We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sunrise Lodge(Kaikoura)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sails Motel(Kaikoura)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (432)
Filter reviews
432 results
Traveler rating
180
150
67
23
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
150
67
23
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomheated pooldeluxe cabintrain linewhale watchingpowered siteplay groundgreat facilitiescamper vanself contained unitcamping groundthe kitchenhot waterclean facilitieswalking distanceclose to townthe main road
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
257 - 262 of 432 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This campervan park is clean, with a nice kitchen, and good facilities. The location is close to Kaikora town centre, which is very nice and the beach also is nearby. However, it is adjacent to the railroad tracks, which can be quite loud at night.

Room Tip: Not all of the campervan sites are the same - try to ask for one that doesn't back up to the train tracks.
Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank davecolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Hi there,
Thanks for the positive review – it’s great to hear that you were happy with our facilities and the cleanliness of them. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Kaikura is a popular first stop for campervans from Christchurch. The Top10 is fine - nothing terribly exciting. They have a big jumping pillow for the little ones and they are right across the street from a beautiful beach.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ijrobertson1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Hi there,
Thanks for the feedback – excellent to hear the little ones enjoyed our playground. In April we have an extension coming to playground – a new swing set, as we had guest recommendations to add these and so we have, and an exciting new interactive game, fun for the whole family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Good basic facilities but naff location sandwiched between railway (stops you getting to beach and whale watch building) and main road (noisy all night). If ever stay in Kaikoura again will stay in fat nicer end up towards walkways where there are good restaurants

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StaresDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Hi there. Unfortunately, the railway does run near to our park and all other accommodation along Beach Road in Kaikoura. This issue can't be helped on our part but it is a trade off for our great, central location - a quick walk to the town centre, to the ocean, to Whale Watch Kaikoura and to great restaurants just 300 metres down the road. We have found a small number of guests are affected by the train. Luckily, there are very few trains with the noise only lasting momentarily. We apologise that this affected your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We parked up with our camper van for one night and we very specifically asked at reception for a quiet pitch and was assured they all are. Well they are NOT. The site is narrow and sandwiched between the highway - with heavy lorry traffic at night and unknown to us is literally right beside the railway line and yard. Well they moved a lot of rail freight that night. It was HORRENDOUS. Dreadful night and by far the worst site in 3 months of touring. If you love NZ and want a peaceful site - its NOT this one. Should have asked for our money back. Good location for train and helicopter enthusiasts.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ForrestCornwallUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

I apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us - As you mentioned, as per other reviews, yes we are located along Beach Road, the main road of Kaikoura, as are a lot of the accommodation options in Kaikoura. It is a shame that the train noise disturbs some guests but we do believe our central location also has some great benefits - an easy to find location, 2 minute walk to town centre, shops and restaurants and in particular close to Whale Watch Kaikoura. The road traffic dramatically reduces at night, the trains are there but usually only 1-3 times a night and only last for 20-30 seconds, they are very short trains compared to overseas trains and luckily it is not a constant noise but we do appreciate that this does disturb some guests. I can't comment on the site you were on as I'm not sure of the number but I apologise that you felt staff didn't put you on a quiet pitch. I hope you otherwise enjoyed the rest of your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This is a really nice Top 10, we'd stayed in another and visited another and it seems much nicer. The staff were very friendly and helpful, one chap going out to buy some clothes pegs when it turned out a previous customer had nicked off with the supply. The toilets were kept nice and clean. The studio we had was pleasant and fairly secluded. One big bonus is the on site hot tub - you book it out for private use (for free) and it's a really nice private experience in a high quality wooden tub! The heated pool was also lovely for a morning dip. The accommodation was conveniently located for the town.

The only downside is that it's right next to the railway line - I mean RIGHT next to it! We had unit 50 which had a view right across the railway sidings - sleepers just outside our window! We're deep sleepers so it didn't stop us having a good night's sleep, but on the first night I did awake terrified at about 11pm when I though an earthquake was happening, but it turned out to be a train pulling in!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolineWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Hi there,
Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. I’m sorry to hear you were disturbed by some train noise – luckily they are only a gentle rumble which only last for a few moments, (maybe 30 seconds) but we do understand this can disturb some guests, however I’m glad you found our central location a benefit. We are glad to hear some positive feedback on your stay too – thanks for this feedback! Hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews