We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Penny's warm and gracious greeting took the edge off of our motel experience. In fact, the place was very clean and I finally got my washing done!

Josh even invited me over to chat in Japanese. I was shocked that he spent 4+ years there. We spent 30 minutes discussing our lives in Japanese. He's the chef at White Morph and perhaps the best cook on the south island. Best meal I've had to date...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny I, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Thank you for your review! It was really nice to meet you and your family. Josh enjoyed having someone to chat with in Japanese too, and appreciates your kind words about his cooking. Hope the rest of your trip is going well :)
P.S one of you left a charger here with multi adapter on it, if you call or email and give me a forwarding address I will send it on for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 216 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2012

I booked to stay in the Bella Vista motel on the basis of the positive reviews on Trip Advisor and I wasn't disappointed. The owners were so friendly, their advice was spot on and they couldn't have been nicer. The rooms are modern, clean and when I opened the curtains in the morning I saw snow-capped mountains. I would recommend this motel to my friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny I, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Thank you so much for coming to stay with us, it was an absolute pleasure having you here and hope to see you again in the future. So glad you got to see and enjoy everything Kaikoura has to offer. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Penny and Josh received us like friends! Including pick up at and return to the train station. Rooms were comfortable and immaculately clean. The town of Kaikoura is within easy walking distance and very pretty. Josh also is a chef at the White Morph restaurant in town - what a treat to taste his food. Just check out that restaurant if you want top quality. Thanks Penny and Josh, we loved our short stay in Kaikoura!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny I, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased you had a great time here and hearing back from you makes it all worth it :) We love our jobs and enjoy making your time here memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed for one night with our 2 preschool children, The room was immaculate and the managers were very friendly and knowledgable of the area. Would definately recommend the Bella Vista to friends and family looking for somewhere to stay in Kaikoura. Thanks Penny & Josh for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tobeck_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny I, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Thank you :) it was lovely to have you here and hope you can make it up again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Good accomodation is at a premium sometimes in Kaikoura, famous for its whale watching. The Bella Vista is a modern motel on the main highway, but not plagued by noise. It's not far to walk to the town centre, where there are restaurants, including the White Morph where the co-owner is the chef). Cooked or continental beakfast is available, and the owner provides a friendly manner and plenty of advice.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are probaly best from a noise viewpoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerryNZ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny I, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Thank you for your nice review. It is a pleasure to help all our guests and the best part of the job :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights during my tour of the south island. Very nice room, pleasant area and very quiet. Easy access to the beach and to the whale watch headquarters. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny I, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay in Kaikoura and I hope the rest of your South Island tour went great too :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We arrived without a booking and stayed in one of the cheaper rooms. The room was spotless, the bed very comfortable and the shower warm and powerful. The person at the desk was very welcoming and later very helpful. We thought we might have left a book behind which we later found in a bag - the staff had details of items left behind for the previous couple of days but also rechecked the room for us. Would definitely stay there again on another trip.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cajeNelson_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny I, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

I am so pleased you found your book! We keep a record of what is left behind and always take contact details to let eople know if things are left :) Would be great to see you again next time you are in Kaikoura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
351 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#14 of 20 in Kaikoura
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
413 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
#16 of 20 in Kaikoura
48 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura

Address: 45 - 47 Churchill Street, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range: $107 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bella Vista Motel in Kaikoura has 18 units. Compact studios with tea and coffee making facilities, accessible units with microwaves, standard queen studios with kitchenettes, king studios with kitchenettes, Spa bath studio with a king bed and kitchenette through to 1 bedroom units with spa baths and cooking facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing