We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat, clean, tidy and very spacious”
Review of Akama Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Akama Resort
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Nambour, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Neat, clean, tidy and very spacious”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

These rooms are fantastic. They are very large, modern and clean. We even used the pool and it was winter. Hervey bay didn't impress us but this resort did impress. We would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudi d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello Rudi d
Thank you for taking the time to post a review – much appreciated.
So pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at Akama Resort.
We would like to encourage you to visit Hervey Bay again during the summer months. Excellent swimming beach, free Water Park for the kids, jet ski or take a jet boat ride, hire a bike or picnic at one of the great spots along the Esplanade - beautiful weather, quiet and great for families.
Thanks again for the review.
Kind regards,
Chris, Henriette and Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    73
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
208
188
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Akama Resort to go whale watching. The staff provided excellent advice and assistance with organizing our tour. The apartments were spacious, clean and modern. Pool and BBQ facilities were great for relaxing. Highly recommend this resort if your heading to Hervey Bay for whale watching.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Clint S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hi Clint S
Thanks for the great review.
Always our pleasure to assist our guests with the Whale Watching options – we have been fortunate enough to have experienced these tours on many occasions so our advice is unbiased and we can suit the tour to match the guests requirements.
Thanks for your kind comments about the resort – we’d love to welcome you back if you have the opportunity to visit Hervey Bay again.
Kind regards,
Chris, Henriette and Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

we had a great apartment with al fresco access to pool... The managers were helpful and the apartment well equipped. Unfortunately, much of the pool is shaded early afternoon... Still, the staff were really helpful with local advice and help booking tours etc

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hello Mary T
Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review.
Pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Our poolside apartments are always popular (especially if you have small children) – lots of room and the direct access to the pool is great for the kids..
We hope you have the chance to visit us again.
Kind regards,
Chris, Henriette and Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Great place to stay - excellent location (walk round harbour, pier etc), friendly helpful hosts, and huge modern fully equipped apartment. Highly recommended for couples or families. I heard about this place through word of mouth, and will definitely tell my friends about it too. You must do whale watching with Freedom III - more personalised on a smaller boat that only took 45, I couldn't count how many whales we saw - it was amazing!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KB0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hi KB969
Thank you for the great review.
It is always so exciting for us when we read that our guests not only enjoyed their visit but also had a great experience on one of the tour options we have here in Hervey Bay. The Humpbacks are wonderful – it is an inspiring opportunity to see one of the world’s most magnificent creatures up close. You obviously had a great day out in the bay.
We would love to welcome you back to Akama if you ever head this way again.
Kind regards,
Chris, Henriette and Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Lovely apartment spotlessly clean and smells lovely! Well appointed and set up and so much space. Great for a girls week away! Lots of places to catch the sun.
Nice pool area too. Friendly and attentive staff.
Thanks for a great time would definitely return if in the area

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewZealandRach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hi NewZealandRach
Thanks for taking the time to post a review.
You were so much fun and your enthusiasm for the region and enjoyment for what our area has to offer was a pleasure to witness.
We hope you do get to visit us again – how about the Penthouse for your next visit?
Kind regards,
Chris, Henriette and Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here for four nights in a one bedroom apartment on the third floor overlooking the pool. Unfortunately the view ends at the caravan park opposite which is a shame. However, the place gave us everything we needed, especially helpful and friendly managers. Reg on the desk organised our tours and Chris fixed a couple of minor problems immediately without blinking an eye! The apartment was spotless, the bed comfortable and everything worked! The verandah was huge but sadly the weather was a little too cool and windy to really appreciate it. We recommend this establishment wholeheartedly!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghostsTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hello ghostsTravellers
Thank you so much for the very kind review. It was our pleasure to be able to offer you a comfortable stay.
We have been experiencing some lovely weather over the past couple of weeks so you will have to come back and visit us again to experience what a lovely climate we generally have here on the Fraser Coast.
Thank you again for the review.
Kind regards,
Chris, Henriette and Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Visited Hervey Bay first weekend in Sept and stayed at Akama Resort...and I couldn't have asked for more - the staff were amazing, with them going out of their way to help; our unit which was on the 5th floor was spacious, well appointed and had lovely views of the ocean..I will be staying here whenever I return to the Bay and I have sung their praises to all my friends&family..thanks for an amazing 4 days.....Gabby

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gabby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi Gabby L
Wow – what a lovely review – thanks so much!!!
What a pleasure to read about your time here at Akama – and what great guests you were too.
Obviously your two trips out to the see the magnificent humpbacks must have been a highlight…….aren’t they AWESOME!
We hope you have the chance to stay with us again – 518 will be ready for you.
Kind regards,
Chris, Henriette and Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hervey Bay
0.2 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 23 in Hervey Bay
1,763 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#10 of 23 in Hervey Bay
161 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 23 in Hervey Bay
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
0.0 mi away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#6 of 23 in Hervey Bay
584 reviews
6.7 mi away
Kingfisher Bay Resort
Kingfisher Bay Resort
#1 of 3 in Fraser Island
4,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akama Resort

Property: Akama Resort
Address: 625 Esplanade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Akama Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akama offers a dress circle location for anyone wanting to experience the very best of Hervey Bay and Fraser Island. Akama Resort is right across the road from Hervey Bay Marina - clubs, shopping, restaurants and Whale Watching vessels.The apartments are luxuriously spacious with high ceilings and a flow through design to very generous balconies - push back the concertina doors and open your apartment up to the views and tropical breezes. Heated pool and spa, keyless entry, undercover secure car parking and Free WiFi. Book with us direct for the best discounted offers and exclusive apartment types. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Akama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akama Hotel Hervey Bay
Akama Resort Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing