We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Freedom Whale Watch tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (1,323)
Filter reviews
1,273 results
Traveler rating
1,224
44
5
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,224
44
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews profiteroles scones morning tea captain keith great food home made day trip whale watch cold meats thanks guys great boat friendly crew comfortable boat whales breaching recommend this trip salad tail slapping
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,273 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

OMG what a time, staff could not have been more friendly, whales really put on a show and the amount of food and the quality was amazing a must for anyone.

Thank Leanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Keith and the crew spent the extra time and trouble to make sure we had a fantastic day even though it was late in the season and harder to find whales. Professional and all up a great day from every aspect.
Greg.

Thank GregB3743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a great day out and saw lots of whales also some turtles. Captain and his team were very knowledgeable and looked after everyone very well.
The only negative is if you are older and a bit unsteady I did find it difficult walking down side of the boat and the front is best place to be so if you are not sure check with them first. If you can't carry anything from front to back they will help you.
Unlike other boats for the good of the passengers they won't go out if weather bad

Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a lovely day out on Freedom a few weeks back. The crew is very helpful and knowledgeable of the local history which was much appreciated. The food was very good, loved the selection of fruits for afternoon tea. We saw lots of different marine life, we started of with a few dugongs upon leaving the marina. I love it how they go out of their way to see sea turtles and drive along the K'gari coast. So overall it is a very pleasant day out and perfect if you just want to spend a day out on the water. But, unfortunately when it comes to the actual whale watching, I was very disappointed. There was not much respect towards the whales and we were doing more whale chasing than whale watching (as was pointed out by the skipper several times). The whales did not get the space that they require, such as deliberately being approached way way closer than 100m and most of our encounters were forced and cut short unfortunately. We did see lots of whales and some of them very close to the boat. At one point, when a mother and a calf was resting and not moving much, the skipper announced that he would start the engine up to "stir" the whales up. This behavior did unfortunately bring the overall experience down as there was not much respect shown to these amazing whales who deserve space and respect.

Thank Annika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Freedom III catamaran has got 360 degrees views, three levels of platforms, including a water level one, delicious on board chef prepared food (morning tea, lunch and afternoon tea), undercover and open seating, hydrophone and an extremely hardworking and knowledgeable crew. Skipper Keith, Dave and Ian make an amazing hat trick! What impressed us most is Keith looks out for the weather and has an innate ability to spot the whales. He took the boat out into the open water to take us real close to the whales. Saw dolphins and sea turtles as well. Keith's sense of humour is a definite added touch that makes this company, crew and boat special. Ian, thank you for the food. And Dave you are fit as a fiddle on the deck doing everything one can possible imagine. And your stories and life experiences are even more astounding! We had fabulous sunny weather as well. All in all - an amazing day (9.30 - 5.45 pm). Tells you how much the crew went out of the way to ensure everyone saw as much as they could. Good value. Would do it again - August to October is the best window.

Thank theninans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The whole day from start to finish was fantastic. The crew were super friendly and fun, know how to look after everyone and kept the day enjoyable. The whales were found and the experience was truly spectacular and will live long in the memory.

If you are going to do a whale watch tour, you could not go past the Freedom Whale Watch and their team. The food was great and just a really enjoyable experience overall - recommended to everyone.

1  Thank WanderingEmGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

GREAT experience, terrific good food, nice people working on boat, so interesting tips about whales, respect of them, the nature, and WAOUW, crazy experience with those whales there ! We will never forget ! ❤️

Thank sweetholyghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMR1958, Owner at Freedom Whale Watch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your wonderful review. We are thrilled that you had wonderful whale encounters onboard Freedom III

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What an amazing day!!! A group of 4 us debated long and hard as there are many companies to choose from. However Freedom’s 3/4 day tour won and it was perfect. We would have felt rushed had we gone on a 1/2 day. Other reviewers have raved about the profiteroles and yes they are amazing but we also loved the professional engaging nature of the crew, that Kevin the captain didn’t hassle the whales - if they backed off he respected that, if other boats were there first he respected that, and we saw multiple whales - mothers and babies - playing, tail slapping and breaching. And as it is end of season they had dropped the price to $100 - a total bargain!!! Treat yourself before the season finishes.

Thank drewmacknz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We went late in the season and were so lucky to see many mothers and calves. The staff were friendly, professional and helpful. The food was great and there was lots of it. Thoroughly recommend these guys for a tour.

Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We made the best choice with Freedom. Everything correspond to what is shown on flyer: comfortable 3 levels catamaran. Delicious morning & afternoon tea. Gourmet lunch (congratulations to the Chef). All taken care by professional helpful smiling staff. We were lucky with beautiful weather and blue sky, surrounded by whales jumping and performing at few meters from the ⛵! I shall never forget this thrilling tour.

Thank cobelolem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews