We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“management don't like kids!!!!!”

Silver Sands Apartments
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Sands Apartments
Hervey Bay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“management don't like kids!!!!!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I feel bad for the owners of these apartments!!!!
My husband and my 3 yr old was planning to stay for one month and paid for two weeks in advance. we were in the upstair apartment right above the managemnt lives. One night Lesley (Manager) came to our apartment and complained that my son runs around and too noisy and it's so HARD for them to relax????? common, he's only THREE. we tried our best to keep him quite BUT it's so hard to explain things to him and no matter what we tell him he's not going to stay in one place. I was pretty upset.... because this is the management who had the problem with my child. she seems to always have problems with kids. then we decide to leave early and she asked us to pay extra and said if we don't they'll take legal actions against us.this is how they treat for people who just come for a holiday!!!!. She complained about my son being noisy what about all the street noise. because it's on the esplanade it's pretty noisy, the garbage truck comes twice a week even before 5am and all the drag racers on the road????so all i'm saying is IF YOU HAVE KIDS, DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cjacham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley K, Manager at Silver Sands Apartments, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
The truth of the matter is that these people stayed in January, then they tried to get in again at Easter, but we were fully booked with young families, they then booked for May, (4 weeks) so i gave them a special 4 weekly rate, They were NOT on holiday this time as the wife had a full time job, and they were looking for permanent accommodation, which we tried to help them with. during the second week at 9.30pm i went upstairs saying i understand its hard with a little one but it is pretty noisy.(just to make them aware) they seemed ok at the time. Obviously they found permanent accommodation and needed to leave early, but they needed to pay for a two week stay amount instead of the 4 week they said it was because i complained that they were leaving COME ON,. Legal action was NEVER mentioned. They did pay the small amount extra but were not happy about it. so its a bit sad when people go on a website like this trying to discredit a business.and turning something into a personal gripe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    12
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
13
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Superb location and great facilities - pool , gardens , BBQ , beach , shops and all so very accessible from your unit. We have been staying here for the last 4 years in a row during January and this year at Easter will be our 5th . If you want a family holiday that is relaxed and close to many activities , then this is the place to go . Fantastic value , comfortable and clean . The managers are very accommodating and the grounds lovely . In fact , we now judge other accomodation by the fact that Silver Sands ticks so many boxes . Far more family friendly and relaxing than a resort and the older but comfortable style reminiscent of what Australian beach holidays are traditionally all about . Our teenagers love it !

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlasb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nambucca Heads
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Stayed recently in a ground floor apartment and we were very pleased with our accommodation for the price. The units are older, however nicely refurbished and the entire place was meticulously looked after. Nice pool and bbq area kept immaculately clean. Management on site were very helpful and pleasant. Overall this is exceptional value for the esplanade, across from the beach and close proximity to shops. Thanks for a great stay. We will return!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angb61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed 3 nights in a 2 bedroom unit. The location is perfect, directly across the road from a lovely, safe swimming beach. It is only a short walk to a variety of restaurants and shops and a short drive to major shopping centres. While the units are far from new, they have been refurnished nicely. We did find the bed a little hard but that is a personal choice. The bathrooms are a bit dated but functionable. The kitchens have most things you would need if you wanted to cook a meal, but no oven, only hotplates and a microwave. There is no dishwasher in the units. There are washing machines available in a laundry at the back of the motel. Each unit has a small balcony overlooking the pool and across the road to the beach. The swimming pool is lovely. There is a pleasant bbq area next to the pool which was kept spotlessly clean and a nice garden for children to run around in. We would highly recommend a stay here and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisbanePanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2011

we arrived late and the manager was very nice to leave key for us in unlocked room but was greeted the next morning with attitude that she had heard us arrive with our 3 small children, which mind you were half asleep and very quiet and was told to make sure we keep them out of the gardens. the kids were no where near the gardens.
we also asked for a late check out,or check out but use the pool for only another hour and under no circumstances was that allowed and we were to leave the property.
and upon handing in the keys on time to leave she took them without saying a word or a "goodbye" or "hope you enjoyed your stay"
room and grounds were tidy and had everything needed, if it werent for rudeness we would definately go back. but will look at others next time !

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrystal h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley K, Manager at Silver Sands Apartments, responded to this review, November 5, 2011
I am very sorry that you left unhappy, and so i will endeavour to set the record straight. I realise you are a family of 5 and we only charged you for a family of 4. As you arrived around 11pm we did have a couple of guests make the comment, that it was noisy, unfortunately at night when everything is quite any small noise echos and sounds much louder than it actually is. I only mentioned to you that we heard you arrive, and i apologise if you thought it was inappropriate.
Also we could not allow a late check out as we had to clean the apartment for another guest.
We always ask guests with small children, if they could make sure they dont go into the garden beds, as we have garden lights and wiring. As i didnt see you on arrival due to you coming in late, I only mentioned it when i saw you the next day just as a courtesy. Our job is to make sure this place is comfortable and presentable for all guests and we do care how they feel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We didn't know what to expect after booking this apartment sight unseen, however upon arrival and thereafter, we were delighted. We spent 6 weeks there this winter and will return next year. The managers are excellent, nothing was too much trouble. Facilities were also excellent as was the location - across the road from the beach. Absolutely no complaints - only thanks and appreciation for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SchmetterlingDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

if you are looking for inexpensive accommodation in Hervey Bay this is the place to stay. On site managers are friendly and helpful. Unit are two bedroom and self contained. Furnishing and decor is well set out and nicely appointed. The on site pool would have to be one of the cleanest I have ever seen at holiday accommodation. We had a ground floor unit and it was excellent. We have stayed in a variety of accommodation from Cairns the way down to Adelaide. Silver Sands is exceptional value for money. We will be back and strongly recommend to family and friends. The beach is right across the round and you to sleep and wake up to the sound of the lapping waves. The unit complex is perfectly kept. Suitable for couples and familes

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracey r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hervey Bay hotels
1.9 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 23 in Hervey Bay
1,858 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 23 in Hervey Bay
272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tower Court Motel Hervey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kondari Resort Hervey Bay
0.1 mi away
Shelly Bay Resort
Shelly Bay Resort
#6 of 23 in Hervey Bay
182 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Beach Motel Hervey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Apartments

Property: Silver Sands Apartments
Address: 477 The Esplanade, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Sands Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Silver Sands Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Apartments Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing