We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, friendly staff.”
Review of The Black Dog Cafe

The Black Dog Cafe
Ranked #27 of 181 Restaurants in Hervey Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $44
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice food, friendly staff.”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We recently stayed at Hervey Bay for a weekend and as we have been to "The Black Dog Cafe" once before (9 years ago), we fancied giving it another try, as the food back then was lovely and to our surprise it still is!!
We came to the restaurant 2 nights in a row, because the food on the first night was so good, even the kids menu was fresh and had some nice healthy items on it and the staff were so friendly and helpful.
Unfortunately the second night wasn't quite so good, we had a meal from the specials board on both nights, but chose something different each night and the Prawn and Chorizo Fettucini dish was not good at all, very bland, but the meal the night before was delicious.

Overall we had a nice time and the staff were great with the kids, so would definately go again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carrob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    78
    22
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albury
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Do you want business?”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I cannot rate the food as I was not given a chance to eat. I walked into the cafe at 1:50pm for lunch and was told straight away without a hello, that the kitchen was now closed and won't be open again until dinner. They didn't even ask if I wanted a coffee or anything else. Do you guys want my business? I won't bother going back

Helpful?
Thank AJM92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Yum”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Great selection to food to choose from, something for everyone no matter what you feel like eating A1

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Manda998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Ok but nothing to rave about.”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Had read good reviews and were looking forward to some good Asian influenced food after struggling with small town Aussie cuisine. Really nice staff here and some of the Japanese dishes were good e.g. their udon in miso and sushi were fine.
However, sadly the 'satay' was bland and sweet and had no depth or bite. Curry was also fairly innocuous. Suspect some of these dishes are be toned down for the Aussie palate. Oveall a nice place but if you are looking for Asian food, stick to the Japanese items on the menu. One other low point was the guacamole and tortilla starter which came with generic corn ships rather than tortilla (with no explanation) and the guacamole was, again, too sweet. Its a cool littl eplace, but they need to be abit braver and more authentic with some of their dishes.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moreperfectdays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We were recommended the Black Dog Cafe by the motel owner where we were staying. We found it to be an excellent recommendation. The menu is quite extensive with a Japanese influence. Great, fresh food at reasonable prices. The strawberry crepes we had for dessert were delicious! The waitress was very friendly and the service was really good.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Benaroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Dog Cafe also viewed

Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
 

Been to The Black Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing