We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Apartment In Hervey Bay”
Review of Akama Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Akama Resort
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Me and my mother spent three fantastic nights in Akama resort. I booked last minute after office hours but my call went straight through and Pia and Matt organised late pick up of keys and emailed me all the required information. The apartment was modern, incredibly spacious and beautifully decorated with lovely views over the marina out to Fraser Island. Pia and Matt were the friendliest of hosts and booked all of our excursions (Whale Watching and Fraser Island Tour, both amazing!!) through reception in 5minutes. The apartments were fantastically appointed close to the marina and a short drive to Woolworths to stock up on food in order to make use of the fantastic kitchen. All the appliances were brand new high quality with plenty of space. The two bedrooms at either end increased privacy and the bi-fold doors in the living room transformed the balcony into an extension of the apartment making for a fantastic space to chill out in. My only regret was that we didn’t stay longer!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilyB88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Hi Lilyb88
Thankyou for the terrific review.
It was such a pleasure having you stay with us and it was great to hear that you enjoyed your tours. The Fraser Island tours are such fun – a real adventure and the whale watching in this region is second to none.
We would love to have you back again - maybe next time you could stay longer.
Kind regards
Matt & pia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 510 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012

My wife and 2 kids stayed in the penthouse for a week and have to say it was an amazing holiday - As per usual your holiday is made by the people that assist you and Matt and his team could not do enough for us.

Everything that was recommended to us (whales, Fraser Island) were perfect days and run very professionally.

If you plan to stay in Hervey Bay I cant speak highly enough of the resort and the team.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Hi Adam W
Thanks for taking the time to post a review.
It was a pleasure to have you and your family staying with us. It’s so refreshing to meet such a young family so eager to experience all the tour options available in this region. We know you all loved the whales and just talking to you about your trip to Fraser Island made us want to hop on a barge and head over for another visit.
Best wishes to you and your lovely wife and say Hi to the children from us. We really hope you have the opportunity to visit us again in the future.
Kind regards,
Matt & Pia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Our husbands organised a surprise weekend for us to go whale watching and booked the deluxe penthouse for two nights for three couples. It was quite beautiful with magnificent views of the bay. The furnishings were modern and the living and kitchen areas spacious, light and airy. We had the third bedroom which is the smallest but had a wonderfully comfortable bed. Only downside to that is that there is nothing in the way of cupboard space in that room so you have to live straight from your suitcases - but for two nights that was no big deal. Only suggestion I'd make would be to have a mirror in that room. With four adults sharing a bathroom where the mirror was, made it a bit of a juggle to get hair and make up done. Location wise the resort is perfectly situated - within walking distance to the departure for whale watching and several nice restaurants - and also the Seafood Festival which was on last weekend. Can't comment on service as we didn't need any - other than the guys checking in which was straightforward They were happy for us to leave our cars in the visitors parking after we checked out so we could visit the Seafood Festival which we really appreciated. Would be happy to stay there again and will recommend to friends - in fact have done so already.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Zannagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Hi Zannagirl

Thanks for your review.
That weekend was fantastic with the seafood festival directly over the road from us, I personally spent the afternoon there enjoying Hervey Bays’ freshest seafood and live entertainment. Each year the event just gets bigger and bigger. The whale watching is in full swing and the numbers in the bay at the moment are unbelievable, it’s great to hear you had a fantastic time and look forward to seeing you and your friends in the future - don’t forget to keep an eye on our deals page on our website for great specials and packages.
Kind regards
Matt & Pia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Akama Resort. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit here. The apartment was large and airy and extremely well appointed. Its location close to the Hervey Bay Marina was ideal for our whale watching experience. We would definitely recommend Akama to our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrRass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Hi MrRass
Thanks for the review. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay with us and aren’t those whales just ‘magic’!
We hope you get a chance to visit us again – check out the deals page on our web site for monthly tour packages.
Best wishes to you and your family.
Kind regards,
Matt & Pia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay from the friendly greeting on arrival to hassle free days spent at this resort. Clean, spacious and quiet , beautifully appointed apartment . Great spot with lovely views we will stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sigofgosford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Hi Sigofgosford,
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. Nothing like a hassle free holiday, after all isn’t that what life is all about. Look forward to meeting you again one day soon.
Till then take care
Kind regards
Matt & Pia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We just come home and we stayed at the Akama for 3 nights. we shared a flat with friends, 2 bedroom appartement, as we entered we all went * wow * what a great place. beautifull rooms, perfect beds ( king ) spotless appartement. We where so exited, large balconny overlooking the pool, 2 bathrooms, separate laundry, luxury towels, everything in the kitchen we needed. In fact after our whale watching tour with blue dolphin, we did not want to go out , as we thought this place is so nice we stayed in and cooked a light meal and enjoyed the place so much, and we even had fireworks on the marina in front as it was whale festival..what a bonus.. all in all , we loved it so much we are coming back at akama for sure . SUPERB accomodation. thank you Hervey bay !!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cath29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Hi Cath29
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review.
‘Wow’ what great guests. Nice to hear that you had a good sleep on the new king beds.....brand new and top of the range, they’ve been a big hit. We have been getting such terrific feedback from the guests that have been out on the water with the ‘humpbacks’ – it is an amazing experience and Pete on Blue Dolphin is a very popular captain. The Whale Festival is a special time for us here in Hervey Bay and with Akama being in such close proximity to the festivities the balcony would have been the perfect spot to take it all in.
Thank you again for the terrific review – We look forward to welcoming you back to Akama sometime in the future.
Kind regards
Matt & Pia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This place is truely 5 star, a cut above the rest. Great layout with bedrooms at different ends so no one disturbs eachother, stylish decor with all that you need. Large balcony with furniture, big windows with lots of natural light. Comfortable beds. Situated near to marina do handy for whale watch and Fraser Island trips, and also quiet, no noisy bars nearby. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MazShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Hi Mazshaw
Thankyou so much for the excellent review.
It is nice to hear that the layout of the apartment was a bonus for you – having the bedrooms separated is always popular with our guests and the extra balcony off the 2nd bedroom offers a quiet spot to take in the views.
Our location is ideal especially this time of year – just a short walk over to the marina to board the Whale Watching boats and with the Whale Watching Festival taking place this weekend we know our guests will take full advantage of our great location.
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to see you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Matt & Pia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hervey Bay
0.2 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 23 in Hervey Bay
2,046 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#11 of 23 in Hervey Bay
164 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
0.0 mi away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#7 of 23 in Hervey Bay
601 reviews
8.0 mi away
Kingfisher Bay Resort
Kingfisher Bay Resort
#1 of 3 in Fraser Island
5,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akama Resort

Address: 625 Esplanade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range: $125 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Akama Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5-star AAA rated self catering resort is ideally situated next to the marina at Urangan, overlooking Fraser Island and the Great Sandy Straits. Guests enjoy Fraser Island tours and great opportunities for whale-watching. The property offers free WiFi access, free covered parking with lift access to all levels. Akama Resort provides a variety of spacious, modern 1, 2, 3 bedroom-penthouses and apartments that offer panoramic views of the Marina and Fraser Island from private, sunny balconies. All apartments are accessible via an elevator. Nearby attractions include small local markets, an 18 km long bike path along Charlton Esplanade, and cafés, pubs and clubs along Hervey Bay Marina. Guests can enjoy a 35-minute flight to the Lady Elliot Island, relax at Shelly Beach, or go sailing across the Great Sandy Strait while watching dolphins, dugongs, and turtles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Akama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akama Hotel Hervey Bay
Akama Resort Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing