We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleanest place ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kaikoura Cottage Motels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Comfy, friendly, and the cleanest place I have ever been to. It is very quiet and affordable. The garden is nice. There is a laundry room for self-service. I would stay there again. Kaikoura is a must.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma_StCugat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 205 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

Sadly we only stayed one night. This was the best place we stayed throughout N.Z. We would recommend this to anyone. The cottage was beautifully clean and comfortable. The heater had been turned on waiting for our arrival. The owners went out of their way to be helpful and provided as much detail as we could ever have wished for. Even though it backs on to a main road there was no road noise.
We couldn't fault the cottages.
Hillary

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed one night and wished we had been there for a few more days. The view from the front porch over to the mountains was magic and to sit out there in the afternoon sun was so relaxing. Very chilly night but little cottage warmed up beautifully and the bed was lovely and comfy. Basic bathroom facilities but quite adequate for our needs. Had asked for access unit due to husband's walking difficulties and he managed the shower fine. Spotlessly clean. Nice fish and chip shop just down the road if you don't want to drive to town, which is a wee way away. Raewyn, you are a great hostess and we appreciated your warmth and helpfulness.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WetaRotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

stayed there for one night with my wife and baby.
the cottage was very tidy and convenience with a nice living room with a big screened TV and a big balcony.
the hosts were very nice.
all in all a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yaron1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed here for only one night on our travels. We booked a more private unit and it had a great porch facing a private grassy yard with wonderful mountain views. Nice for happy hour. Raewyn was a great hostess and greeted us warmly, giving us wonderful tips for our one day stay.
The unit was very clean and had everything you would need. The bath was a little barebones, but fine. It was chilly at night and the wall heaters worked fine. This place would be great for a longer stay. It is a little way out of town, but perfectly fine if you have a vehicle. We were able to take a fantastic coastal cliff/beach walk and visit a lavender farm before stopping at the store, then heading back to enjoy happy hour and cook our meal. We had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khootie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Four of us stayed here for 1 night while in Kaikoura and were very impressed. The hosts were excellent and we had a laugh, they also had some good recommendations. A little out of town but still close enough. The cottages have really nice gardens, perfect for a spot of sunbathing after your wildlife activities. Cottages are well equiped and very clean. The DVD collection is also great!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew_Kellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed at these lovely little cottages many times during our annual South Island motorcycle tour. Excellent sized very clean rooms. On our last visit the owner even offered us the use of his vehicle to go into town for dinner as it was pouring with rain, also offered to dry our wet motorcycle gear.
Stunning views of Kaikoura ranges from back units on a clear day. A nice fish & chip/takeaway shop 100m down the road

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harrier19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
2.3 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
2.5 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Suites Kaikoura
Quality Suites Kaikoura
#1 of 20 in Kaikoura
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Brook House B&B & Cottages
Brook House B&B & Cottages
#10 of 32 in Kaikoura
94 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
1.9 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Cottage Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Cottage Motels

Address: Corner Old Beach Road | Mill Road and State Highway 1, Kaikoura 7371, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range: $106 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaikoura Cottage Motels 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Kaikoura Cottage Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing