We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food, pretty setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Maxtons Restaurant - CLOSED

Maxtons Restaurant
Price range: $12 - $45
Cuisines: European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Maxtons Restaurant is located within the Kaikoura Boutique Hotel on the waterfront, entrance through the courtyard. Maxtons is only small so we recommend you make a reservation to avoid disapointment.
Denver CO
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“excellent food, pretty setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We ate here at the recommendation of our B&B owner. It's part of a hotel, the restaurant is fairly new.
The food was excellent, well prepared and presented. We had fish and venison for dinner, both were excellent. The restaurant is very well decorated and the cost was less than similar restaurants. Recommend it highly

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andycski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    15
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sweet family feel restaurant within hotel. Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for one night as part of a packaged deal. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food and loved meeting the couple running the place. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonofon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allschwil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dinner in Kaikoura”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

I selected this restaurant as it was part of the hotel that I was staying and this was a good decision. I had some excellent fish with a good Sauvignon Blanc in a lovely setting. Highly recommended.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank FelixKAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Anau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We had a christmas function here and I was most impressed by the quality and portion size of the food and the attentive personal customer service. I highly recommend trying out this sweet little restaurant.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank PiperLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hokitika, New Zealand
1 review
“Best Resturant in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We visited Kaikoura for a lovely long weekend and we dined in a few of the local resturants.
We loved the food and the service at Maxton's so much we went back two nights in a row!
Our favourite dishes were the local crayfish and the mussels. With the view of the ocean from the table, the setting is perfect for a fantastic meal. The service is freindly and personal, we are already planning our next weekend to Kaikoura and the first thing we will book is a table at Maxtons!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marj and Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maxtons Restaurant also viewed

 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing