We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Tasman Venture - Day Tours
from $130.60
More Info
from $85.80
More Info
Reviews (612)
Filter reviews
559 results
Traveler rating
499
49
5
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
499
49
5
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whale watching fraser island sea legs morning half day water level humpback whales underwater viewing afternoon trip mother and calf crackers platypus bay staff were friendly morning tea sea sickness fast boat perfect weather close encounter
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 559 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Have to say it was the best day tour we’ve ever done - Remote Fraser Island. The places we visited were superb; aquamarine water, fresh water creeks, kayaking, tube riding, snorkelling, dunes with a view and knowledgeable guides who weren’t excessively self centred. Christina and her crew were outstanding. This is truly the ‘other side’ of Fraser Island.

1  Thank Dianegae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We did a afternoon trip. Starting point is next to Cafe Balaena, gps -25.292978, 152.910244
We had enough space on the bow of the ship to move around because there were not many tourists on board early October. We left the harbor at 1:30PM and saw the first whales at 2:15PM. The next whales we saw was an half hour later. We saw whales till 4:30PM with several short breaks during moving to other locations. We saw mostly mothers with a calf, several times companied by one or more other whales. During the whale watching we did get almost constantly information over the speakers.
Some whales approached the ship very close and one did swim under the ship. The last half hour we saw constantly jumping whales. Just before sunset we were back in Hervey Bay.

We did make a day trip the next full day with Blue Dophin Whale Watching. That ship was slow so the total whale watching time was comparable both trips. Because this fast ship was able to go quickly between signings we could see more whales. The other ship did stay a long time by the same whales.

We did make several humpback whale trips around the world (Chili, Canada, and Spitsbergen) but this one had the best humpback viewing of all by far!

1  Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We try to go whale watching each year but this year we chose Tasman Ventures. The staff were friendly and accommodating of our baby granchild. They also watched over and supported our very sea sick cousin and offered alternative ideas for her to stay well.

They supplied simple food and drinks from the bar however the time and dedication to finding whales was exceptional. The skipper never rushed the experience, and allowed time to be spent in close proximity to the many whales they spotted. The excitement of the crew also made the experience exciting for the customers. Each whale spotted was as important as the next. They identified some of the whales from years gone by and were as intrigued as the tourists when they found new ones.

This whale watching tour was the best one we have been on. Highly recommended for a great day out.

1  Thank TanyaZolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TasmanVentureHB, Owner at Tasman Venture - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

How beautiful to hear both our crew, and our Whale Watching encounter exceeded you and your families expectations. Each year our crew members get very excited for the whale season to commence. They are very eager to see each whale that comes into the bay, especially when they spot return whales and love to share their knowledge of these majestic creatures. Thank you so much for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We did the two day remote Frazer island and unique frazer island experience. The team ran full days well organised with a great selection of activities covering both sides of the island and we even saw a whale and her calf a big plus.
The team were friendly enthusiastic and professional thank you all for a great couple of days on Frazer island.

Thank lizhicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TasmanVentureHB, Owner at Tasman Venture - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Such a special experience for you to explore both sides of Fraser Island. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your Remote Fraser Island experience as well as your package with Unique Fraser. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the highlight of our couple of days in Hervey Bay catching up with friends! It truly was a magical moment. We did a Sunday morning adventure and were not disappointed. The crew were fantastic and our experience with the whales was second to none. There were so many mums, bubs and escorts and we got to see it all. Definitely worth it and I would definitely recommend Tasman Venture.

Thank Jodie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TasmanVentureHB, Owner at Tasman Venture - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

It is lovely to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your Whale Watching encounter with Tasman Venture. Thank you for taking the time to review your tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We live in the region and took my parents (and our 2 year old) on the four hour afternoon whale watching trip.

We’ve been on a few trips over the years we’ve lived here, Tasman venture is by far the best.

Its the end of the season so we weren’t sure if we’d see much. However the crews commitment to ensuring we had an amazing trip was unbelievable. They worked so hard to make sure it was an unforgettable experience, travelling the whole length of the bay and uncovering four pods (8 whales) in total. This is more than we’ve ever seen before on a single trip.

We saw whales resting, whales feeding their calves, whales jumping out the water, whales slapping the surface with their fins, whales swimming alongside the boat....everything we could possible have wanted. This was no mean feat given it’s nearingthe end of the season, the crew really really worked hard. They were contstantly scannjng the ocean from all sides, even when we found a pod and they stopped to let us see it and for the naturist to tell us all about it, the rest of the crew never rested as they kept trying to find the next pod for the trip.

Loads of great and personal touches - asking our 2 year old if he wanted to ‘steer’, offering to take photos of us, helping my elderly father carrying his cup of tea back to the seat. Unlike other companies they switch all power off when you get near to the whales so you can hear every splash and blow. The most illuminating event was when 3 other companies’ boats converged on a spot in the ocean and it was obvious there was a whale there. Our captain had no interest in joining it - he told us that it’s a matter of pride for them that Tasman ventures never share their whale sightings with other boats. That’s why they work so hard rather than follow the crowds, unlike the other tours.

The boat is new and immaculate, the group was small and felt intimate so never any problems seeing the whales. Plenty of shelter on the boat, plenty of sun too for those who wanted it. Even the afternoon tea was delicious which is pretty rare for these sort of trips! There’s a kids play area that kept our child distracted for the whole journey back to land.

My parents had a magical experience and even though this was about our eighth trip in 4 years it was by far the best.

We will never book with another company.

1  Thank JonWishbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TasmanVentureHB, Owner at Tasman Venture - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your Whale Watching Encounter with Tasman Venture Hervey Bay. It is lovely to hear you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your experience with these majestic creatures. We do also offer our Remote Fraser Island experience exploring the west coast of Fraser Island, another unique experience your family will also enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We (my wife, 17 year old son and I) had an exceptional day - highlight was the whale watching - we saw a number of mother/calf pairs, got lots of great pictures and learned a lot from the great crew. Snorkeling was a relatively short dip, but worth it (not a reef, so different from what you will see if you are diving/snorkeling on the reef). My only criticism, which is minor, is that the kayaking felt a bit quick, but this was also understandable to fit everything in the day. Everything was very well organized, only 20 or so in the boat so it never felt crowded, and crew was awesome.

Thank familytraveldad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TasmanVentureHB, Front Office Manager at Tasman Venture - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi and thank you for your 5 star review and for choosing Tasman Venture. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with
the majestic & inquisitive Humpback Whales that come to play & people watch in Hervey Bay, so our Crew will be very happy to hear your family enjoyed their Whale Watching experience.
We thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and we will make sure to pass this onto our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2018 via mobile

First of all: we spotted plenty of whales on our tour. The crew told us all about the humpback whales and their behavior, and we had plenty of free snacks and drinks while underway. One small disappointment: the underwater viewing ports are kinda useless, since they’re small and there is only one way in there. So if there’s a queue coming down the one stair, you’re stuck in a small room with tiny windows and won’t see anything until you manage to escape the horde. Nevertheless, once you know that, it’s an amazing trip. 5/5

Thank 0jonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TasmanVentureHB, Front Office Manager at Tasman Venture - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Jon thank you for taking the time to review your experience with Tasman Venture.
Our wonderful Crew definitely do a terrific job & they are very passionate about informing passengers of all ages about these majestic & inquisitive mammals that come to play & people watch in Hervey Bay, so our Crew will be very happy to hear your family enjoyed their Whale Watching experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2018 via mobile

We stopped in Hervey Bay specially for Whale Watching, and after another boat tour was cancelled for the weather we ended up on the Tasman Venture.

It was SO good - and absolutely recommended if you’re in the area. The swell was a bit rough but it’s a good sized boat and handled it well, allowing us to get up good speed and catch up with 8/9 different pods of Humpback Whales. The crew were excitable, interesting and informative about the whales and nice enough to hang around (even over time!) to make sure we saw everything.

The trip is a half day but so much faster than a sailing boat so I suspect the action is similar to a whole day tour. It also included morning tea, coffee and snacks which was a nice (free) added surprise. There’s an onboard bar as well if you want to celebrate that perfect photo.

Top tip: this will definitely be seasonal so check before you book. In October we caught the last of the southern migration so I suspect November etc is quiet!

Thank AlButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TasmanVentureHB, Front Office Manager at Tasman Venture - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello & thank you for your Simply Amazing 5 Star review,
Yes all our Crew are very passionate and excitable about these majestic mammals that visit us each year, we are grateful to work alongside these inquisitive Humpback Whales and learn more about their behaviours & watch them teach their calves skills needed before their southern migration.
You are correct that the TASMAN VENTURE is much faster and we are able to offer our passengers the same amount of viewing time as the full day boat as our travel time is much less. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2018 via mobile

We were originally booked with blue dolphin tours but they did not sail due to weather. We chose to go on the Tasman adventure instead. We were really impressed with the boat and the staff were wonderful. We saw too many pods of whales to count, they were breaching and playing right in front of the boast. I would recommend anyone who has ever felt sick on a boat before to take some pills as there were around ten people on our boat being sick! Lovely snacks and tea served at regular intervals, thoroughly enjoyable.

Thank AvidGlobeHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TasmanVentureHB, Front Office Manager at Tasman Venture - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello!
Thank you for your 5 Star review,
Glad to hear you had a great experience with the Crew onboard TASMAN VENTURES Half Day Whale Watching Tour and were treated to plenty of unique viewings of different Whale groups, calves & seeing their wonderful behaviours. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews