We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Akama Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ramada Hervey Bay(Hervey Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra Hervey Bay(Hervey Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hervey Bay Motel(Hervey Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shelly Bay Resort(Hervey Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (530)
Filter reviews
530 results
Traveler rating
427
81
13
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
427
81
13
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboat clubdeluxe penthousefraser islandshort walk to the marinawhale watchingthe kitchenlarge balconyfifth floorbeautiful apartmentbedroom apartmentcoffee machinethree bedroombooking toursboat harbourheated poolrecommend this resortliving area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
483 - 488 of 530 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2009

Spent a wonderful 2 nights here. We wish we could have spent longer. Beautiful and exceptionally clean apartment. Matt was so helpful (he even mended our pushchair handles for us). We spent 5.5 weeks in Oz and Hervey Bay was our best place. We nicknamed it "Friendly Bay" we felt so welcome and the Akama really made all the difference. It was the perfect place to stay with our 10 month old baby. Stay here you will love it...if not, I will buy you a beer (as matt might say!)

Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
Thank happyhels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, Managers (matthew & Pia) at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2009

Many thanks for your kind feedback!We are glad to hear your Akama experience was enjoyed so much. I will pass the cleaning comments onto our staff who work hard at keeping Akama to its five star rating. It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us at Akama and wecome you back anyday.I like the nickname you gave Hervey Bay and I will by you a beer on your return.
Regards
Matthew Bysher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

A fabulous resort, child friendly and extremely helpful on site managers. Well worth a second visit next year!

Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
Thank JulieA4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, Managers (matthew & Pia) at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2009

Hi Julie, Thankyou for your review,we're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and will look forward to seeing you and your family next year.
Kind Regards
Matt and Pia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

We stayed in the akama resort for 3 nights - great location for trips to fraser island etc. Excellant apartment......the rooms were absolutely stunning - exactly how the pictures show on their website. The couple who run the place were very helpful, an apartment worth going to Hervey Bay for !

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KittyCat28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Akama Resort during our vacation in July. Matt and Pia (and the cutest little boy in Australia) were really helpful. The room was large, clean, quiet and convenient. It is not right on the water and it is typical of other Australian accomodations, which are more like American short-term apartment leases than American hotels, but it was in a very nice location with a safe and clean environment. They helped us book multiple day tours and gave us insight on what was worth visiting in the area. This was by far the best place we stayed on our trip and we would make a point to go there again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickandpenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

My family (including a teenage boy) stayed in the Akama Resort for a week in August, The resort is in a prime location overlooking the Marina and only a 5 minute walk to all the Whale watching and Frazer Island tour boats. The 2 bedroom appartment was spacious, very well kitted out (Full kitchen, Great bathrooms, Plasma TV, DVD etc) and spotlessly clean. Sea views were a bonus! The couple who run the appartments were really knowledable in all the local amenities and very helpful, arranging trips and local activities for us, even helping us re-arrange activities in the Whitsundays. Would I go back - you bet!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tykesdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews