We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$132
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Koura Bay Lodge(Kaikoura)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Seas Motel(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
$87
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manakau Lodge(Kaikoura)
$186
$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
$52
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$166
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$148
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Inn Motel(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaview Motel(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
$78
$68
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveler rating
120
91
16
3
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
91
16
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa baththe main roadmodern motelroad noiseclose to towngood sizegreat place to staywould definitely stay here againfull kitchenswimming poolwhale watchingshort walkbars and restaurantscouple of nightstwo bedroom apartmentfirst floorone night stay
Filter
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 236 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here for two nights and would liked to stay longer. Lovely accommodation - big main room with everything you need kitchen area, sofa and king size bed. The bathroom was just as impressive. Highly recommended. A bit of a walk to the town but acceptable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Bodilly3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed here just one night on an overall journey from Palmerston North to Christchurch and although i just needed a bed to sleep of a migrain, this accomodation was well above expectation. The room was spotless and had everything i needed. The owners were lovely and really wanted to please. Last year i must have stayed in 30+ motels and this was the nicest. Will definately be back and will tell everyone about my experience.
Mark
Easigrass NZ

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We traveled Australia and New-Zeland for 5 weeks in October/November 2012 and stayed in many hotels.. The New-Zeland was the last part of that trip and we were on a tight schedule having only 11 days to tour the country. The Gateway Motor Lodge has been a surprise with the warm welcome from the owner and the quality of the accomodation. All was perfect and we kept a very good souvenir of our stop in Kaikoura

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank BernardBl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We recently stayed the night in a 1 bedroom unit. We were really impressed by the cleanliness and large size of the rooms, the huge bathroom with spabath and how modern and comfortable the place was.
There was no issue with road noise at all.

The pool was loved by our kids, it was so warm and sheltered from the wind. We walked into town which was an easy 5 minutes plus a huge playground is right across the road for the kids.

On check in and checkout the owners were super friendly and very pleasant to deal with.

I would certainly recommend staying here to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room lower floor right at the farthest end from the main road and straight across from the pool. Was a very good room in the complex.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Nathnz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Recently spent 2 nights here with family. Excellent location, an easy walk from the town but not too close. We thought that traffic noise may be a problem due to the motel actually being on State Highway 1 but we heard no noise at all. The pool was lovely and clean and the rooms well appointed and spotless. The kitchen was well equipped and I liked the touch of having your own table and chairs outside of your room.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Nessmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews