We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but on a busy highway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kaputar Motel - Narrabri
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Narrabri
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed one night on the way back from Brisbane. The rooms were clean but very old. The tv had good reception. We didn't have a booking and the lady at reception was very accommodating. We were given a small carton of fresh milk for tea and coffee which was welcome. It was a bit noisy because its on the main highway but after a long drive we slept well anyway. It was clean and had the basics, it was ok. We were not expecting more than what it was.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LucyOrangeNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 61 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

Well yes your on the hwy but considering the trucks that go past at night is is quiet. It could use a bit of money spent on it as it is an old hotel. I stayed in room 8 and I wouldn't recommend turning the air con on at night as it is a bit on the noisy side, glad for the brick walls as it did keep the cold winter Narrabri weather out.
The beds are firm and they have plenty of pillows in the room. The room appeared very clean ( cleaner than a lot of hotels I've stayed in ).
The guys that run the Motel are very friendly and helpful. If you need anything here you won't have a problem. I'd stay here again.

If you've read this review and it helped any please click the yes on the helpful question below. Thanks

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Flesh81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

When we arrived after a long day driving the manager greeted us very friendly and forthcoming. The hotels is located on a very busy highway so not so quiet but conveniently located. The rooms were quite old and small with the furniture definitely needing renovation. But reasonably clean and the bed is comfortable. So all in all ok but not very exciting. Certainly has seen better days. But good for a one night stay.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank Bernhard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way to Perth from Queensland.

The owner greeted us as though we'd been friends for years. Nothing was too much trouble. He's a retired West Australian politician and mayor and was a wealth of information. Take the time to have a chat! He and his wife made a great team.

We mentioned our daughter was also going to stay there the next evening on her way to Newcastle, and he upgraded her room at no cost! We know she really appreciated that and was surprised at the warm greeting she also received.

Before going to our room we asked about wi-fi and were given free access for our stay with a 500Mb data limit. That was more than adequate for catching up on emails and some internet searches, and was quite fast.

The units were all ground floor with easy access and wide verandas. The rooms were fairly basic, but spotlessly clean. We understand the motel was quite run down when these new owners purchased it and they're slowly replacing and upgrading things. Our standard twin room included a queen size bed and a single, air conditioning, direct dial phone, a good TV and Austar.

The motel had a saltwater pool and BBQ area, but we didn't use them. The motel was also pet-friendly, if you travel with pets.

The beds were quite new and very comfortable, and the linen was all clean and good quality. Even though it was adjacent to a fairly busy road we heard no road noise, so slept soundly!

The ensuite was fine, though we'd have loved some more clothes hooks to hang things up (a common problem with most motels!). The tiling, though old and repaired in one or two places, was clean. The shower was good and had plenty of hot water and pressure. Everything looked like it was maintained by someone who cared and wanted to show off what was there in the best way possible.

The motel was situated just a short drive from a number of eating places, so we had no problems finding somewhere for dinner.

In summary this is a very good value budget motel with exceptionally friendly service. If what you want is a clean, comfortable place to stay, with friendly hosts and a good night's sleep, book a room here! We'd have no hesitation using this motel again if we ever return to Narrabri, and would certainly recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pb1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a very standard motel for overnighting owned and operated by he most welcoming and friendly people. The rooms are absolutely spotless, yes..it is a modest place, but bed is fine, nice TV, plenty of room to turn and park with a boat or van.......perfect overnight stop. No microwave but toaster, kettle and fridge...all good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cynarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

It's one thing to stay in 'just another motel'. These owners/staff are just so welcoming. It is like meeting up with old friends every time I stay. Since the new owners took over the place, it has improved dramatically! It is much cleaner and I notice that they have continued to upgrade linen, beds and even the tv system. They are so obliging and very considerate. Yes, I know it is an old motel, but so are the others in town. But this one is CLEAN (some of the others leave a lot to be desired!) and after a long drive, such a joy to have a hot shower, then slide between the good linen and zzzzzzzz. Oh and if you like a cooked breakfast, the one they serve will set you up for the day - I know I'm a bloke who does a lot of physical work. Thanks Philip and Glacy, see you next time!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
4  Thank Nicholas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

One thing that other reviewers have not mentioned is that this hotel is pet friendly, for a mere 10 bucks a night extra you can have the four legged member of your family stay with you and its the only hotel in Narrabri that offers this service, on top of that all i have to say is, awesome, friendly owners and a fantastic brekky to fill you up for a long trip back to Melbourne!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Narrabri hotels
1.5 mi away
Mid Town Inn Narrabri
Mid Town Inn Narrabri
#1 of 10 in Narrabri
157 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nandewar Motor Inn
Nandewar Motor Inn
#10 of 10 in Narrabri
45 reviews
1.8 mi away
MAS Country Club Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Narrabri Big Sky Caravan Park
1.5 mi away
Centre of Town B&B
Centre of Town B&B
#2 of 6 in Narrabri
30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aalbany Motel
Aalbany Motel
#5 of 10 in Narrabri
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaputar Motel - Narrabri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaputar Motel - Narrabri

Address: 22 Cooma Rd, Narrabri, New South Wales 2390, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Narrabri
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Narrabri
Price Range: $69 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaputar Motel - Narrabri 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kaputar Motel is conveniently located 2.5 km from town, a simple few minutes to drive. It boasts a delightful crisp saltwater pool nestled amongst an Australian native garden. All thirteen rooms are meticulously clean and have access to a large veranda which makes it ideal for the end of a day with a classic Narrabri sunset and native birds chattering in the distance. With ample space for your trailer or boat you can rest assured of ease of parking. The Kaputar Motel is the ideal choice for those conscious of their hard earned dollar, but still require fabulous quality. Kevin & Linda welcome you to the Australian country with a smile a classic yarn that makes this property a truly unique and enjoyable experience on the Newell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Kaputar Motel - Narrabri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing