We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly clean value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly clean value for money”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The room was very clean and well equipped.Everything you want and more.The staff were friendly and made you feel welcome.Will definitely book again at this hotel.Kaikoura is beautifull and there is a lot to see and the stay was very good!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karinvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellaVistaKaikoura, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Kaikoura and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    89
    29
    4
    3
See reviews for
40
122
14
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Could only stay one night but made to feel very welcome and given loads of info by the hosts.
Given room on first floor and couldn't fault it, facilities were great, very clean and comfortable.
Have stayed in Bella Vista accommodation before and didn't feel it could be bettered but this definitely matched.
Great, if short, stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellaVistaKaikoura, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Many thanks for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our information helpful. Glad to hear the Bella Vista group is achieving our goal of being clean and consistent :) Safe travels and merry Christmas to you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Our first stay in a Bella Vista motel and we were not disappointed. The room was very clean and well equipped. Our hosts were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. The site is easy to find just on the main Christchurch road about 1 mile south of Kiakoura itself.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellaVistaKaikoura, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us a review, we appreciate it. Thanks for staying and glad you had a great time in Kaikoura. Happy travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We were a little disappointed with our accommodation at the Bella Vista Motel. We had booked superior room and were informed that we had been upgraded to a Spa room (i.e. one that had bath with bubbles) when we arrived. The room was on the ground floor and the route to the Reception passed by the window. The table and chairs outside the room also seemed to be one of the rare spots for Internet coverage. The room itself was very small and not very light. We made use of the limited cooking facilities but with no table and chairs had to have our meal on our laps. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. I suspect that from reading the other reviews, the choice of room is important. We found the location to be fine. Kaikoura is a lovely place to visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaidbackBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

One of the best accommodations we stayed in. Very comfortable and well equipped rooms, very clean and well maintained. Rooms are a little small but motel in good position and nice views. Very helpful and friendly management and great service.

Room Tip: Try an upstairs room with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellaVistaKaikoura, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to have you here to stay and hope you come again one day :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
188 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Bella Vista, Kaikoura. The room was large, clean and comfortable. The kitchen was very well equipped with everything you could need, and on top of all this, the views from the room across to the snow-capped mountains were magnificent. Penny and Josh, the Managers, were extremely friendly, helpful and generous hosts. The gardens were lovely. The hotel is close to town, walking access via a path next to the church, so close to everything - beach, restaurants, shops. We can't speak highly enough of this place.

Room Tip: I'm sure they're all good, but the upstairs rooms have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pasqualie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellaVistaKaikoura, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you kindly for your lovely review on our town, property and service :) it is feedback like this that makes our job so enjoyable. Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We booked for one night but stayed for two because the hotel was perfect for our needs. Near the town and beaches - rooms was large and comfortable beds, nice clean white linens and excellent shower - kitchen facilities always nice to have so we enjoyed a light supper and a good breakfast in our room for a change. Host Penny was very helpful and internet worked perfectly.

Room Tip: Farthest from the main road is the best but rooms were not noisy at all - BBQ available if you need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaClearwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellaVistaKaikoura, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to enter your review for us. So pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay :) Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.9 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#15 of 20 in Kaikoura
110 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
0.8 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
1.3 mi away
Admiral Court Motel
Admiral Court Motel
#8 of 20 in Kaikoura
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura

Property: Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Address: 45 - 47 Churchill Street, Kaikoura, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bella Vista Motel in Kaikoura has 18 units. Compact studios with tea and coffee making facilities, accessible units with microwaves, standard queen studios with kitchenettes, king studios with kitchenettes, Spa bath studio with a king bed and kitchenette through to 1 bedroom units with spa baths and cooking facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing