We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the food! Amazing!”
Review of Why Not Cafe

Why Not Cafe
Ranked #19 of 58 Restaurants in Kaikoura
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
1 review
“Love the food! Amazing!”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Called in on way through Kaikoura and had easily the best chocolate raspberry brownie ever! Should have asked for the recipe! Was a cold day but all their delicious fresh food and great coffee really filled and warmed the belly. Easily recommend...love love love!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeeWhyChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    85
    47
    11
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Timaru, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW!!! What a Change !! Go New Owners”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We make the Why Not Cafe a stop travelling north, with our family as handy location , always get a park and Clean toilets, This weekend we travelled through, and WOW!!! , new food selection, freshly painted, great tasting coffee, friendly staff, and new owners who are bringing the heart and soul back into this Cafe , keep up the fantastic work, and Readers Check it out for yourself :O) The Why Not Cafe , Why Not?

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank H h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“I'd ask "Why?"”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Easily the worst place we ate during a 17-day trip. We had a late breakfast. Porridge was awful, as was the muesli. The fruit that came with the latter was straight out of a tin. The coffee was honestly the only bad cup we had the whole trip, and it was truly bad. And the most expensive, to add insult to injury. Avoid this place like the plague - there must be better in Kaikoura.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EastSussexToad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“breakfast menu”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Friendly counter worker, but unfortunately my breakfast plate was cold making my breakfast cold before it reached me.... eggs benedict needs a little more effort for the cost.... perhaps some spinach. :)

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elaine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,102 reviews
474 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,647 helpful votes
“Good coffee”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We called in for our morning coffee fix and were pleasently surprised, quirky decor and interesting photo's on the wall. Good coffee, tasty muffins and friendly staff a good find.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lindakthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Why Not Cafe also viewed

Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Why Not Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing