We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hard to find a fault here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akama Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Akama Resort
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Hard to find a fault here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Could not find a fault here ....it I did have to say some ...perhaps a spa in the penthouse would be nice ...we stayed in the Penthouse and it only had a small bath...other then this perfect...try to get a room facing the beach for a better view ....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith-68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hi Judith-68

Thank for taking the time to post a review.

So pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

You stayed in the Standard 3 bedroom Penthouse and yes, you are right – no spa bath HOWEVER the Deluxe Penthouses do have a good sized spa bath in the ensuite. If you stay with us again, don’t forget to ask for the Deluxe Penthouse.
The Standard Penthouse is situated on the top floor and does have ocean views over the bay to the north but if you want to be on the east side of the complex then the pool view, ocean view and Deluxe Penthouses would be a nice alternative.
Thanks again for your review it was very much appreciated.
We hope you get a chance to come back and stay again…..don’t forget the Deluxe Penthouse next time.
Kind regards,
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    71
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
196
185
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney. Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Akama is a great place to stay with modern and luxurious apartments and situated in a quiet area with fantastic views from the Penthouse (6th Floor). From our arrival to departure Akarma really makes a great holiday experience. Regina was so helpful and every sugestion offered to us really delived and met all our expectations. What an asset for this resort she is. The boat club is a 5 min walk with the Marina next door with restaurants and a few shops. There is a Co op for fresh seafood within a short walk as well. We hired a car for a couples of days but Taxi's were readily available .
Thank you to all the staff at Akama and we look forward to our return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisJTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hi ChrisJTourist

Thanks for the ‘fantastic’ review.

You were such a nice group of friends - it was a pleasure to have you stay with us.

You all seemed to have a great time on your excursions and I know the Seafood Buffet over at the Kingfish Resort
was one of your favourites – it’s a great night out with the scenic transfer across the bay and lots and lots of seafood
on offer. With the Urangan Fisheries Co op opposite you must have been in Seafood Heaven by the time you left.

We love the Hervey Bay Boat Club and so do our guests – just a short stroll across the road and the bistro is
is always a popular option for a meal.

We really hope you all get the chance to come back and visit us again – we might get an invite to share some of those prawns with you next time.

Thanks again for taking the time to post a review.

Kind regards,
Matt, Pia and Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

A great friendly stay for the whole family. Huge 2 bedroom unit overlooking the pool, big balcony and heaps of room. Pool area was great for our 8 and 10 year old. Location is great, near the marina and some good eating options without getting the car out. Regina on front desk a real character and very helpful on all local attractions. Couldn't have asked for anything more,great value i thought.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hi Andrew C

Thanks for posting a review.
You were such a lovely family and it was great to hear that you took advantage of all that this location has to offer.
The pool view and pool side apartments are ideal for families wanting some space and for Mum & Dad to have some privacy and the heated pool has been very popular over the past few cooler months.
We hope you get the opportunity to visit Hervey Bay again in the future – we look forward to welcoming you back to Akama.
Thanks again for taking the time to post a review.
Kind regards,
Matt, Pia and Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had 3 nights in one of the 6th floor penthouses. Although the property is not waterfront,the views over the marina and Fraser Island were still spectacular. The unit was huge,luxurious and very well equipped. The boat club and whale watching tour boats were just a 100 metre walk away and a delightful walking track linked the main restaurant area along the foreshore. Staff were charming and helpful and the pool and gardens were well maintained. Altogether a relaxing, comfortable,enjoyable place to stay.Only detracting feature was traffic noise outside particularly on the weekend when the local youth is out and about in their noisy cars.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob & Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hi chris528934

Thanks for the excellent review.
Our Penthouse Apartments do offer fantastic views and with the large living areas opening on to the balcony it feels like you are part of the Great Sandy Straits.
The walking/cycle path is very popular with our guests – it’s an easy stroll around to the Urangan Jetty – hope you got a chance to take in the amazing sunset across the water.
We are so fortunate to have some lovely restaurants all within easy walking distance and with the Hervey Bay Boat Club opposite, our guests have a variety of dining experiences to choose from.
Thank you again for taking the time to post a review.
We would love to have you back to stay with us again.
Kind regards
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gin gin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

My partner and I recently stayed at Akama Resort. We often visit Hervey Bay for a break, and have stayed at a few establishments. However we were totally blown away with the management, service and apartment style of this resort. They were clean, spacious, modern and inviting. It was a change to actually stay somewhere where the price matched the service we received. We are getting married next year and have already booked the penthouse suite and will highly recommend this resort to our out of town guests.

Myself and my partner cannot rate this resort high enough. I was greeted upon check in with a friendly smile and hello, and upon leaving I received the same.

When visiting Hervey Bay do yourself a favour and stay at this resort, you will not be disappointed!!.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hi Lousie P

Thanks for taking the time to post a review.
It was a pleasure to assist you with the arrangements for your wedding next year – we look forward to sharing this special time with you and your family.
It was nice to hear that you appreciated the balcony and the views – great place to sit back and relax in the beautiful spring weather we’ve been having.
Thank you again for the great review.
Kind regards,
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

My reaction when opening the door to our apartment was Wow!! My husband and I just loved it. I would give it a 5+. It was very spacious with new decor, luxurious. We were on the ground floor. The huge doors opened onto our deck, a few steps and we were in the pool and spa area. The location was great, quiet and a short walk to the Marina where the whale sighting boats leave, the boat club is also there for great cheap meals and the aquarium where you can feed the turtles, all worth doing. We would highly recommend the Akama and will stay there next time we are in Hervey Bay. Also the receptionist was very friendly and helpful.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TassidorDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Hi TassidorDunedin
Thank you so much for the lovely review.
Our 2 bedroom poolside apartments are so popular, especially for young families, the extra space with the courtyard combined with the direct access to the pool makes the stay so relaxing for the mums and dads. So nice to read that you took advantage of the walking paths adjacent to Akama and even did a bit of turtle feeding – the Whale Watching has been perfect this season with so many whales in the bay and with the convenience of the Marina just over the road our guests are able to take full advantage of our great location.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope you have the opportunity to visit again.
Thank you again, for taking the time to post a review.
Kind regards,
Matt and Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hervey Bay
0.2 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#10 of 24 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa
Oceans Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Urangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#5 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
6.7 mi away
Kingfisher Bay Resort
Kingfisher Bay Resort
#1 of 3 in Fraser Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akama Resort

Property: Akama Resort
Address: 625 Esplanade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Spa Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Akama Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akama offers a dress circle location for anyone wanting to experience the very best of Hervey Bay and Fraser Island. Akama Resort is right across the road from Hervey Bay Marina - clubs, shopping, restaurants and Whale Watching vessels.The apartments are luxuriously spacious with high ceilings and a flow through design to very generous balconies - push back the concertina doors and open your apartment up to the views and tropical breezes. Heated pool and spa, keyless entry, undercover secure car parking and Free WiFi. Book with us direct for the best discounted offers and exclusive apartment types. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Akama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akama Hotel Hervey Bay
Akama Resort Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing