We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“family units” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ingenia Holidays Hervey Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ingenia Holidays Hervey Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“family units”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed in the family units (2 bedr) were pretty good, older style units, lino floor, pretty clean.
Had all cooking facilities and a BBq area just out the back. Kids had fun in the swimming spa, playgroud pretty small. Friendly staff, no problems getting more towels etc after 2 nights.
Bunk beds for kids and a single was great in the second room - had to make up yourself.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dania B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happywanderer105, Manager at Ingenia Holidays Hervey Bay, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. As it turns out the management has scheduled some major refurbishments which will include the playground and the pool complex starting in October this year. We invite you to come back and enjoy the upgrades when completed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    53
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
58
61
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

A very quiet beautiful place. Your room does not get survived which is a shame for its 4 stars. Also it's a 15 minute walk from anything. The park itself has everything to offer for adults and kids and is clean and very family friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happywanderer105, Owner at Ingenia Holidays Hervey Bay, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Alison,
Thank you for your comments; I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I would like to clarify we do only service our rooms weekly for long stays as standard; however daily servicing may be requested upon arrival and will have an additional charge associated with it. We do this as the majority of our guests would prefer a more completive rate over daily servicing. The Happy Wanderer Village is situated on the corner of Truro St & Ann st, which is 400 Metres from the beach, there are 3 restaurants within 600 Metres and the Torquay shops are 1 Klm away. The flip side to this is the lack of road noise associated with being positioned on the major roads, or next to night clubs, pubs etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mudgee, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Could also have done better elsewhere. We questioned the fact as to why we needed a separate key for an ensuite and it was explained that the ensuite was in a different building. The ensuite actually turned out to be your own shower and toilet in the ablution block. The grounds are well kept and laundry facilities were available. The cabin had cooking utensils which we didn't use but we would have liked a knife and some tea spoons.
Should have looked harder.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wirrklunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happywanderer105, Owner at Ingenia Holidays Hervey Bay, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hi Wirrklund,
I’m sorry to hear you were not happy with the budget cabin you booked with us; however our budget cabins are popular with guests travelling on a budget. We are vigilant to stress in all our advertising they do have an external ensuite, you bring your own bedding, and there is no air conditioning. This enables us to rent them at economical prices.
The rest of our accommodation range: Studio units, 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom cabins all have internal ensuites, bedding & air-conditioning.
The kitchens in all our accommodation come with a complete range of cutlery, crockery & cooking utensils. Unfortunately some items go missing from time to time, and the reception staffs are happy to replace these missing items as soon as they are made aware of the problem. I do hope you will return again soon as I’m shore we will have a cabin/unit to suit your requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Thankyou to the staff at Happy Wanderer Top Tourist Park. Your friendly and helpful customer service made my night an enjoyable one. It was truly a wonderful experience to stay at your park. Cant believe how close to the beach you are. The facilities were all in working order which is rare, my room was clean and tidy and the park in general so beautifully maintained and so peaceful..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nickstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Nice lady checked us in for 2 nights at Happy Wanderer Village(Top Tourist), Hervey Bay . $35pn (£23), for a powered site, plus $10 deposit for a key.
We were given site 111, next to the Ladies’, but found our electric cable not long enough to reach, so I went and told reception lady we had changed to 110. She was happy to change it on the computer.

- The Park is laid out in 4 horizontal streets and 6 vertical streets, all un-named.
- Small oval pool, opposite reception. Bubble pool and toddlers’ pool.
- Small children’s playground
- Amenities : 4 basins, 5 showers, 5 toilets. 6 ceiling lights, but in the evening, only one on, the night setting. There is a wall switch to switch to all 6!
Good showers (gleaming white-tiled cubicles : shower caddy and curtain, plus shelf/seat and 5 hooks in changing area). - Electric mosquito zapper functioning! (In most caravan parks they are not!) There is also a Family Bathroom and a Disabled Bathroom.
- 2 laundries.
- Camp Kitchen, with microwave, cooker, and 3 fridges. 2 additional free BBQ areas.
-Tiny room with 2 games machines, but one out of order.
- TV room with a cheap settee, and a plastic table and chairs.

Lots of rainbow lorikeets, ibis, and 2 kinds of ducks here, and in the evening, flying foxes/fruit bats swirling around.
Behind a strong fence at the back, there is a pond/river with water-birds (you can see it better from Ann Street, round the corner. There are a number of small lakes scattered around the pretty residential Torquay district, where the park is.

The town itself is a long strip, with no character, a few blocks inland from the Esplanade, which is all residential. There are several shopping centres in both directions from the Park.

App. 35 km (40 mins) drive to Maryborough, which is a very pretty small city, with streets of heritage buildings, and a wonderful National Trust Museum (an old shop).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eleanola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

What a great find .... we were travelling in a campervan and only stayed for one night but it was like a little oasis, i wish i could have stayed longer. Beautifully maintained and landscaped. We had a site with ensuite facility, immaculately clean. We had booked a trip to fraser island for 2 days and they let us leave our van on the site for $5 and we got a shower when we got back. After travelling from sydney up the coast staying at various sites (and conditions), i have to say this was my favourite, i felt so relaxed, it was safe, clean, friendly and peaceful.

The main showerblock was a little bit tired, however again, immaculately clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeverlieN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed in July for one night in our campervan on a ensuite pitch. Very helpful welcome from the staff,and even though we had pre-booked and pre-paid they insisted that they re-bate us a discount as we had an Apollo van. The ensuite was exceptionally clean and a very inexpensive add on luxury to our tour. It was a reasonable walk to the beach but worthwhile. Would happily wander to this camp site again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phlipfolop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hervey Bay hotels
1.8 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 24 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fraser Coast Top Tourist Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Palms Hervey Bay
The Palms Hervey Bay
#3 of 8 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fraser Lodge Holiday Park
Fraser Lodge Holiday Park
#10 of 54 in Hervey Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
1.3 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ingenia Holidays Hervey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ingenia Holidays Hervey Bay

Property: Ingenia Holidays Hervey Bay
Address: 105 Truro St, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ingenia Holidays Hervey Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Multi Award winning Happy Wanderer ideally located along side the Torquay lakes, your ideal location to base your stay white visiting Hervey Bay, World Heritage listed Fraser Island, and Australia's premier Whale Watching location. With direct access to Shelly beach (400M) and the Esplanade, being half way between Boat Harbour drive and The Esplanade you have easy access to Hervey Bay without the road noise when you return. One phone call or Email we can book your total holiday, with the most comprehensive range, and the largest selection, of accommodation (from 3 Bedroom superior cabins, 2 Bedroom Villas to our budget cabin range) all set in beautifully land scarped sub tropical gardens, and the most diverse range of sites (from the super en-suite site to grassed site, unpowered option also available) to choose from you can be assured we have the style to suit your needs and budget. Our fully accredited tour desk also has a great range of activities; World heritage listed Fraser Island, Whale watching, coral viewing, fishing to name a few, and you can store of your vehicle and caravan when booking one of our multi day tours. We also have bike, canoe or fishing rods available from our onsite hire shed. With great purpose built bike paths traversing the bay, and relative flat terrain, it's a great way for the whole Family to explore our City. Or you may choose sit back and relax at the Happy Wanderer village, the sites are spacious, the amenities clean, modern and well maintained, the accommodation clean and comfortable and all set on 8 acres of sub tropical gardens, what you would expect from a 4 1/2 star rated property. There is a play ground, TV room, Giant Chess/Checkers/Bocce games and new pools incorporating a toddler's pool. 3 BBQ areas and 2 camp kitchens for your convenience. Your communication needs are covered; Wi-Fi internet covering the entire park, lap top hire, fax service and coverage by all the mobile phone companies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ingenia Holidays Hervey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ingenia Holidays Hervey Bay Fraser Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing