We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, fresh and beautiful!”
Review of Akama Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Akama Resort
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed in an apartment in whale watching season in 2012. From the moment we opened the door we felt comfortable and rested. Very clean, fresh, stylish room. Apartments are really close to the departure point for the whale watching boats. Quite a long walk into the town/shops but we had two small children so probably longer because of them. Loved our stay and will return to Akama if we decide to go to Hervey Bay again. Worth the money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller_Sal_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Hello Traveller_Sal_13
Thanks very much for your review. So pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable stay at Akama. Hervey Bay is a large town with quite a few different precincts all offering a unique experience from shopping and dining to water activities and swimming. We are so fortunate to be able to offer our guests such a variety of activities and the Whale Watching experience is unique to this region. Great family fun!
We look forward to welcoming you back if you ever head up this way again.
Kind regards,
Matt & Pia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (526)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 526 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2013

I booked the Akama for my nephews wedding, it was amazing the rooms were spacious modern and they had the best bed I have ever slept in!!
We totally enjoyed our stay, Regina was so helpful, friendly thanks so much!!
We would definatley stay there again!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dearne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Hi Dearne.R,
Thanks very much for your kind words. We love wedding bookings, great to see family and friends together enjoying themselves, on these very special occasions, is so nice. Seeing the bride and bridesmaids all dressed up is fantastic. It was our pleasure accommodating the family and we are pleased you slept so well - maybe the little extra Champagne helped.
Hope we meet again one day soon.
Regards
Matt, Pia and Regina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I booked into Akama Resort for my wedding and what can I say....I loved it. It is modern, stylish and very spacious! The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. We book a deluxe penthouse and were very impressed and enjoyed our stay very much. I got ready on my wedding day here and it was perfect. The view was beautiful and made for a beautiful backdrop to the day. The bathrooms are quite large and has a deep spa and separate shower. The wardrobe was great....very big and perfect for hanging all the wedding attire in!! We never felt cramped....even when the room was full of visitors enjoying the veiws. I cannot recommend Akama enough. If you want comfort and space to breath....this is the place for you. Regina, you were amazing, thanks for your help. Will be back again!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley_B_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Hello Hayley_B_84
We were so pleased to hear that your wedding went off without a hitch and that you all enjoyed your time at Akama. It was lovely to see so many of your family members here enjoying themselves, especially when they had all travelled so far for your big day.
We look forward to welcoming you back again. We would like to wish you both all the best for the future.
Kind regards,
Matt, Pia and Regina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

It was our first trip to Hervey Bay, after much research on hotels we chose the Akama. I am glad to say we made the right choice, the rooms are massive and plenty of room for entertaining, the large balconies were great. Location is good, a short drive to the esplanade and a even shorter walk to the boat club. Room 22 a real winner. Also Matt was great, he was very responsive to our requests and nothing to difficult. Look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJR01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Hello DJR01
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review.
The Penthouses are ideal for a family stay and the balcony is a great spot to sit back and take in the beautiful views over the Great Sandy Straits. You were such a lovely family and the children seemed to be having a great time. It will be our pleasure to welcome you all back in the future.
Kind regards,
Matt & Pia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Amazing apartments so open and light and oh so large, very clean and best of all a very comfortable king bed, made staying here an absolute pleasure. Hosts Matt & Pia so hospitable, nothing a problem. Akama is very close walk to the Boat Club (good food at reasonable prices) with a lovely view of the jetty. Will be back here again, don't think you would find better accommodation anywhere in Hervey Bay

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Felicity W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Hello FelicityW
You were both such lovely people and you were so eager to see what Hervey Bay had to offer. It is always encouraging to see people taking advantage of the beautiful esplanade walking and cycle track. We will make sure apartment 3 is ready for you when you return.
Kind regards,
Matt & Pia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Besides the great location, modern, comfortable and clean apartment, the service provided my Managers go beyond normal expectations. Thank you very much Matt and Pia for everything you did for us the weekend of 18-21 April, - after the little matter of hubby locking his motor bike keys in the bike's hatch. You help was invaluable !!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorrainem52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Hi Lorrainem52
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
It was great to see that we got your problem all sorted and were able to head off as planned. It was our pleasure to assist you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Akama in the future.
Why not try a pool view or ocean view apartment next time, just remember we will beat any price found on any third party site guaranteed.
Kind regards,
Matt & Pia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Really beautiful apartment with fab views and loads of space, definitely feel that wifi should be free, a real let down in a 5 star apartment especially when the weather was bad. I need access for work and really don't want to have to pay an extra $32 per day !

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank jckhkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Hello jckhkm
Thank you for posting a review.
You are right, the views are ‘FAB’ and we know that our guests love the amount of room they have – especially when travelling with the family.
I would like to clarify the rates for our wireless internet – The daily rate is $15.00 the 3 day rate is $30.00 and the weekly charge is $45.00. We use an external telecommunications company to manage our guest’s internet connections and we have been very happy with the efficiency and security of this service. We understand your concerns regarding the costs for this service and as a result of guest feedback, we are currently in negotiation with this company and our aim is to offer free internet in the near future.
We hope you all had an enjoyable trip back to England and that you had a great time in our beautiful country.
Kind regards,
Matt & Pia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hervey Bay
0.2 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#10 of 24 in Hervey Bay
2,292 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#11 of 24 in Hervey Bay
166 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#8 of 24 in Hervey Bay
613 reviews
10.3 mi away
Kingfisher Bay Resort
Kingfisher Bay Resort
#1 of 3 in Fraser Island
5,647 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tower Court Motel Hervey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akama Resort

Address: 625 Esplanade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range: $129 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Akama Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akama Resort is a 5-star AAA rated resort with self-catering, spacious apartments that have a fully equipped kitchen and a laundry. The property is ideally situated near the Marina at Urangan, overlooking The Great Sandy Straits and Fraser Island. Akama Resorts has free parking, a heated pool and spa, BBQ area and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Akama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akama Hotel Hervey Bay
Akama Resort Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing