We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
229 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Nice place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

We had a great stay, location is convenient, close to town and a few minutes walk to the beach. The holiday park itself is nice, with a great spa pool and very friendly people at the reception. The units are nice, separated from other units, and the furniture is well maintained. A little bit noisy because the holiday park is located between the main road (with trucks passing by all night) and the railway (diesel fuelled trains passing by several times a day&night), but the noise is not extreme. The only downsides were that the room (we didn´t know if it was the cleaning product or the pipes under the sink) & the fridge was a bit smelly , the rooms were not completely clean (some hair from previous guests in the bathrooms and under pillow cases), and comparing to other Top 10s around the country, this one could be about $10-$15 cheaper for the motel units. We had a good stay though, and unless we find something cheaper at this level (family holidays) next time, we would go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiegoUG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Hi there,
Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback. While there are some positives in this review, of definite concern is your comment on cleanliness. We strive to maintain our 5 star Qualmark Holiday Park standard and I apologise that during your stay your expectations were not met. We keep a record of all cleans on each room. If it is possible we would really appreciate some more information, please feel free to email me at philippa@kaikouratop10.co.nz with the date you stayed and room number or you guest name, this way we can double check the fridge and pipes you mentioned and give some extra cleaning training as it sounds like it is required. Once again, we apologise and we hope you will give us another try when you return to Kaikoura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    130
    62
    20
    12
See reviews for
122
162
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

We just booked a one night in a cabin. Pretty small with just a bed & a table in it, however it wasn't too much of a problem for one night as we were only passing through. Reasonably expensive at $80 (own bedding supplied). No real complaints-the cabin was clean & tidy, bed comfy, the facilities good, and location suited us after driving from Picton directly after coming off the afternoon ferry.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thanks for the review Sue, we appreciate it :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Jan & Barry Parsonage (UK) stayed here in Feb 2014 and were very impressed with the help with local excursions given by the staff. Motel room very comfortable and good facilities. Convenient location for fantastic whale watching cruise.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BarryandJan40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Hi there Jan and Barry,
Thanks for the lovely feedback, we're glad to hear you were happy with both staff service and your motel. We hope if you ever come back to NZ you'll visit us again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

This was our first Top-10 stay, so we didn't have much to compare it to. The location is good. Be aware that a train track is right beside the park, however it never disturbed us. Beach access is difficult because you have to go a long ways around to get to a safe place to cross the tracks. Also, be aware that the beach close by is not really safe for swimming due to the currents and surf.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaporteFoggman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Glad to hear you were happy with our location. The first access to the beach, without crossing any tracks is a left out of our Park and less than 100 metres. It is a lovely beach for a walk with great views out across the Pacific ocean and with a stunning mountain backdrop. For swimming access please see staff at reception who can recommend the safest areas, these are also outlined on our Park map. Hope you’ve enjoyed your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Heart sank somewhat as I drove into another not immediately appealing Top 10 site with sometimes noisy railway blocking access to beach on one side and State Highway on the other. However, the pitch for our motorhome was much larger than we had resigned ourselves to, given a fortnight touring South Island. Nice views back towards hills. Also on the plus side, staff were friendly and helpful, and facilities satisfactory. We enjoyed our two nights, including walk to town centre, along prom and then round the peninsular.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you for your feedback – we appreciate all opinions and take them onboard. Beach access is a quick walk out of our Park and past the Whale Watch building, just a couple of minutes. We’d love to have direct access but this is not currently possible. It is good to hear you were happy with the size of your site and the views, a real bonus for us here! Our staff will be very pleased to hear such positive feedback, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
123 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Had 2 nights here, which bearing in mind the cost being higher than other 'Top 10s' at $48 per night was a bit costly, but of course you are paying for the location and in fairness it is ideally placed for the town and whale watching.
They do have a fabulous well equipped and large kitchen come dining area, and a great tv lounge along with a games room and heated pool, oh and a hot tub, unfortunately too chilly outside to use for us soft English!
We were there at the same time as a reasonable sized Motorhome tour group aswell as a large school children group, so the facilities were over stretched to say the least, but given it's bonus of walking across the railway line at the back to get to the whale watching, it's pretty good.
Personally I do have a real problem with sleeping with noise, but in truth yes I heard the train and the traffic, but compromise is the name of the game.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fovant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Park. We take a lot of consideration into our pricing to and we constantly review our prices to ensure we are fair. Prices will vary between Parks, we know some are cheaper at this time but some other TOP 10 parks are the same price and our Park is currently still in high season. I thank you for your comments though. I’m glad to hear it sounds like you made use of all our great facilities on offer. I know the date you are referring to – it was particularly busy so staff we made aware to check on facilities throughout the day and evening to keep facilities tidy and check for any issues – the school group had private use of a conference room but when we are busy, there can be a short wait for showers, hopefully not too long though  We do find guests enjoy the buzz of the busy season and we hope you enjoyed your time in Kaikoura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
338 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Only stayed here one night but it is an excellent site, well situated near a lovely beach. The staff were very friendly and helpful, recommending two local restaurants. A quiet site, too far to walk into town, but otherwise, excellent. The nearby bar/restaurant was good value for an evening meal, basically pub grub.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Francis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Hi there,
Thanks so much for taking the time to give us such great feedback :) We are a 300 metre walk to the town centre, but perhaps you are referring to the other end of town, heading to New World supermarket - this is a longer walk, 15 minutes or so :) Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.9 mi away
The White Morph
The White Morph
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
#16 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park
0.8 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
0.6 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park

Property: Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Address: 34 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While visiting Kaikoura come and stay at our centrally located, award-winning Holiday Park and Motel. Just 300 metres from the town centre we are the perfect base whilst exploring Kaikoura, head out on foot to local tours, shops, restaurants and cafes. Kaikoura TOP 10 Holiday Park offers a range of quality, affordable accommodation options to suit everyone and every budget. In addition, we offer motel accommodation with a difference - relax and unwind in park surroundings with a welcoming atmosphere of open spaces, landscaped grounds and stunning mountain vistas while still enjoying the benefits of quality, comfortable motel units. . Choose from our 4-star Qualmark rated motels or our cabins or for those travelling in motorhomes we also offer sites in our 5-star Qualmark rated Holiday Park.We pride ourselves on being able to offer some of the best motel accommodation options and service in Kaikoura. Not only do we offer quality and comfort in a park-like setting but we also have excellent, modern facilities that you won’t find anywhere else in Kaikoura. Along with Wi-Fi and SKY Guest Select 50+ channels in every motel and freeview in cabins, we also have fantastic family facilities including an adventure playground with the popular jumping pillow, heated outdoor pool, private hot tub, games room, TV lounge and fun bikes for hire. With so much on offer it’s a wonderful chance for you to enjoy your holiday your way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing