We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really yummy pies”
Review of Why Not Cafe

Why Not Cafe
Ranked #18 of 58 Restaurants in Kaikoura
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really yummy pies”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We wanted to save money on breakfast by grabbing some pastries and a takeaway coffee each. This place hit the spot with its delicious pies.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelliell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    83
    47
    11
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

it was nice to get here and be able to buy a great variety of food. Me and my son ate lunch than took back chicken pizza to heat up in the microwave. so worth it, it was delicious. Cakes and hotdogs just melt in your mouth. Whilst strolling down the main street be sure to call in for a coffee and maybe a bite to eat. Something for everyone , homemade and better than mcdonalds by far

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Komodojj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleair, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great come back!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We first visited the Why Not Cafe' in 1998 after reading a good review in the Lonely Planet. We really enjoyed the fresh food, coffee and warm service. A few years after our first visit to Kaikoura, we decided to purchase a vacation property in Kaikoura and the Why Not became one of favorite places for breakfast or lunch. Sadly, a few years back there was an ownership change and the overall quality began a slow but noticeable decline. We still would visit the cafe' but it had lost that caring touch we had come to appreciate. I visited the Why Not a few weeks back and was so pleased to see some changes...new, local ownership...a crisp new painted look...new tables & chairs...a sparkling new kitchen area...smiling faces serving fresh and good tasting food...Good on ya Danny and Wendy Smith!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Best Seafood Chowder in town.....so the sign read”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Kaikoura is renound for its seafood. Kiakoura in part means crayfish. Signs for seafood chowder are abound all along the coast, so the sign on the footpath stated "Best seafood chowder"... With this statement I saw no reason to try the seafood chowder elsewhere.

It came in a good sized bowl. What do you expect with a seafood chowder.....crusty bread??? It came with a small mass produced white bread roll that had been microwaved to death. How hard is is to serve with some crusty bread?

The bowl was just a big serve of "GOOP" as my wife said. There was hardly any seafood to be found, in fact what there was plenty of was what we call seafood extender or crab sticks or processed seafood glued together with a red dye applied to look like crab. I'd say it was basically a bowl of fish stock, corn flour and cream. No seafood.

I was very disappointed!! You put a sign on the footpath saying BEST SEAFOOD CHOWDER then I expect you to deliver!!! You've made the claim.

Give this one a wide berth.....the rest of the menu? No comment I didn't try it.

As they in NZ sux (5+1=sux hey bro)

Sorry but this is an honest review, if you think I'm being hash read my other reviews and see that I'm honest. Give credit where credit is due!!

If you are the owner of this restaurant please tell me your secrecy recipe!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Melmain62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, NZ
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Brunch - mixed review”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for brunch having not read any reviews. The service was initially good, the staff efficient and the menu suitable. The coffees were fine. The French toast was enjoyed. However, the eggs benedict was disappointing. The eggs were solid, not runny and the sauce did not taste like Hollandaise. No one came back to ask if the meals were OK.
We would not go back for brunch but perhaps for a different meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cajeNelson_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Why Not Cafe also viewed

Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Why Not Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing