We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Maddigan's Seafood

Maddigan's Seafood
Ranked #11 of 178 Restaurants in Hervey Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
QLD
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had two nights at Hervey Bay and both nights we bought takeaway seafood at this Esplanade Fish and Chip outlet because we enjoyed it so much the first night. It was a tasty economical dinner with the addition of some salad and a glass of wine back at our apartment. We tried four different types of local fish, prawns and sea scallops. ( how wonderful to have choices from local and fresh Australian seafood compared to the disappointing selection of frozen imported fish fillets most takeaways now dish up )
We noticed a different team in the kitchen on each night, Wednesday and Thursday, and a difference in the cooking and presentation. Whilst the actual sea food still remained tasty, the cooking did seem hurried and overbrowned and needed to have the fat drained off on the second night - not quite the same "love and care" especially of the sea scallops.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GreyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    117
    43
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Moree, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just your average take away joint”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We ordered 4 serves of locally caught fish and chips for the family. Serving size was good and prices fair. Maybe we caught them on a bad day but the oil certainly wasn't fresh. The batter and the chips had that brown look from either old oil or overcooking. Smelt burnt too. It was the worst fish and chips we had in two weeks at the bay.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rating_service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy fresh seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Prawns were really fresh and full of flavour.
Kids said the chips were the best.
The shop was very clean and the menu was large

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville, Queensland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Fish and Chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

One of the most popular seafood takeaways and right next to the ice-cream place which is great after finishing a piece of coral trout and chips in the park across the road. Quick service, good servings, never disappointed. You can even ring up, place your order then go pick it up. We always go there when we come back to visit relatives.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kylie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
161 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Naughty but n-i-c-e”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Best deep fried battered local fish and chips - for the best holiday treat. Don't be put off by the que out the door as service is fast and they will tell you how long to wait for order. Over road on the beach grassy area are picnic park tables / chairs.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Knuddys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maddigan's Seafood also viewed

Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
 
Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
 

Been to Maddigan's Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing