We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Customer Service.”
Review of Akama Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Akama Resort
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Besides the great location, modern, comfortable and clean apartment, the service provided my Managers go beyond normal expectations. Thank you very much Matt and Pia for everything you did for us the weekend of 18-21 April, - after the little matter of hubby locking his motor bike keys in the bike's hatch. You help was invaluable !!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorrainem52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Hi Lorrainem52
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
It was great to see that we got your problem all sorted and were able to head off as planned. It was our pleasure to assist you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Akama in the future.
Why not try a pool view or ocean view apartment next time, just remember we will beat any price found on any third party site guaranteed.
Kind regards,
Matt & Pia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 517 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

Really beautiful apartment with fab views and loads of space, definitely feel that wifi should be free, a real let down in a 5 star apartment especially when the weather was bad. I need access for work and really don't want to have to pay an extra $32 per day !

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank jckhkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Hello jckhkm
Thank you for posting a review.
You are right, the views are ‘FAB’ and we know that our guests love the amount of room they have – especially when travelling with the family.
I would like to clarify the rates for our wireless internet – The daily rate is $15.00 the 3 day rate is $30.00 and the weekly charge is $45.00. We use an external telecommunications company to manage our guest’s internet connections and we have been very happy with the efficiency and security of this service. We understand your concerns regarding the costs for this service and as a result of guest feedback, we are currently in negotiation with this company and our aim is to offer free internet in the near future.
We hope you all had an enjoyable trip back to England and that you had a great time in our beautiful country.
Kind regards,
Matt & Pia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I recently stayed here for three nights with a friend; we paid a little extra to get a water glimpse from the 4th floor and were glad we did. The apartment was lovely; large, clean and really well appointed. The receptionist and owners are all really helpful and seemed very keen to do anything to make our stay more comfortable. Didn't try the pool & spa but it looked OK. Agree with other comments that the Wifi should be free - and also wonder about offering drinks and coffee for sale - I'm not sure that's necessary. But all in all, a lovely, boutiquey place that's easy to relax in.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoffeeForLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Hi CoffeeForLucy
Thankyou for taking the time to post a review.
So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were happy with your accommodation. You were both so friendly and keen to see what this region has to offer - it was our pleasure to assist you with our local knowledge.
We offer a small range of soft drinks and water at $2 per item – this has always been a popular feature with our guests. We also provide Nespresso coffee machines in all apartments so therefore we are required to offer our guests a choice of coffee pods for use in these machines – this is also a popular option with our guests.
We would love to have you back for a visit – let’s go for the 6th floor next time!!!
Kind regards,
Matt & Pia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

A great relaxing get away, with large kitchen and entertaining area's. Only a very short walk to the marina complete with Cafe's, Restaurants and Fraser Island Tours. The staff are very helpful with tour locations and items of interest in and around Hervey Bay/Fraser Island. Well worth contacting the resort directly for the best prices and deals. Will definately be back in the near future!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brock604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Hi Brock604
Thanks for the review.
So pleased you enjoyed you stay with us – the poolside apartments are very popular especially with families as the private courtyard and direct access to the pool makes it an excellent apartment for young children.
We hope you get the opportunity to visit us again – apartment 2 is waiting for you.
Kind regards,
Matt & Pia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Sensational rooms, great pool area, underground secure parking (luggage trolleys were winner!), well equipped kitchen. Beautiful pool area and well positioned at the marina within walking distance to restaurants. Great service at front desk. We didn't want to leave!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stahle1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Hi Stahle1972
Thanks for the review. It was a shame that you couldn’t have stayed a little longer. It was good to hear that you had such a good time on Fraser Island – now, next time you visit you’ll have to spend some time exploring Hervey Bay. We would love to welcome you back to Akama in the future.
Kind regards,
Matt & Pia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Firstly a big BIG thank you to Regina, Matt and Pia for making our trip to Hervey Bay/ Fraser so good and hassle free!

I was planning a surprise trip for my partners birthday present (a late present too so it had to be good!) to Fraser Island and I was in two minds about staying in Hervey Bay or on the island as I had no clue which would be best. The reviews for Akama on trip advisor were good enough (and the ones on Fraser average enough) for me to ring up and enquire about a room.

Regina answered the phone and was most helpful and had a small town friendliness about her that so many small towns now seem to have lost with commercial development and mass tourism. After explaining it was a special weeekend away and that I was out to impress she told me that wasn't a problem and that she had a nice room with a view that would be perfect and she wasn't wrong, spectacular view, modern room and very spacious, thank you Regina!

After booking the room I asked about tours and she gave me good little run down on the options and offered to book for me but didn't pressure me into a decision and told me to get in touch if I wanted to do one. I was sent a complete tour brochure and after much deliberation I decided to shell out the little extra for the Hummer tour of Fraser (Also highly recommend this). Not only did they book and organise payment of the tour they had our room ready for our arrival early (7am) in the morning well before our official check in so we could refresh ourselves before our trip and pick up from outside the hotel which was very nice of them to do and not something I have come across before in Australia.

Not only did the staff at Akama make our trip to Hervey Bay and Fraser one to remember they also made me look like a superstar to the misses who thought I had organised the whole thing when all I did was call Regina!

I highly recommend that if you are considering a weekend away around here or a day trip to Fraser that you get in touch with these guys, you won't regret it!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Reuben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Hi Reuben
It was our pleasure to assist you with your partner’s surprise. You are a great couple and we were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your short stay with us at Akama and that the Fraser Island Tour met all your expectations.
We would love to welcome you back if you get the chance to visit again.
Thanks for taking the time to post a review.
Kind regards,
Matt , Pia and Regina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We love love love this place and look forward to returning every year. Quality service and exceptional rooms. Quiet location only a bike,walk or drive away to all beaches, restaurants and activities. You will love Akama and Hervey Bay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarissaLawryQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Hi Marissa,
Thank for your kind words. I also think Hervey Bay is a great little town and glad you loved it as much as we do. Look forward to meeting you again.
Kind regards,
Matt & Pia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hervey Bay
0.2 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#10 of 23 in Hervey Bay
2,150 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#11 of 23 in Hervey Bay
164 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
0 mi away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#6 of 23 in Hervey Bay
606 reviews
10.3 mi away
Kingfisher Bay Resort
Kingfisher Bay Resort
#1 of 3 in Fraser Island
5,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akama Resort

Address: 625 Esplanade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range: $130 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Akama Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akama Resort is a 5-star AAA rated resort with self-catering, spacious apartments that have a fully equipped kitchen and a laundry. The property is ideally situated near the Marina at Urangan, overlooking The Great Sandy Straits and Fraser Island. Akama Resorts has free parking, a heated pool and spa, BBQ area and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Akama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akama Hotel Hervey Bay
Akama Resort Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing