We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay at Kaikoura Top 10”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Stay at Kaikoura Top 10”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Excellent Facilities,Superb Cleanliness,Warm welcome by staff. Very spacious and well set out facilities,childrens playground very well maintained. Swimming Pool ideally situated and kept nice and clean.

Room Tip: Well set out,easily accessable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank algie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    134
    62
    20
    12
See reviews for
126
166
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed here last minute and found the staff extremely helpful. We had a few issues with our van (as we had no power supply) and they did everything they could to help us. In the end we had to go for a cabin, and we were very happy with what we had. The bathrooms were lovely and big, with heaters and lots of space.
The beds were very comfortable, and the room was a great size with lots of room for us to be able to make dinner.
The holiday park is also in a great location, with views of the mountains and close to the beach and whale watch tour.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Hi Hollie,
Thanks for taking the time to post this feedback, we really appreciate it. Glad that after trying to sort out a power chord we were able to help you instead with a unit for the night - and it's wonderful to hear you had a nice stay in that unit and enjoyed our location. Hope to see you back here someday. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Having stayed at HANMER SPRINGS ($ 149.-) and CHRISTCHURCH ($ 159.-)we found KAIKOURA 'poor': no lights at bedsite , 'antique' plumbing in bathroom(no 'mixing' cold/hot water, no spare toilet paper, general impression :'old and 'run down' , but comparing prices with the 2 other aforementioned at $ 180.- (and charging a kid at $ 20.- additionally!!)a real RIP OFF!\
Besides: 'noisy' location , absolutely NOT worth the money they are charging.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Dieter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Hi there,
We do appreciate your comments and are grateful for the opportunity to explain. It is our policy to charge for children and we do advertise this. We feel that we can't be held accountable for other TOP 10’s choosing not to charge for a child in this case. The rate you paid when you booked online was for a two bedroom family motel, we also have cheaper family accommodation options, dependent on availability. I have been into the two bedroom family unit today - there is definitely a spare toilet roll holder but perhaps it was mistaken for a toilet brush holder, I apologise that this wasn’t clear. I agree with you on the bedside lights and as an interim solution am heading to the shops today to purchase two lamps. Thank you for taking the time to review us, we have carefully considered your review and have taken action accordingly. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We looked at a few caravan parks and thankfully chose Kaikoura Top 10.
Great location - walking distance to main street restaurants, whale watching and beach.
They owners were friendly and very proud of their park - facilities were clean and modern!
Highly recommended by us and we'll return again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacq23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

During our recent three-week road trip of New Zealand we stayed in numerous Top 10s around the country, but this one had to be our favourite. The staff were incredibly welcoming and friendly, the facilities very well maintained and the location excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthe451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thanks for a TOP review! We are delighted to receive this and as we know how fantastic our fellow TOP 10 Parks are we take this as a real compliment. We pride ourselves on our customer service and it is our aim to continually keep the Park modern and maintained so it’s excellent to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. Hope to see you again someday, hope you had a great trip around NZ. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had a wonderful 2 night stay here last weekend. The place is very well maintained and the 2 bedroom family motel unit we stayed in was great. The fully fenced wee outdoor area was a real bonus with an under 1 year old who's crawling everywhere! Our two girls aged 10 and 7 had an absolute blast on the jumping pillow, riding the fun bikes and swimming in the pool.
From time of arrival thru to check out i found the reception staff to be incredibly friendly and helpful. I asked a couple of questions they weren't sure of during our stay and they took the time to find the answers for me and come round to our unit to explain in person which was much appreciated.
Only negatives for me - $10 for half an hour hire of the spa, probably a bit on the steep side, $10 for an hour hire of the fun bike, again probably a tad steep (that said when our girls went back a second time the next day they were given the bike for an hour for free which was a nice touch and also much appreciated). Also i found the pool temperature rather cold but maybe i'm just getting old, the kids loved it so no real complaints there.

All in all we had a fantastic time and have already booked our next trip back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Hi there Greg,

Thank you very much for this review. We are so glad to hear that your family had a great stay with us and that they kids were kept thoroughly entertained during your stay. We are also glad to hear that you were impressed with our staff; they’ll all be really pleased to hear that. We look forward to having you stay again – and hopefully we’ll have warmer weather so that the pool doesn’t feel so cold – it sits at about 25 – 27 degrees maintained by a heat pump, and as the weather heats up the solar panels increase this temperature too. I can appreciate your comments on the price of spa hire and bike hire and will pass this onto our director as an insight. Thank you for passing this on, appreciate any feedback. Take care and we’ll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We booked here - 2 adults and our 4 yr old grandson in our 7 mtr bus for a single night. I got a bad vibe from the man at the counter right away and wish we had just asked for our money back there and then and found somewhere more welcoming. We were treated with cursory attention - I noticed this with another customer too - we were shown a map with our site. Given we had a child and I was on crutches with a broken ankle I asked if we could stay a little closer to the toilet block. Given there were few other guests I would have thought this a reasonable request but it was greeted w an exasperated sigh and a sarcastic reply. We headed off in the wrong direction and he merely watched from the window not coming and explaining his directions. We have stayed all over the country in our bus and this was THE most expensive place we have stayed. They advertise wi fi, spa etc but why would you pay top dollar to stay when everything advertised including laundry is an extra inflated add-on cost. We were kept awake most of the night because the site we were given in an almost empty camp ground was right alongside a train track - hidden in daylight. We will not be staying in any Top 10 holiday camps again ( oh another thing - we were told rudely that there was no discount for our NZMA membership and then got visibly annoyed when we declined to subscribe to a Top 10 Holiday Camp membership discount card. ) we have found some delightful and friendly small and privately owned camps and some fabulous DOC sites which cost almost nothing to stay at, which we will be making an extra effort to support after this experience.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank epicurean4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for this review, although it is one we are disappointed to receive it is important we find out when a customer has a bad experience so that we can get to the bottom of it and make sure it doesn't happen again. I sincerely apologise that your stay was less than satisfactory - I was shocked and disappointed to read this review, if you read our previous reviews it is completely out of the ordinary to get feedback like this on our staff. I would appreciate more information if you can give me any - please feel free to email me at philippa@kaikouratop10.co.nz to pass on further details - i.e. if you have the staff name, or the exact date you stayed. It would also be great if you could get in touch with me so we can arrange a refund for this stay. For me, the service you received is completely unacceptable and 100% goes against our customer service ethos. You are quite right, it is completely reasonable for you to request a different site to better suit your needs and we do encourage guests to let us know at the office if they would like to move. In terms of the NZMCA card - we don’t accept this card so we do try to give NZMCA members a quick intro to the benefits of the TOP 10 club card in case it will suit the guest to have both cards. However, we don't expect a customer to buy one and no offence should be taken when it isn't, the reaction of the staff member is puzzling. Our price is standard, we are currently in mid season - we compare our prices to local Holiday Parks and Parks around the country so that we are comparable and reflect the facilities offered here that aren't offered at other Parks or DOC sites etc. We have many recreational facilities that are no extra cost and are great for families to enjoy. We don't add laundry facilities, the private hot tub or Wi-Fi to our price as not all of our guests are going to use these so we don't want to pass this cost on to each guest. I will however pass your comments onto the Director of Kaikoura TOP 10 for consideration. Again, I am really sorry and I hope to hear from you so that we can resolve this situation to your satisfaction. Regards, Philippa Whitelaw. Operations Manager Kaikoura TOP 10 Holiday Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.9 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
1.3 mi away
Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura
0.4 mi away
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
#16 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park
0.6 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
0.8 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park

Property: Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Address: 34 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While visiting Kaikoura come and stay at our centrally located, award-winning Holiday Park and Motel. Just 300 metres from the town centre we are the perfect base whilst exploring Kaikoura, head out on foot to local tours, shops, restaurants and cafes. Kaikoura TOP 10 Holiday Park offers a range of quality, affordable accommodation options to suit everyone and every budget. In addition, we offer motel accommodation with a difference - relax and unwind in park surroundings with a welcoming atmosphere of open spaces, landscaped grounds and stunning mountain vistas while still enjoying the benefits of quality, comfortable motel units. . Choose from our 4-star Qualmark rated motels or our cabins or for those travelling in motorhomes we also offer sites in our 5-star Qualmark rated Holiday Park.We pride ourselves on being able to offer some of the best motel accommodation options and service in Kaikoura. Not only do we offer quality and comfort in a park-like setting but we also have excellent, modern facilities that you won’t find anywhere else in Kaikoura. Along with Wi-Fi and SKY Guest Select 50+ channels in every motel and freeview in cabins, we also have fantastic family facilities including an adventure playground with the popular jumping pillow, heated outdoor pool, private hot tub, games room, TV lounge and fun bikes for hire. With so much on offer it’s a wonderful chance for you to enjoy your holiday your way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing