We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay”
Review of Blue Seas Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Seas Motel
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We spent a long weekend here recently and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was a good size, sunny and clean. The kitchen had a proper oven, which we required and a small table and chairs for eating. Outside was quiet with lovely views across the road to the sea and a table and chairs to sit in the sun and enjoy it. It was a 5 minute walk to The Pier Hotel and Green Dolphin restaurant, both of which we tried. It took about 20 minutes to walk into the main street of town, but it was a pleasant walk on a nice day. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sioux22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for Blue Seas Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 114 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

We found this very clean and comfortable, with good space. The owner was very friendly and helpful, with good recommendations. Just across from the ocean - fantastic. Very close to the seal colony. We were here on a rainy day, so have spent some time in the room, which is very comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Travelling in the shoulder season has its advantages. We got a great deal on a large, comfortable room with views front and side of the Kaikoura bay and mountains. Hosts were very friendly. Location is at the far end of Kaikoura, closest to the seal colony and peninsula walk, but it's still an easy walk to town. Highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mhcv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Having stayed at Kaikoura a few times and not finding all of the above in one hotel, it was such a relief to find the Blue Seas. No train or semi trailers rocking our room or having to choose between freezing or a noisy room heater or noisy pub patrons downstairs. Just a pleasant welcome, warm clean rooms and beachfront views. The full moon making a track across the bay was a special bonus. Kaikoura is a magical place for wildlife and a new favourite destination for the kids and now we have somewhere to stay with confidence.

Room Tip: Our family suite tucked in the corner of the L shaped block had plenty of room for 4 and was very qu...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diamondshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in unit #12. Large, clean studio with good kitchen facilities (although we would have appreciated a non-stick frypan!) and comfortable beds. Great soundproofing- nothing to interfere with the beautiful sound of the waves crashing on the beach right across the road. There was a nice little patio at the front door. We didn't have a car so it's a bit of a walk up from the Kaikoura iSite/InterCity bus stop but there's nice scenery along the way so no worries!. Our hosts were so friendly and helpful, giving us tips about walking the Peninsula Walkway at low tide (a great hike!) and the lady even drove us to into town to catch our bus out of Kaikoura. Had a wonderful stay and would recommend Blue Seas without hesitation.

Room Tip: Rooms 9-12 are in the modern addition and have better views. Room 13 is the closest to the road/beac...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BucketLister13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Austere and basic best describe this motel. It was clean. We stayed one room from the road and it was quiet. It is a long walk to town. They provide 20 mb, per STAY, for free. Wifi is weak unless you are close to the office. I thought the laundry was expensive....$3.00 per load for washing and the same for drying. But, at least they have the facility. Breakfast is almost a joke...two pieces of bread, juice, and a box of cereal.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My adult daughter and I stayed here three nights while doing a self drive through New Zealand. I had originally booked for two nights in their one bedroom unit but decided to add an extra night in Kaikoura. When I couldn't add an extra night on my reservation via Booking.com, I changed to the spa/studio with beachfront view and am so glad we did!

There is really only ONE unit that has a full view of the ocean and that is the studio with spa beachfront-number 14. Because two of the days we were in Kaikoura were filled with overcast skies and wind at hurricane forces we were glad to have the unit with the view but not having to be outside to enjoy it.
The hotel staff is wonderful and very helpful.

The hotel is located towards the end of the area where the other hotels are so its about a 20 minute walk into town if you don't have a car. The hotel is actually across the road from the ocean divided by a two lane road that goes through town and the beach area is rocky,full of a lot of kelp and wood.

The hotel reminded me of a lot of the hotels from the 60/70's and appears to have been redone in the bathroom only with a jacuzzi tub and shower head.The usual price of the unit is supposedly $190 but the owner had reduced it to $170 when I made the reservation on booking.com. I feel it was a bit overpriced but the view out of the studio was gorgeous . The kitchenette area had a french press,water kettle,stove and fridge and was well appointed. Our unit had a full bed along with a twin bed;small sofa and coffee table with two chairs/table to eat off of. There was a bench to view the ocean outside of the unit along with a table set right on the side of the unit.

Kaikoura is a beautiful town-enjoy and be sure to do the Whale watch tour!

Room Tip: Unit 14 is the only unit to really see the ocean! The parking spot in front of 14 is terrible so be...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momflys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.6 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.4 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.9 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
1.0 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Seas Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Seas Motel

Address: 222 Esplanade, Kaikoura, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range: $71 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Seas Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue Seas Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing