We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Akama Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Akama Resort
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

A great relaxing get away, with large kitchen and entertaining area's. Only a very short walk to the marina complete with Cafe's, Restaurants and Fraser Island Tours. The staff are very helpful with tour locations and items of interest in and around Hervey Bay/Fraser Island. Well worth contacting the resort directly for the best prices and deals. Will definately be back in the near future!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brock604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Hi Brock604
Thanks for the review.
So pleased you enjoyed you stay with us – the poolside apartments are very popular especially with families as the private courtyard and direct access to the pool makes it an excellent apartment for young children.
We hope you get the opportunity to visit us again – apartment 2 is waiting for you.
Kind regards,
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    72
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
205
187
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Sensational rooms, great pool area, underground secure parking (luggage trolleys were winner!), well equipped kitchen. Beautiful pool area and well positioned at the marina within walking distance to restaurants. Great service at front desk. We didn't want to leave!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stahle1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hi Stahle1972
Thanks for the review. It was a shame that you couldn’t have stayed a little longer. It was good to hear that you had such a good time on Fraser Island – now, next time you visit you’ll have to spend some time exploring Hervey Bay. We would love to welcome you back to Akama in the future.
Kind regards,
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Firstly a big BIG thank you to Regina, Matt and Pia for making our trip to Hervey Bay/ Fraser so good and hassle free!

I was planning a surprise trip for my partners birthday present (a late present too so it had to be good!) to Fraser Island and I was in two minds about staying in Hervey Bay or on the island as I had no clue which would be best. The reviews for Akama on trip advisor were good enough (and the ones on Fraser average enough) for me to ring up and enquire about a room.

Regina answered the phone and was most helpful and had a small town friendliness about her that so many small towns now seem to have lost with commercial development and mass tourism. After explaining it was a special weeekend away and that I was out to impress she told me that wasn't a problem and that she had a nice room with a view that would be perfect and she wasn't wrong, spectacular view, modern room and very spacious, thank you Regina!

After booking the room I asked about tours and she gave me good little run down on the options and offered to book for me but didn't pressure me into a decision and told me to get in touch if I wanted to do one. I was sent a complete tour brochure and after much deliberation I decided to shell out the little extra for the Hummer tour of Fraser (Also highly recommend this). Not only did they book and organise payment of the tour they had our room ready for our arrival early (7am) in the morning well before our official check in so we could refresh ourselves before our trip and pick up from outside the hotel which was very nice of them to do and not something I have come across before in Australia.

Not only did the staff at Akama make our trip to Hervey Bay and Fraser one to remember they also made me look like a superstar to the misses who thought I had organised the whole thing when all I did was call Regina!

I highly recommend that if you are considering a weekend away around here or a day trip to Fraser that you get in touch with these guys, you won't regret it!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Reuben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hi Reuben
It was our pleasure to assist you with your partner’s surprise. You are a great couple and we were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your short stay with us at Akama and that the Fraser Island Tour met all your expectations.
We would love to welcome you back if you get the chance to visit again.
Thanks for taking the time to post a review.
Kind regards,
Matt , Pia and Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast QLD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We love love love this place and look forward to returning every year. Quality service and exceptional rooms. Quiet location only a bike,walk or drive away to all beaches, restaurants and activities. You will love Akama and Hervey Bay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarissaLawryQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hi Marissa,
Thank for your kind words. I also think Hervey Bay is a great little town and glad you loved it as much as we do. Look forward to meeting you again.
Kind regards,
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Akama. After a bad start (Our 7 am flight on Tiger Airlines was cancelled, but we luckily got on a later Virgin flight), and a 4 hour drive in torrential rain, we arrived on Sunday night at our apartment after a quick visit to the local supermarket. The key was in a lock box as organised, and our apartment on the 5th floor was lovely. We had views across the Marina to Fraser Island, the bi fold doors opened up completely so we could sip a glass of wine at the outdoor setting with the breeze blowing through the apartment. The living room was large and comfortable, the kitchen stocked with everything needed, and the bedroom was huge. Furnishings were modern and simple and the atmosphere is calming and definitely puts you in holiday mode. Unfortunately we were up there in the rain for two days, but you could rent movies in the office downstairs if you wanted to. I read three books with jazz playing in the background. The third day, the sun came out, so I went down to the pool and swam with some lovely guests from overseas. Later, after lunch, I lay on the chaise on my balcony looking at the view. Everything was easy, the staff friendly and helpful, and the apartment had all you needed for a self catering holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Hello Anne
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
What a shame the start to your trip was so disappointing and the poor weather certainly can’t have helped but your attitude under the circumstances is most refreshing – you sound like you had a great time. The movie hire is always a popular option when the rain starts and there is nothing like some background music and a good book to help you get into the holiday mood.
We would love to welcome you back to Akama Resort in the future – let’s just hope that the weather is a little kinder next time.
Kind regards,
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We picked it on the results of other Reviews of this lovely place...A special stay for a special occasion. The Apartment on Level 4 was large and homely with great views of the ocean and Fraser Island. All the mod cons were supplied and easy to use. The Staff were friendly, helpful and courteous, even when there was a miss understanding they handled it in a professional way that the guest would appreciate. We experienced it 1st hand and were more than satisfied of the outcome.. We have no hesitation on returning there again..... Thanks....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hi Swetts
Thanks for the excellent review.
You were such a lovely couple and it was a pleasure having you stay with us. We hope we were able to add a little extra to the birthday celebrations and it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit. Thanks for your assistance with the little mix up – so glad we were able to sort it out.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Akama – lets go even higher next time!
Kind regards,
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I absolutely love the apartments at Akama, the bedrooms are large, nice size bathrooms and kitchen/lounge dining area is large and spacious. Very rarely do you find new apartments this size (most new apartments seem to be shoe box size). Large balcony with wooden outdoor setting as well as a wooden lounger, we overlooked the pool/boat club as well as glimpses of the sea. Bad weather kept us away from the pool, but the kids looked like they had some fun in the pool area. Underground parking for one car. The only downfall was that our apartment lacked serving bowls, there was enough knives/forks plates etc but no serving bowls for salads etc. Definately recommend it to families/couples and generally anyone wanting something a little upmarket in Hervey Bay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Skozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Hi Skozzie,
Thanks for the great review.
We were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the family managed to still enjoy themselves even though the weather was not too good. The heated pool is definitely the place to be on a miserable day.
We were disappointed to read that you didn’t have serving bowls in your apartment – we do have large salad bowls, a glass casserole dish with lid, 3 stainless mixing/serving bowls and an assortment of plastic microwave dishes and storage containers – we can’t understand how these were all missing from your apartment – we will speak to the housekeeping staff and have this investigated. Our sincere apologies for any inconvenience this caused you.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Akama Resort in the future and thank you again for the excellent review.
Kind regards,
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hervey Bay
0.2 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 23 in Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 23 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#10 of 23 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
0.0 mi away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#7 of 23 in Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
6.7 mi away
Kingfisher Bay Resort
Kingfisher Bay Resort
#1 of 3 in Fraser Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akama Resort

Property: Akama Resort
Address: 625 Esplanade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Akama Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akama offers a dress circle location for anyone wanting to experience the very best of Hervey Bay and Fraser Island. Akama Resort is right across the road from Hervey Bay Marina - clubs, shopping, restaurants and Whale Watching vessels.The apartments are luxuriously spacious with high ceilings and a flow through design to very generous balconies - push back the concertina doors and open your apartment up to the views and tropical breezes. Heated pool and spa, keyless entry, undercover secure car parking and Free WiFi. Book with us direct for the best discounted offers and exclusive apartment types. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Akama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akama Hotel Hervey Bay
Akama Resort Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing