We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akama Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Akama Resort
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Awesome Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2009

A fabulous resort, child friendly and extremely helpful on site managers. Well worth a second visit next year!

Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JulieA4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, Managers (matthew & Pia) at Akama Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2009
Hi Julie, Thankyou for your review,we're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and will look forward to seeing you and your family next year.
Kind Regards
Matt and Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    72
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
205
186
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2009

We stayed in the akama resort for 3 nights - great location for trips to fraser island etc. Excellant apartment......the rooms were absolutely stunning - exactly how the pictures show on their website. The couple who run the place were very helpful, an apartment worth going to Hervey Bay for !

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyCat28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Akama Resort during our vacation in July. Matt and Pia (and the cutest little boy in Australia) were really helpful. The room was large, clean, quiet and convenient. It is not right on the water and it is typical of other Australian accomodations, which are more like American short-term apartment leases than American hotels, but it was in a very nice location with a safe and clean environment. They helped us book multiple day tours and gave us insight on what was worth visiting in the area. This was by far the best place we stayed on our trip and we would make a point to go there again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nickandpenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2009

My family (including a teenage boy) stayed in the Akama Resort for a week in August, The resort is in a prime location overlooking the Marina and only a 5 minute walk to all the Whale watching and Frazer Island tour boats. The 2 bedroom appartment was spacious, very well kitted out (Full kitchen, Great bathrooms, Plasma TV, DVD etc) and spotlessly clean. Sea views were a bonus! The couple who run the appartments were really knowledable in all the local amenities and very helpful, arranging trips and local activities for us, even helping us re-arrange activities in the Whitsundays. Would I go back - you bet!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tykesdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazelbrook
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2009

We took visitors from the UK to Hervey Bay as a base for whale watching and Fraser Island. We stayed an extra day because the Akama was such a beautiful location and the unit was superb. Six stars should be possible for this resort. Our thanks to the hosts for a wonderful example of what Australia can offer to overseas tourists. Not only were they helpful with bookings for tours but they assisted when a family member left her jacket behind. Congratulations Akama - you deserve great success.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trueblue95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nellypom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2009

This place is truely beatiful! The staff were so helpful, even picking up a birthday cake from local shop for us.
The ocean views rooms are ideal, sitting watching the world go by.
I will definatley stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nellypom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2009

I would give this resort 100% top rating. There are six members in our family and we stayed in the very spacious 3 bed apartment. When we opened the door we just went wow! and our experience stayed like that for the whole three days we were there. There is a very well equipped kitchen, with everything you need to make it home away from home. It was spotlessly clean. Pia and Mathew were wonderful hosts, very friendly and endeavoured to make our stay as joyous as possible. We will definately be back.

The Nuskes
Brisbane

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank brisbanetess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hervey Bay
0.2 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 24 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#10 of 24 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
0.0 mi away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#6 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
6.7 mi away
Kingfisher Bay Resort
Kingfisher Bay Resort
#1 of 3 in Fraser Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akama Resort

Property: Akama Resort
Address: 625 Esplanade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Akama Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akama offers a dress circle location for anyone wanting to experience the very best of Hervey Bay and Fraser Island. Akama Resort is right across the road from Hervey Bay Marina - clubs, shopping, restaurants and Whale Watching vessels.The apartments are luxuriously spacious with high ceilings and a flow through design to very generous balconies - push back the concertina doors and open your apartment up to the views and tropical breezes. Heated pool and spa, keyless entry, undercover secure car parking and Free WiFi. Book with us direct for the best discounted offers and exclusive apartment types. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Akama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akama Hotel Hervey Bay
Akama Resort Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing