We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent good, excellent service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maxtons Restaurant - CLOSED

Maxtons Restaurant
Price range: $12 - $45
Cuisines: European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Maxtons Restaurant is located within the Kaikoura Boutique Hotel on the waterfront, entrance through the courtyard. Maxtons is only small so we recommend you make a reservation to avoid disapointment.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent good, excellent service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Ate here 2 nights out of 3 whilst staying at Boutique Hotel. Finest steak of my stay in NZ! Nice venison also. Good value.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chopwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    15
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the Best Meals in NZ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We chanced upon Maxton's when we were in Kiakoura at the end of Jan. The service was excellent and the food out of this world. Having spent three weeks touring New Zealand we can honestly say the meal was one of the best we had. Try it for yourselves.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 186424John_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We ate here both nights we were in Kaikoura as the food was so good and excellent value. The fairly new owners/chef offer a freshly cooked meal with fresh vegetables or salad attractively presented and tasting even better. We felt this was the best restaurant in the resort but only caters for smallish numbers as the kitchen is small and chef likes to maintain his high standard. So booking is advisable

Helpful?
Thank Richjill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Outstanding small restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Located in the Kaikoura Boutique Hotel, Maxtons serve simple dishes superbly cooked. The vegetables were cooked to perfection - ie very little. A small but good selection of wines, and attentive service

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank WeeJohnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“ate there twice for dinner during our 2 night stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

that's how much we loved the place. The chicken was actually the best i've ever had. My hubby has the steak the first night and loved it as well. The second night i had the fish special and my hubby had the chicken. Another great meal. If you are staying in Kaikoura, do NOT miss this restaurant!!! We got to chat with the owners as well and they are super warm and friendly people.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarlandElaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maxtons Restaurant also viewed

 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing