We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kaputar Motel - Narrabri
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Narrabri
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Only stayed one night but the rooms were clean and comfortable. Its a little dated and in need of renovation but at the end of the day we booked it for what it was, budget accommodation. A little disappointed that when we booked via Booking.com it advised that there was free internet however, on arrival internet was actually charged for and the couple running reception couldn't comment as they were covering for the owners whilst on holiday. Also would have loved to have had a swim after a long, hot days travel but the pool was in need of a good clean and skim. Didn't notice any noise com the highway during the night even though it is situated directly off the Newell.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    12
    20
    7
    3
See reviews for
17
19
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingaroy, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We returned to stay at this motel after a very good experience last time.

This time we stayed in room 12, a standard double.

The room was once again very clean, but both the room and bathroom were very small and needed renovation. It's only a budget motel however, so we accepted that OK. We've stayed in other motels with similarly small rooms. If you chose to have breakfast there, you'd probably want to eat it outside, where there's a nice wide verandah and some seating. There's not enough room inside.

The two main problems were the shower (a bit dilapidated and which took a long time to heat up) and the bed (which was well past its use-by date)!

I presume the hot water system was some distance away as it took many minutes for hot water to reach the shower. We assumed initially that the motel had run out of hot water, or the (unlabelled) taps were installed back-to-front. After nearly giving up, the hot water finally arrived. A sign to advise running the shower for 5 minutes before use would be a good idea. Once the hot water arrived it was OK, though you had to be a bit careful as the shower's floor waste cover was broken.

The night was spent on the edge of the mattress trying not to roll back into the middle of the bed. The inner spring mattress had definitely lost its "spring"! My back only just survived the night! The mattress on our previous stay had been great, so it seems to be a matter of luck as to what your bed may be like.

I'd probably try one of the other motels in Narrabri next time.

We went out to The Outback Shack again for dinner, having not been very impressed last time, but thought we'd give it another go. Our suggestion would be try somewhere else! Our "Roast of the Day" were slaps of very fatty, gristly meat covering a few poorly cooked vegetables, swimming in a sea of gravy. The meals were supplied quickly, but were poorly prepared. The meal prices are certainly too high for the quality of what's provided. It surprised us that once again, quite a few people were eating there. Perhaps the town's other choices are worse! The staff were friendly, and the atmosphere was quite nice, but the meals are not very good.

Room Tip: Check the bed and mattress before deciding on a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pb1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange NSW
Level Contributor
114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed one night on the way back from Brisbane. The rooms were clean but very old. The tv had good reception. We didn't have a booking and the lady at reception was very accommodating. We were given a small carton of fresh milk for tea and coffee which was welcome. It was a bit noisy because its on the main highway but after a long drive we slept well anyway. It was clean and had the basics, it was ok. We were not expecting more than what it was.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucyOrangeNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korora, NSW
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Well yes your on the hwy but considering the trucks that go past at night is is quiet. It could use a bit of money spent on it as it is an old hotel. I stayed in room 8 and I wouldn't recommend turning the air con on at night as it is a bit on the noisy side, glad for the brick walls as it did keep the cold winter Narrabri weather out.
The beds are firm and they have plenty of pillows in the room. The room appeared very clean ( cleaner than a lot of hotels I've stayed in ).
The guys that run the Motel are very friendly and helpful. If you need anything here you won't have a problem. I'd stay here again.

If you've read this review and it helped any please click the yes on the helpful question below. Thanks

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Flesh81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived after a long day driving the manager greeted us very friendly and forthcoming. The hotels is located on a very busy highway so not so quiet but conveniently located. The rooms were quite old and small with the furniture definitely needing renovation. But reasonably clean and the bed is comfortable. So all in all ok but not very exciting. Certainly has seen better days. But good for a one night stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Bernhard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingaroy, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way to Perth from Queensland.

The owner greeted us as though we'd been friends for years. Nothing was too much trouble. He's a retired West Australian politician and mayor and was a wealth of information. Take the time to have a chat! He and his wife made a great team.

We mentioned our daughter was also going to stay there the next evening on her way to Newcastle, and he upgraded her room at no cost! We know she really appreciated that and was surprised at the warm greeting she also received.

Before going to our room we asked about wi-fi and were given free access for our stay with a 500Mb data limit. That was more than adequate for catching up on emails and some internet searches, and was quite fast.

The units were all ground floor with easy access and wide verandas. The rooms were fairly basic, but spotlessly clean. We understand the motel was quite run down when these new owners purchased it and they're slowly replacing and upgrading things. Our standard twin room included a queen size bed and a single, air conditioning, direct dial phone, a good TV and Austar.

The motel had a saltwater pool and BBQ area, but we didn't use them. The motel was also pet-friendly, if you travel with pets.

The beds were quite new and very comfortable, and the linen was all clean and good quality. Even though it was adjacent to a fairly busy road we heard no road noise, so slept soundly!

The ensuite was fine, though we'd have loved some more clothes hooks to hang things up (a common problem with most motels!). The tiling, though old and repaired in one or two places, was clean. The shower was good and had plenty of hot water and pressure. Everything looked like it was maintained by someone who cared and wanted to show off what was there in the best way possible.

The motel was situated just a short drive from a number of eating places, so we had no problems finding somewhere for dinner.

In summary this is a very good value budget motel with exceptionally friendly service. If what you want is a clean, comfortable place to stay, with friendly hosts and a good night's sleep, book a room here! We'd have no hesitation using this motel again if we ever return to Narrabri, and would certainly recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pb1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a very standard motel for overnighting owned and operated by he most welcoming and friendly people. The rooms are absolutely spotless, yes..it is a modest place, but bed is fine, nice TV, plenty of room to turn and park with a boat or van.......perfect overnight stop. No microwave but toaster, kettle and fridge...all good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cynarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Narrabri hotels
1.5 mi away
Mid Town Inn Narrabri
Mid Town Inn Narrabri
#1 of 10 in Narrabri
150 reviews
5.2 mi away
Nandewar Motor Inn
Nandewar Motor Inn
#10 of 10 in Narrabri
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tommo's Motor Lodge
Tommo's Motor Lodge
#6 of 10 in Narrabri
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aalbany Motel
Aalbany Motel
#5 of 10 in Narrabri
47 reviews
1.4 mi away
Narrabri Big Sky Caravan Park
1.7 mi away
Adelong Motel
Adelong Motel
#4 of 10 in Narrabri
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaputar Motel - Narrabri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaputar Motel - Narrabri

Property: Kaputar Motel - Narrabri
Address: 22 Cooma Rd, Narrabri, New South Wales 2390, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Narrabri
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Narrabri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaputar Motel - Narrabri 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kaputar Motel is conveniently located 2.5 km from town, a simple few minutes to drive. It boasts a delightful crisp saltwater pool nestled amongst an Australian native garden. All thirteen rooms are meticulously clean and have access to a large veranda which makes it ideal for the end of a day with a classic Narrabri sunset and native birds chattering in the distance. With ample space for your trailer or boat you can rest assured of ease of parking. The Kaputar Motel is the ideal choice for those conscious of their hard earned dollar, but still require fabulous quality. Kerry & Bev welcome you to the Australian country with a smile a classic yarn that makes this property a truly unique and enjoyable experience on the Newell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Kaputar Motel - Narrabri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing