser Island.

We were sad to leave and wished we had a couple more nights there just because the hostel felt like a home away from home. Look no further if you are spending any time in Hervey Bay!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    96
    21
    10
    7
See reviews for
6
94
139
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

After spending some nights in not very confy and clean hostels, I arrived to this one which is awesome!. Clean, modern and great staff. The kitchen is big, clean and modern. There is also a cinema!!!Free shuttle bus to the Greyhound or the shops. I totally recommend this hostel. It needs aircon to be perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Flashpackers resorts in Noosa and Hervey Bay really are setting the standard now.

I am scoring the Hervey Bay hostel 4 stars due to the lack of Aircon, which really in Queensland is a must if you want a good nights sleep. This was the only disappointing aspect of the place.

The owner Bill is a top guy who runs a really great place, a real character. It is clean, the rooms are spacious and ensuite. Free wifi, free computers, free shuttles to and from the bus terminal. They have a tour desk like most hostels do but unlike most they will not just try and sell you the tour they make most commission on but give you proper advise to find the best trip for you.

I wouldn't recommend Hervey Bay itself for more than a few nights though as there is very little to do other than Fraser and the town shuts down very early, except for 1 small nightclub which opens Wed, Fri and Sat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hostelhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flashhb, Owner at Flashpackers Hervey Bay, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
All our staff try really hard to make everyone's stay as enjoyable as possible and meet their expectations....its great when we can exceed expectations! Hopefully, we'll have Air conditioning before next summer in some rooms as a choice for our guests. Yes, Hervey Bay is a place to enjoy Fraser Island and Whale watching which are both amazing. Party town ...No...but there's plenty of other places to do that around Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Free shuttle to and from the Greyhound, great helping to plan and book our Fraser island trip, comfortable ensuite rooms and free breakfast. We would definitely recommend this, it simply had everything we needed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2013

It's an oasis during your trip! It's totally clean, the stuff is prepared to solve any problems a traveller might have. This is what i call service. i wish there were more hostels like this where they treat you in such a nice way.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssyand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in between a visit to Fraser Island. A 5 minute walk from the beach, this hostel is specious, clean and the staff are super helpful. I arrived on the Greyhound and the hostel shuttle was waiting to collect and transfer me. They can also help with tour bookings, taxis, and other food recommendations.

I stayed in an 8 bed dorm and although they have portable fans, I created more air through blowing. As such the rooms can get quite hot and sticky, which is fine outside the summer months...which is when I stayed.

Would recommend as a great base to visit Fraser Island, and you'll meet other like minded, Fraser Island and East coast travellers here. Free wifi and Internet too, but only in the common areas.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mg0srh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hostel for one night following a trip to Fraser Island. Our tour travel agent booked our stay as part of the package. The dorm had 4 sets of bunk beds which filled the room and left no space with our backpacks. The rooms were very hot and had no aircon which meant an uncomfortable nights sleep. Staff were very helpful booking travel arrangements for us and providing a free shuttle service. We followed this stay with a stay in the Noosa Flashpackers which we much preferred.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tashter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hervey Bay hotels
1.4 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 23 in Hervey Bay
268 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 23 in Hervey Bay
1,759 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
2.9 mi away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#7 of 23 in Hervey Bay
583 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tower Court Motel Hervey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flashpackers Hervey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flashpackers Hervey Bay

Property: Flashpackers Hervey Bay
Address: 195 Torquay Tce, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flashpackers Hervey Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Flashpackers Hervey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flashpackers Hervey Bay Fraser Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing