We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay. Very luxurious. Awesome views.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Akama Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Akama Resort
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay. Very luxurious. Awesome views.”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had two nights at Akama Resort, and this was the highlight of our trip from TVL to BNE! Very luxurious, reasonably priced and great views to boot. Underground parking was sufficient height for 2.2m with our Toyota RAV4 with a Thule Excellence roof pod fitted. That's a big plus in my book!! Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Hi NMB75

Thanks for taking the time to post a review.

We were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our larger apartments are always popular for family stays and it is a comfort to know that you can park in secure undercover parking especially when you are travelling in a larger vehicle with all the extras you need for a summer holiday.

We wish you and your family a Happy New Year and look forward to welcoming you back to Akama.

Kind regards,

Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    72
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
205
187
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We were 5 adults and 1 toddler staying in an Ocean View 3 BR for five days. Spotless, luxurious self-contained apartment-- lovely place to be even if you never step outside! We really enjoyed cooking meals together as a family (and any appliance you need is there in the kitchen) and then enjoying the meals with a beautiful view and sea breeze... Not the kind of place you would want a toddler to let loose in though, so we had to be a bit more vigilant than usual (and not eat over the carpet, etc), but there is a closet full of cleaning products + washer/dryer to help you out. Also, high chairs, beach towels, internet, etc cost extra but one set of bath towels, amenities, washing powder included. Woolies is about a 20 min walk (we took a taxi back because we had too many groceries to carry). Matt & Pia's service was flawless.

As for tours, worth the cost, but would recommend choosing tours that are not rushed and give you plenty of time to spend in the places you visit, and none seem particularly young child friendly. We loved renting the bikes and riding up the Hervey Bay coast.

Overall a wonderful holiday, and we would definitely recommend Akama and stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaschSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Hi PaschSydney

Thanks for the ‘Fantastic’ review.
It was a pleasure to have such a lovely stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
We always get a positive reaction when our guests hire the bikes and head off along the beautiful Esplanade cycle track – lots of spots to stop off and have a quick dip or a light snack.
PS – Thanks for the quiche and beers……..most enjoyable.
Kind regards,
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We spent 2 nights in a 1 bedroom pool view room and it was fantastic. Walked in and found the huge bifold doors open letting in the afternoon breeze. Huge living area and balcony. Great kitchen although we really only used the kettle! Bathroom was spacious and clean.

Short walk to the marina.

Only downside was the blinds - bit of a gap in the corners let light in as soon as the sun came up. Other than that was perfect. Regina in reception was extremely helpful - made booking trips very easy and pointed us in the direction of the nearest supermarkets etc. highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcyeap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Hi Icyeap,

Thank you for your great review. We’re so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The blinds are block out roller blinds and sometimes they are rolled up the wrong way making a large gap for the light to come in. Our Queensland sun is also very persistent . Reg is a pleasure to have as an employee and always goes that extra mile,we shall thank her on your behalf.
Please come and stay again one day.

Kind Regards
Matt,Pia and Reg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

This was our second trip to the Akama Resort. We stayed in a 3br apartment 2 years ago (reasonably high up, overlooking the ocean and the pool) and had a great stay. This time we were given a 2br poolside apartment. We were a little worried that the two years would have been hard on the rooms but everything in our apartment was sparkling clean and as new.

We especially liked the poolside location. We had a small lawn/garden off our balcony and the children could wander down to the pool when it suited them.

A really nice touch is the free Nespresso machine from reception (you only pay for coffee pods) and the great selection of DVDs for all ages. The resident managers are very helpful and their son very kind and happy to play with our kids. The pool is lovely and there's a spa and BBQ in the pool area too, and lots of interesting restaurants along the marina.

The front (main) bedroom was large enough for a very comfortable air bed for our daughter with our sons in the twin bedroom.

Great location and a super holiday choice - we go to Lady Elliot Island regularly and the children beg for a few nights in HB on the way.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeedham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Hi Jane,

Thanks a lot for taking the time to review Akama and also taking in our son. Finn loves it when other kids have him over to play (single child syndrome). It was great to hear you liked the different style of apartment this time, the 2 poolside apartments are great for kids who love to swim the direct access to the pool area is ideal.
Look forward to seeing you back again.
Finn says come back really soon please.
Kind Regards

Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

in comparison to what we would have to pay to stay in a place like this in england. it is worth it!!.. we did get the penthouse for a couple nights.. was really spacey.. would be fantastic if there was a spa but other than that everything was wonderful. though the staff seemed very occupied in their work rather than guests as we waited in reception. but overall was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beere77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Hi beere77
Thankyou for the review.
We were pleased to hear that you found the rate so reasonable. It was our pleasure to offer you a free upgrade to the Standard Penthouse. Our Deluxe Penthouses do have a spa but our Standard Penthouse does not so keep that in mind if you ever return to stay with us again. Our apologies if you felt that we were preoccupied during your time at reception – it is never our intention to give this impression and as we can’t recall the circumstances we can only apologise - our guests are always our priority.
Kind regards,
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Booked Akama for 2 nights for my daughters wedding. Booked Penthouse for Bridesmaids and Daughter. Absolutley glorious and out of this world view out to the ocean. Can't wait to see photgraphers photos. Extremely impressed with service - offered to arrange food for lunch so we didn't have to leave room. We stayed in a two bedroom room. Couldn't fault anything.We have stayed in numerous places in Hervey Bay previously but if we ever wish to stay in Hervey Bay again we would never go past Akama Resort, ideally located and very friendly and efficient service.Thankyou for making my daughters and our stay so relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Hi Linda H

Thanks for taking the time to post a review.
We were so pleased to hear that the wedding went off without a hitch – you seemed to have everything very well organized and it was our pleasure to assist you with the catering on the day. If you get the opportunity to drop in we’d love to see the photos. The views are great from the balcony of the Penthouses and I’m sure the Marina and the Great Sandy Straits made a lovely backdrop for the photographer.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and hopefully next visit you will get the chance to sit back and relax.
Kind regards,
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We travelled with friends and as none of us had been to Hervey Bay before we really did not know what to expect. We booked a Penthouse on the 6th floor as one of our requirements is always 2 separate bathrooms. We did a toss for the best bedroom as it really was hands down much larger and offered a walk in wardrobe with gorgeous spa bath. I lost the toss and although I was happy with my room it defnitely lacked some of the luxury of the main bedrm. The apartment was modern and the decor was lovely. The views from the very large patio were just gorgeous. We ate regularly on the patio and just took in all that the Marina had to offer. We were very grateful for the fabulous customer service and recommendations for eateries, tours, etc from Reg, her tips were great and made our travels/adventures so much easier. Everyone was really so helpful and friendly. The AKAMA apartments are very close to the Marina and we ate well at the boat club and one of the adjoining restaurants....the trip to Kingfisher Resort for the evening seafood buffet is also worth the trip.
We found a co-op for fresh seafood which was very handy and so so fresh. We would recommend you hire a car as the Akama Apartments are at the quieter end of the Bay which is just wonderful if you are escaping traffic noise but a bit of a walk to supermarkets, etc. We all enjoyed our stay so much it is definitely going to be a more regular holiday destination. Thanks again Reg for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamlSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Hi pamlSydney_Australia

Thanks for the great review.
It was so good to read that you enjoyed all the activities on offer in this beautiful part of Queensland – and you’re right, the location is ideal for a relaxing break.
Next time you come for a visit remember that it’s your turn to have the master suite. The balcony off the 2nd bedroom does give it a more private feel but the master is lovely.
It is handy having the co-op over the road – nothing better than fresh seafood on your balcony looking out over the marina. The Kingfisher Seafood Buffet is a very popular alternative and with the trip across the Great Sandy Strait it’s a great night out.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Akama in the future – try early Spring next time and you can add Whale Watching to your list of Fraser Coast adventures.
We sincerely appreciate our experienced reviewers and your comments are very much appreciated..
Kind regards,
Matt, Pia and Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hervey Bay
0.2 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 23 in Hervey Bay
1,597 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 23 in Hervey Bay
259 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#10 of 23 in Hervey Bay
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
0.0 mi away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#8 of 23 in Hervey Bay
560 reviews
6.7 mi away
Kingfisher Bay Resort
Kingfisher Bay Resort
#1 of 3 in Fraser Island
4,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akama Resort

Property: Akama Resort
Address: 625 Esplanade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Akama Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akama offers a dress circle location for anyone wanting to experience the very best of Hervey Bay and Fraser Island. Akama Resort is right across the road from Hervey Bay Marina - clubs, shopping, restaurants and Whale Watching vessels.The apartments are luxuriously spacious with high ceilings and a flow through design to very generous balconies - push back the concertina doors and open your apartment up to the views and tropical breezes. Heated pool and spa, keyless entry, undercover secure car parking and Free WiFi. Book with us direct for the best discounted offers and exclusive apartment types. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Akama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akama Hotel Hervey Bay
Akama Resort Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing