We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was a wonderful get-away place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Desert Retreat Camp
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This was a wonderful get-away place!”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The warmth and caring staff. The unusual experience of living in the desert. All you need in the desert was available and all arrangements were perfectly kept.We certainly recommend it. The beauty and tranquility of this place.

Room Tip: absolutely felt at home
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zifadina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    28
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
20
38
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
124 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Desert Retreat Camp is a relatively small camp with some 16 tents / units. It is located nicely on a flat area next to massive sand dunes some 21 km south of the village of Al Wasil, on the main road running north of Whaba Sands. The first 9 km are tarmac, the next 11 farily easy driving through gravel and some sand. Doable with a 2 wheel drive, but 4x4 is preferable. If you do not have a 4x4 or prefere to leave yur car at Al Wasil, Humaid, the owner will take you to the camp (for a fee a believe).

The camp is nicely set up with tents in Bedouin style, with carpets for walls and roof. Then most tents also have a small shower/WC unit with is well done for the local standard. We preferred to take our beds (quite good but on the hard side) outside as it was a nice clear night and on the hot side inside the tent.

Humaid welcomes his guests with fruit and coffee in a warm and low-key manner. All guest are seated in a covered and carpeted enclosure equipped with cushions. No western style chairs.

Humaid offers camel riding and dune-bashing in his large 4x4. Hi drives skillfully and has a good balance between thrill and safety.

Dinner was fairly standard chicken and lamb skewers and quite acceptable but not exceptionally great either. After dinner there was a campfire with coffee (Nescafe) and tea. Breakfast quite good with proper orange juice.

Nice stay overall, but would have appreciated a bit more "touch of Oman"; local coffee and dates after dinner would have been nice, halva as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smbjerke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

A true desert experience. We spent one night here and loved everything about the camp. Humaid is a great host and very interesting to talk to. The simplicity is its greatest asset, no pools, no noise, the generator is switched off at 21.00, and a beautiful setting make it a real wilderness getaway. Dune Bashing and camel riding highly recommended and we will certainly return again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Limershin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Great small camp some 16-20 tents - only about 16 people staying the night we stayed. Basic facilities, water and toilet but were assigned to each tent and were clean. Food was basic - a little bit of a let down, best part was the generater was turned off after dinner till the morning so we could enjoy sleeping under the stars in the middle of the desert. A lovely experience espescially the sand boarding! Hamid was a very good host and nothing was not too much trouble, would recommend as a true desert experience unlike the larger camps with bars and pools!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Camping in the desert for a night at this camp was one of my memorable memories of my holiday in Oman. The camp was around 25 km's from the Al Wasil Village. The welcome drink of coffee and fruit was a nice touch. Also went dune bashing and camel riding, you can arrange this when you reach the camp. The sunset was breathtaking to watch. The Bedouin style tents were comfortable to sleep in and the bathroom was spotless. The food was barbecued chicken/lamb with salad and rice - delicious. Staff were most helpful. Unlike other camps in the desert, this camp turned off its generator and in the evening, we sat around the campfire looking at the stars. Truly beautiful. Overall, a lovely camp, great people and a wonderful memory. I'd highly recommend a night in the desert with Desert Retreats.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I am an expat resident in Oman and visited here with my parents. Everything about the camp really is magical. We have visited the desert before in other countries but the welcome, the setting and the experience truly set this apart. I enjoyed it so much I went back the following week with friends, and cannot wait to go back again. Having the generators switched off at 9pm after a lovely meal and sitting in the silence of the desert truly is one of life's more special experiences. Take every opportunity that you can to talk to Humaid - he is welcoming, knowledgable and will tell you everything you need to know about the camp, the desert and Oman. Do also try the dune-bashing and the Bedu camp visit - the views and experiences will really add to an amazing time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alasdair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
124 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Most people spend just 1 night in Wahiba Sands or even do a day trip from Muscat. Bit of a shame as Wahiba is pretty spectacular.
Best times are sunrise and sunset over the dunes, and the night sky at Desert Retreat is most impressive, particularly as the generator is switched off at the end of dinner.
Pleasantly low key operation, best plan is to get to the gas station in al Wasil for 3pm, meet up with the owner and follow him out to the camp.
Camels, dune bashing and sand surfing are excellent activities and during the het of the day make the 45 minute trip to Wadi Bin Khalid to soak in the pools etc.
If you want a friendly, personal operation, Desert Retreat is as good as it gets in Wahiba.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foliumnondefluet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ghuwayfat al Habb
9.3 mi away
Al Raha Camp
Al Raha Camp
#1 of 3 in Ibra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
78.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Nizwa
Golden Tulip Nizwa
#1 of 6 in Nizwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
87.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
1000 Nights Camp
1000 Nights Camp
#2 of 8 in Wahiba Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
4.1 mi away
Desert Nights Camp
3.7 mi away
Arabian Oryx Camp
Arabian Oryx Camp
#3 of 8 in Wahiba Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Retreat Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Retreat Camp

Property: Desert Retreat Camp
Address: Al Wasil | 196, Ghuwayfat al Habb 421, Oman
Location: Oman > Ghuwayfat al Habb
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Ghuwayfat al Habb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Desert Retreat Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Desert Retreat Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing