We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Another Pub”

The Bayswater Bar and Bistro
Ranked #125 of 183 Restaurants in Hervey Bay
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just Another Pub”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Bayswater will never have you shouting its praises from the roof tops. It really is just another pub. Plenty of choice for drinks and the food (we had gourmet pizzas and salt & pepper calamari) is of a reasonable standard without being outstanding. Nice enough place for a drink with friends.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank PandLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    95
    52
    38
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Ate here for lunch and dinner during a recent stay at Peppers.
yes, it is a pub, and you do order at the counter, that being said we enjoyed our meals.
For lunch we had burgers which were plenty big enough and tasty.
Dinner we shared a garilic pizza bread and main size calamari ($25) - it was plenty and tasty (we had been out for lunch).
Beware Thursday night is steak night $12 rump steak and the locals were out in force, hardly a table to be had, so do book. We found a table but the queue was long, howvere our mealswere served promptly.
In winter could do with a couple of more heaters on the balcony and yes, it could do with some extra staff to clear tables, especially when busy.
Cocktails on the deck were yummy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnandLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
1 review
“Bayswater Bistro, Hervey Bay”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Just had an unsatisfactory Sunday lunch, meal components slow to arrive, wrong food, staff pleasant after a fashion but not responsive to problem.
I asked to see the Duty manager, but this was refused. The supervisor explained the kitchen was one down on staff, and offered complimentary dessert.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clyde M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great for lunch or dinner with views of the bay”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Great for lunch or dinner, can't wait for the garlic prawns to be back on the menu.
Great views of Hervey Bay & the Pier from the balcony.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank QuickCatII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beware, it's not a pub!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Baywater has probably the best outlook over the Bay at Hervey Bay but that's pretty much where it ends. For its position overlooking the ocean and being part of Peppers Resort it gives the impression of a great place to have a beer, wine and meal. The wines are over priced, selection limited and the menu hasn't changed in years and is way overpriced for the quality and the fact that there is no table service. The waiting staff are average to say the least and at our last luncheon outing it took them at least a half an hour to clear the table of our plates and empty glasses. This is probably the premier position in Hervey Bay for an extremely well run tavern and let's hope that the current owners receive an offer that they can't refuse!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ServantChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bayswater Bar and Bistro also viewed

Urangan, Hervey Bay
 

Been to The Bayswater Bar and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing