We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restful break at Akama” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akama Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Akama Resort
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Restful break at Akama”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Akama. After a bad start (Our 7 am flight on Tiger Airlines was cancelled, but we luckily got on a later Virgin flight), and a 4 hour drive in torrential rain, we arrived on Sunday night at our apartment after a quick visit to the local supermarket. The key was in a lock box as organised, and our apartment on the 5th floor was lovely. We had views across the Marina to Fraser Island, the bi fold doors opened up completely so we could sip a glass of wine at the outdoor setting with the breeze blowing through the apartment. The living room was large and comfortable, the kitchen stocked with everything needed, and the bedroom was huge. Furnishings were modern and simple and the atmosphere is calming and definitely puts you in holiday mode. Unfortunately we were up there in the rain for two days, but you could rent movies in the office downstairs if you wanted to. I read three books with jazz playing in the background. The third day, the sun came out, so I went down to the pool and swam with some lovely guests from overseas. Later, after lunch, I lay on the chaise on my balcony looking at the view. Everything was easy, the staff friendly and helpful, and the apartment had all you needed for a self catering holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Hello Anne
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
What a shame the start to your trip was so disappointing and the poor weather certainly can’t have helped but your attitude under the circumstances is most refreshing – you sound like you had a great time. The movie hire is always a popular option when the rain starts and there is nothing like some background music and a good book to help you get into the holiday mood.
We would love to welcome you back to Akama Resort in the future – let’s just hope that the weather is a little kinder next time.
Kind regards,
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    72
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
205
186
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We picked it on the results of other Reviews of this lovely place...A special stay for a special occasion. The Apartment on Level 4 was large and homely with great views of the ocean and Fraser Island. All the mod cons were supplied and easy to use. The Staff were friendly, helpful and courteous, even when there was a miss understanding they handled it in a professional way that the guest would appreciate. We experienced it 1st hand and were more than satisfied of the outcome.. We have no hesitation on returning there again..... Thanks....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hi Swetts
Thanks for the excellent review.
You were such a lovely couple and it was a pleasure having you stay with us. We hope we were able to add a little extra to the birthday celebrations and it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit. Thanks for your assistance with the little mix up – so glad we were able to sort it out.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Akama – lets go even higher next time!
Kind regards,
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I absolutely love the apartments at Akama, the bedrooms are large, nice size bathrooms and kitchen/lounge dining area is large and spacious. Very rarely do you find new apartments this size (most new apartments seem to be shoe box size). Large balcony with wooden outdoor setting as well as a wooden lounger, we overlooked the pool/boat club as well as glimpses of the sea. Bad weather kept us away from the pool, but the kids looked like they had some fun in the pool area. Underground parking for one car. The only downfall was that our apartment lacked serving bowls, there was enough knives/forks plates etc but no serving bowls for salads etc. Definately recommend it to families/couples and generally anyone wanting something a little upmarket in Hervey Bay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Skozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Hi Skozzie,
Thanks for the great review.
We were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the family managed to still enjoy themselves even though the weather was not too good. The heated pool is definitely the place to be on a miserable day.
We were disappointed to read that you didn’t have serving bowls in your apartment – we do have large salad bowls, a glass casserole dish with lid, 3 stainless mixing/serving bowls and an assortment of plastic microwave dishes and storage containers – we can’t understand how these were all missing from your apartment – we will speak to the housekeeping staff and have this investigated. Our sincere apologies for any inconvenience this caused you.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Akama Resort in the future and thank you again for the excellent review.
Kind regards,
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Great reception with very helpful information and knowledge about Hervey Bay. The apartment was spacious, clean, comfortable and had great views. They made booking a tour so easy and quick. Would love to go their again the next time I'm in Hervey Bay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillipJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Hi PhillipJT
Thanks for taking the time to post a review.
We were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your tour and it was our pleasure to assist you with the best options available. Your stay was long enough that you were able to take advantage of our facilities and it was great to see you and your friends ‘cooking up a storm’ on the BBQ.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you plan your next visit to Hervey Bay.
Kind regards,
Matt, Pia and Reg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We managed to get through the floods and were so delighted with the quality and cleanliness of the resort.Matt and Pia, the hosts, are the most friendly people you could ask for. The lady on reception, Reg was amazing and had so much great advise for us regarding the best places to visit with the flooding going on. Amazing views views from our balcony, and so clean and quiet. Matt was so helpful when we delayed our holiday by a couple of days as we were unable to reach Hervey Bay even offering us a refund. I cant imagine why anyone would give this amazing place a bad review. All we can say is that my 8 year old daughter and my senior parents couldnt find fault in this place. I guess there is always a whinger and you cant please everyone. All we can say as a family is FANTASTIC.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hello Mike G
Thank you so much for the great review.
We thoroughly enjoyed having you stay with us – what a lovely family! You were always so friendly and eager to experience what Hervey Bay has to offer. You had such a terrific time on Fraser Island – wow, what an adventure it turned out to be. We hope your parents enjoy the rest of their time in Queensland and have a safe return home.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Akama in the future - we have apartment 22 waiting for you.
Thanks again for taking the time to post a review.
Kind regards,
Matt, Pia and Reg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We booked for two nights over the Australia Day long weekend. Needless to say we got stuck in Hervey Bay as all roads south were cut off. The service we got from Matt and Pia was first class.
Early on Sunday when it became obvious that we could not get back home to Brisbane and we were due to check out at 10am, we received a phone call from Matt at 8.30 am inviting us to remain in the apartment for an extra night at no cost. This was welcome news and much appreciated as we had my 89yr old Mum with us and to contemplate a shift to more economical accommodation would have caused her much anxiety. We ended up staying 5 nights and Matt negotiated a reduced rate for us to remain in our very comfortable apartment undisturbed. The experience was frustrating for everyone but was made all the more bearable because of Matt and Pia. I would not hesitate to recommend a stay at Akama Resort and in fact have already done so to our friends!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hi Eric N
Thank you for the review – much appreciated.
It was such a pleasure having you stay with us and even though circumstances meant you were stranded here for a few extra days, you were so understanding. We hope you didn’t arrive home to any damage – we know you were a little concerned.
Please pass on our best wishes to your mother.
We hope you have the chance to visit us again and we thank you for your recommendations.
Kind regards,
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We were absolutely thrilled with our stay at Akama Resort. We rented a 3 bed apartment with wonderful views over the Great Sandy Straits and Frazer Island for 2 weeks. Due to the cyclone we stayed 3 weeks - we loved every day of it. The apartment was first class: spacious, well equipped, very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Matt, Pia and Reg were wonderful hosts who provided us great advice on which trips to do and what to see. They also looked after us incredibly well after the weather turned and we could not return to Sydney. They continued to provide updates on the roads and the flights to ensure we were able to complete our trip at the earliest possible time. I could not recommend Matt, Pia, Reg and the Akama Resorts enough. We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hello Richard F
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. You were such a great family – so warm and friendly and so keen to enjoy all that this region has to offer. You fortunately, had some beautiful weather for the majority of your stay and your understanding and cooperative attitude when the storms hit, was very much appreciated.
It was such a pleasure to hear all about your experiences on the day tours – you all looked so exhausted but at the same time so happy when you arrived back from the day tour to the Great Barrier Reef – your enthusiasm made us feel like we wanted to head back out ourselves.
We hope your parents have had a good break and enjoyed their time in Australia – we wish them safe travels for their return to Europe.
We are looking forward to your return visit – the Penthouse is waiting for you!
Best wishes and kind regards,
Matt, Pia and Reg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hervey Bay
0.2 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 24 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#10 of 24 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
0.0 mi away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#6 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
6.7 mi away
Kingfisher Bay Resort
Kingfisher Bay Resort
#1 of 3 in Fraser Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akama Resort

Property: Akama Resort
Address: 625 Esplanade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Akama Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akama offers a dress circle location for anyone wanting to experience the very best of Hervey Bay and Fraser Island. Akama Resort is right across the road from Hervey Bay Marina - clubs, shopping, restaurants and Whale Watching vessels.The apartments are luxuriously spacious with high ceilings and a flow through design to very generous balconies - push back the concertina doors and open your apartment up to the views and tropical breezes. Heated pool and spa, keyless entry, undercover secure car parking and Free WiFi. Book with us direct for the best discounted offers and exclusive apartment types. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Akama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akama Hotel Hervey Bay
Akama Resort Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing