We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AAA - Awesome, amazing, astounding”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Seal Swim Kaikoura

Seal Swim Kaikoura
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.20*
and up
Seal Swimming Tour from Kaikoura
Ranked #2 of 27 Tours in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: As Lonely Planet's 'Top Choice' for Kaikoura activities, swimming with New Zealand fur seals in the shallow bays of the beautiful Kaikoura Peninsula really is an experience that you don't want to miss. Tours take 2.5 hours and depart several times daily. No experience is necessary and all equipment is supplied. Many travellers site their seal swimming experience as a highlight of there New Zealand holiday. For more information contact us...
Westport, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“AAA - Awesome, amazing, astounding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

I can try to describe this amazing event, but truth be told: words can't capture it. Those beautiful seals swim a few centimetres in front of you, make little tricks and look right at you. The equipment provided by SealSwimKaikoura keeps you warm in the cold water - we were able to enjoy those lovely animals for an hour without getting cold, but time flies by too fast. If you are in Kaikoura (or close by) you should not miss this!
Another plus: the business is run by a family who does not try to take money for everything. They even send pictures taken of the seals underwater for free to you email. Worth every penny!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Knute88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    20
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“One of the best experiences in NZ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Since we really wanted to do the seal swim, we made a detour to Kaikoura so we could give it a go. But when we came to the meeting point in the morning, it turned out that the wheather was too bad to go swimming. The staff told us to come back in the afternoon, so that's what we did. Again, they were really honest and told us that we could give it a go if we wanted, but that they were not a 100% sure that we would be able to swim with seals. We did take the risk, since their refund policy is really good, we wanted to try and we had an amazing time! We swam with a couple of seals and it was just a really small group, which made it more fun. The company is family owned and I would recommend them to anyone: they give you honest and reliable advice, they are friendly and helpfull and it's their main goal to give people a nice time in Kaikoura, and that's exactly what we had!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank L V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Murky water blues”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We were booked for a 0930 swim but it was cancelled at 0830 due to the water being too murky. So of this is a 'must do' you need to allow that the swim may be cancelled. I appreciated the guides cancelling to prevent what could have been a disappointing tour/swim. As it was prepaid it may take several days to receive a refund.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaikoura, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Excellent day seal swimmimg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We had an amazing day seal swimming. The seals are so different in the water, very interactive with swimmers. The guides where awesome, and really great at helping us spot the cheeky seals that seemed to have great fun popping up behind us. I would definitely recommend seal swimming if you go to Kaikoura. Thanks again Greame and family for an awesome day out!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank KimCatJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

It was amazing! Wasn't going to do it initially but 100% glad that I did! They have like a 96% success rate of seeing seals, I thought we would only see a couple but there were quite a few that you get to swim with. Also saw some baby seals as well!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank NatashaJar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seal Swim Kaikoura also viewed

Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Seal Swim Kaikoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing