We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akama Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Akama Resort
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex
2 reviews
“Family holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2010

This was our second stay at Akama. We visit family in Queensland every year and this time we were at Akama for nearly NINE WEEKS and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We love the pool and the walks and the huge well equipped units. Pia and Matt are so helpful and welcoming and our grandchildren loved coming to stay with us.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2010
Hi SussexSal,
Sad to see this was your last stay with us at Akama, it’s been a pleasure to have your company the past two years. We wish you all the best in the Apartment you have bought. Please drop in for a Coffee next year when you are here.
Regards
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    72
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
205
186
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Katikati, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2010

Make sure you book direct with Akama because it is more cost effective - they are MOST helpful and friendly. I wish we had booked direct with them as we would have got a better deal.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoxanneBusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2010
Roxanne,
The pleasure was all ours. You were a joy to have around and wish you could have stayed a little longer. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Australia.
Maybe see you next year?
Regards
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

We only spent one night here on our way to Fraser Island but what a pleasant surprise it was. Much better than any resort on Fraser Island and it makes you wonder if it would be better to stay here and just go to Fraser for a couple of day trips.

The staff was very friendly and helpful and the rooms are simply amazing and super clean. I would not hesitate to go back and higly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gs_tsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2010
Hi gs,
Thanks for taking the time to review our resort. We love to help accommodate guests with the Fraser Island tours. If possible we are happy to leave your apartment locked up over night while away on an overnight tour to Fraser Island. Maybe next time you would like to enquire about our Package deals.
Hope to see you again, maybe for an extended tour next time.
Regards
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2010

Great place to stay. The accomodation was fantastic - the apartment was very roomy (larger than most apartments that we have stayed in), easily accomodating our familiy (2 adults, 5 children). It was well thought out with everything we needed down to the espresso coffee machine which made great coffee. Best of all the staff were excellent - always very friendly and helpful which made our stay even more enjoyable and relaxing. We will certainly be staying here again when we next visit Hervey Bay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greends1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2010
Hi Greends,
Thanks for your review and glad to hear you enjoyed your week. Hope to see you same time next year.
Regards
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WALES
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2010

We travelled from Brisbane and although the weather wasn`t hot, it actually rained, this was a shining light of our stay in Hervey Bay. I can only give the room justice by saying that when we opened the door it took our breath away. Huge slideable windows, vast living area, plush roomy bedrooms, 2 balconies overlooking the pool and a modern expensive kitchen. Nothing seems to have ben left out with instructions for all appliances at hand. This apartment was so good it stopped us doing as much sight seeing as we had planned as we didn`t want to leave it.

The owners were polite, friendly and professional. I actually had chronic toothache when arriving and they went out of their way to find a dentist who would see me(very difficult it appeared in Australia to be seen in an emergency).

Free parking was a rarity wherever we stayed over our 3 weeks, but it was offered here. CCTV security gates ensured it was secure. An extremely clean pool area had us swimming every evening of our stay, even in the rain.

We hope we can return in the future for a longer stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FIELDSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, Managers (matthew & Pia) at Akama Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2010
Hi Fieldson,
WOW back at you, what a fabulous review. Thankyou
Hearing about guests experiences and impressions of our lovely resort is very satisfying and makes you feel proud and happy when someone has had a great stay
It was nice to hear you had a great time at Akama and we ‘d love to see you again in the near future.
Hope your tooth is all fixed up
Regards
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

We booked Akama apartments after reading reviews on the resorts on Fraser Island. As these were not favourable, we decided to stay in Hervey Bay and do a Hummer tour on Fraser.

All we can say is wow - Akama is amazing. The apartments are spotless, well situated and the staff can't do enough for you. In fact, the manager, Matt, took care of booking our Hummer tour and talked us through all the options. We had a full on apartment with laundry facilities and it was so nice, we decided to stay in on one of the nights we stayed!

We can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, Managers (matthew & Pia) at Akama Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2010
Hi Pixanne,
Thank you for your beautiful review and coming to stay with us. The hummer trip is great for 2 to 4 people and very personalised. We have not had a complaint to date. We welcome you back one day and hope you enjoy this great country of ours.
Regards
Matt & Pia Bysher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2010

The Akama Resort gave us a whole new experience of Hervey Bay. Locatet opposite the Marina it is a quiet place with an excellent view, but still it is only a short stroll to restaurants, supermarkt and the Urangan Pier. Beside the stunning view from our penthouse, the large balcony with BBQ, the great pool with shade and the modern design we really liked the unspoiled friendliness of our host, you could feel that this place is run with love and passion. Great Touradvice going to Fraser Island. We can really feel at home here!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WirWeltweit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, Managers (matthew & Pia) at Akama Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2010
Hi Hamburg, thanks for your lovely review. It’s people like you that make our job most enjoyable. We thought you would love Fraser, some days are an adventure as you never know what will happen. We like to tell our Guest, Fraser is an experience not a tour.
We hope to see you back here one day
Matt & Pia Bysher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hervey Bay
0.2 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 24 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#10 of 24 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
0.0 mi away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#6 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
6.7 mi away
Kingfisher Bay Resort
Kingfisher Bay Resort
#1 of 3 in Fraser Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akama Resort

Property: Akama Resort
Address: 625 Esplanade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Akama Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akama offers a dress circle location for anyone wanting to experience the very best of Hervey Bay and Fraser Island. Akama Resort is right across the road from Hervey Bay Marina - clubs, shopping, restaurants and Whale Watching vessels.The apartments are luxuriously spacious with high ceilings and a flow through design to very generous balconies - push back the concertina doors and open your apartment up to the views and tropical breezes. Heated pool and spa, keyless entry, undercover secure car parking and Free WiFi. Book with us direct for the best discounted offers and exclusive apartment types. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Akama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akama Hotel Hervey Bay
Akama Resort Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing