We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Cavour Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 7 Hervey Bay B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“A beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and 2-yr old toddler stayed for 2 nights in late December. Maria graciously arranged a cot even though I was happy to use the existing bedding. We enjoyed a meal cooked by Rocco on our first night - the Chicken Parma had my husband raving about it for days, and my tagliatelle was just delicious, but the winner was the pannacotta - absolutely to die for! We enjoyed the continental breakfasts each morning and a swim in the afternoon in their pool. The room was spacious, amenities clean, and the room was serviced daily. The free wifi was a bonus and made it so convenient for us to organise our days' activities. Off-street parking was also great. A great place to stay away from the hustle and bustle, but close enough to the Esplanade. We will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: We had the garden room which is downstairs, and that was convenient for us as we didn't want our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maraHerveyBay, Owner at Villa Cavour Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Alice,

thank you very much for your lovely comments about your stay at Villa Cavour.
We really enjoyed to have your little girl around, and we wish you all the best for the new baby coming on your family schortly. A special thanks for the card that you kindly left on my bench the morning you left: that's really made my day!!!!. I very much appreciate that, because it's a very personal thought and show that you really enjoyed and liked your stay with us.
Once again, thank you and look forward to see you again.
Mara & Rocco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
59
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Well, as usual when travelling to new places we hit the trusty Trip Advisor site to make a choice of accommodation and - no surprise - ended up very happy with our selection! (what did we do when travelling to parts unknown before Trip Advisor???)
The idea of the Italian cooking class (based on delicious sounding pastas) really appealed as something a bit different, and it turned out to be very entertaining. There was plenty of room in the functional kitchen for both of us to make the pasta dough under Rocco's expert guidance and he was patient with our rather fumbling efforts - by the time the four types of pasta were filled and ready to cook I couldn't wait to taste them. They were delicious! (A green vegetable or salad to accompany the meal would have taken it to a perfect 10!)
Our room was spacious and comfortable and we kept the doors to the verandah open and the fan on to keep everything cool. Both of us used the swimming pool. Proximity to the Esplanade was a bonus, we used the walking/biking trails both days and all the trees provided welcome shade. We were struck by how friendly the locals all were, either out biking, running or walking their dogs, it was rare not to be greeted by a smile.
Must say that our hard working hostess Mara was delightful, very helpful and accommodating - and nothing was too much trouble for her.

Room Tip: We had one of the upstairs rooms overlooking the verandah and pool - nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Delicious Meals, clean/spacious room, service & location.
Stayed at Villa Cavour for 7 unforgettable days!
Pt Vernon is residential, wide streets, quiet, B&B short walk to Esplanade. Excellent morning walks well shaded areas along the walks with plenty of amenities for BBQ, fishing & relaxation in park areas & beaches. Easy short drive to Hervey Bay Pier, Marina.
Room Serviced daily. Although air-conditioned, we never used it as room was airy & breezes plentiful. Ensuite, kingsize bed, fridge, kettle & complimentary tea/coffee/chocolates, TV DVD player, ample wardrobe. Room opens to verandah where Mara served us our cooked breakfast & coffee every morning whilst we enjoyed the bird life. Swimming pool. Glimpses of bay through trees from verandah.
We had planned to have evening meals in local restaurants but after 1st evening experiencing Rocco's gourmet fine Italian cuisine, we decided to book all our evening meals & delicious desserts prepared by Rocco & were never disappointed. Evening meals were served in the pleasant & spacious lounge/dining room downstairs.
Free: Wi-fi (so we kept our family informed of our wonderful daily experience) & DVD's from B&B library. Bookings for nearby tours like Whale watching & Fraser Is were made by Mara in our behalf with pickup/drop off to and from B&B.
Mara & Rocco spoiled us with attention to detail & fantastic cuisine. Look forward to another stay to continue enjoying not only our fine accommodation but excellent cuisine.
Restaurant Tip: Rocco's fine Italian cuisine is a must to any guest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryCarmen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maraHerveyBay, Owner at Villa Cavour Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear MaryCarmen,

thank you very much for your very nice review. Was our pleasure to have you as our very welcome guests. Our aime is always to provide good service, with a touch of personal attention to everyone. We really appreciate your comments and we will be happy to see you again at Villa Cavour B & B. Mara & Rocco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I recommend the cooking class, so much to learn and experience... the flavours and the wine. Rooms were simple and elegant and lovely. Stayed with the girls but it would be a nice place to go with your partner:)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanDanlovesthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We recently had a stay at the Villa Cavour Bed and Breakfast and had a cooking class. This was the highlight of our week stay in Hervey Bay... the accommodation is outstanding... from the king size bed which was so comfy to the lovely deck and other finishing touches ... awesome. Mara and Rocco were wonderful hosts and Rocco was a great chef teaching us how to make our own pasta and then enjoying the fruits of our labour that night. Mara cooked us a delicious breakfast in the morning before we set off for our day's adventures... will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had the back room which was lovely and private and with a beautiful view over the pool and BBQ ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzylou65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed here with my best friend for two nights as a base for a whale watching trip. Mara was a wonderful host and made us feel very welcome. The cooked breakfast was to die for and the flexibility that is offered with the time you are able to book for breakfast meant we were able to get away early on our whale watch day but were able to sleep in on the second day and eat a bit later. The accommodation was very comfortable and modern.
I am planning to come back sometime with my husband and join in with a cooking class with Rocco.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rustyamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Mara and Rocco are amazing hosts. I booked the Italian cooking class with 5 other colleagues to enjoy a Friday night farewell dinner and team activity. We simply had the BEST evening.
From the moment we arrived, Mara made us feel very welcome, taking us on a tour of her beautiful property , we ended up in the kitchen where Rocco was awaiting us in his crisp white chef's uniform! The kitchen was very warm and welcoming, fitted out on a commercial basis , one immediately new this was serious business!
The six of us proceeded to learn how to make various pastas using the dough simply prepared. The first was calles "bling" tiny pasta that was served later with a light parmesan sauce and it was simply the best thing I had tasted for ages! Rocco explained all the different types, fillings, we tasted bits and pieces, until it was all prepared. We all had a chance to cut , press, poke, make various shapes such as tortellini, ravioli etc.
We then sat down to eat at the dinner table and Mara served us fabulous Italian white wine from Piedmont (Favorita) -This was followed by a Barbera red which had a hint of sparkle - delicious! We ate 4 different pasta courses with varying sauces cooked by Rocco. I couldn't believe that it was our group who had actually made the pasta and here we were enjoying it (granted we didnt make the fillings or sauce, we had help from our expert Italian chef!).
Mara diligently looked after us throughout the evening, topping up our wine, chatting and talking about Italy. The dessert was drop dead "to die for" chocolate sponge with Italian icecream homemade by Rocco drowned in a decadent chocolate sauce with a hint of something alcoholic, it was a wonderful way to finish of a fabulous meal. This was an amazing experience and I felt I had been transported to Italy. The Italian cooking school is available for small groups and I would recommend booking one of Villa Cavour's special packages and stay the night, it is great value for money and a truly memorable experience. You can choose from a variety of menus, but we couldn't go past the Pasta school. HIGHLY, HIGHLY recommend this for couples, small groups, birthday parties and family reunions. I will be back for sure! Can't wait.

Room Tip: Downstairs room for older people. Upstairs for couples who want a bit more privacy. Each room has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pipc282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hervey Bay hotels
3.9 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 23 in Hervey Bay
269 reviews
5.8 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 23 in Hervey Bay
1,763 reviews
4.8 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#10 of 23 in Hervey Bay
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
3.8 mi away
Torquay Terrace Bed & Breakfast
5.0 mi away
Barooga on Pier
Barooga on Pier
#1 of 1 in Urangan
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cavour Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cavour Bed and Breakfast

Property: Villa Cavour Bed and Breakfast
Address: 15 Banksia St | Point Vernon, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Cavour Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whale watching season package. Package including: Two night accommodation at Villa Villa Cavour B & B, including breakfast for two. 2 courses dinner for two. 2 passes for Tasman Venture Whale watching cruise. Available from 1st August to 31st October 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Cavour Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Cavour Bed And Breakfast Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing