We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Reviewed March 22, 2011

We stayed overnight in a studio very similar to all in The Bella Vista chain but this one was a little larger and boasted a microwave and kitchen sink.. Lovely welcome from the owners who made sure we had everything we needed. Double bed, 2 chairs, t.v., kettle (tea/coffee/biscuits etc) fridge and hairdryer. Nice clean and bright bathroom with good powerful shower. Heating/air con. Plenty of parking and although on main road was quiet at night, Rather a long way out of town but no problem to take car in - Dinner at Robbies Bar and Bistro.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mazza-500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 202 of 216 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2010

Stayed one night in Kaikora, was in town for whale watching. The staff at the Bella Vista could not have been more friendlier and helpfu. They provided helpful dining tips and even loaned me an umbrella as it was forecast to rain.
The room was simple but very clean and with all the conveniences necessary. Breakfast was tastefully presented with juice in a glass in the fridge and fruit in a bowl along with breads for toasts.
Ask for a room on the second floor near the back, away from the road and with a marvelous view!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrottertoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2010

We had a kingsize room with kitchenette. It was clean, well appointed and the owner was friendly and helpful. It was a little more expensive than other rooms of similar quality (and often more space) that we stayed in but I would recommend it as a comfortable and pleasant base from which to explore Kaikoura. I would also recommend Donegal House (The Irish pub) for dinner. We had a first class meal there at quite a reasonable price - one of the best we had during our 3 week holiday in New Zealand. I can also recommend the secondhand bookshop in Kaikoura. Well organised with lots of choice.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChumOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

This was one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed at! Our party was comprised of two families and the rooms were large enough to accomodate all members. Being able to have the kids to sleep in their own rooms was a great feature. I would not describe the rooms as plush and there was little by way of decoration, but they were comfortable and airy. While, not on the main street, the hotel is only a few minutes drive from the whale watching company, the sea lions, and some great restaurants. While I applaud our hosts envirnomental consciousness, I wish they had not seemed so suspicious of extra requests for items such as towels and paper products. Having seen other available accomodations once we were there, I think this is a very resonable choice.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LookOut1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2010

One of our stops along the east coast of NZ. We spent a couple of days diving in Kaikora and found this place very nice and friendly. It is off the main drag, but within few minutes walking you are on the waterfront. Rooms are spacious, new and comfortable. The kitchen was adequate for cooking our catch, and the staff was very helpful. Definetaly recommend this place as a reasonably priced base for Kaikora adventures.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ymichalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2009

Very clean and cosy room. The room is very new and the bed is very comfortable. Very friendly service.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olivebread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2008

Stayed here for two nights at the end of March. Very nice owner! Really liked the location, because it was on a nice quiet residential street and convenient to park in the lot and walk down to center of town. Yes, the footpath is steep, but nothing extreme in my opinion (maybe I'm not the best judge, as I live in San Francisco!) It'll take about 10 min. If you do need to drive to the downtown, there is some limited free parking but also pay lots.
The room was small but very clean. The owner lent us a cable to use for our laptop. All rooms are wired for Broadband service and the internet rates were pretty reasonable. Bathroom was spacious in comparison to the rest of room; nice modern amenities and shower. Loved having a towel warmer!
I hope to return!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank madmonkey718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
350 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#15 of 20 in Kaikoura
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
#16 of 20 in Kaikoura
48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
413 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura

Address: 45 - 47 Churchill Street, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range: $106 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bella Vista Motel in Kaikoura has 18 units. Compact studios with tea and coffee making facilities, accessible units with microwaves, standard queen studios with kitchenettes, king studios with kitchenettes, Spa bath studio with a king bed and kitchenette through to 1 bedroom units with spa baths and cooking facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing