We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing Service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Disappointing Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Have stayed at other Parks under this franchise and have been extremely impressed. We were initially with this until the morning after our 1st night when we left around 9am to see some of the sights we had booked in for. We left our ensuite card outside to indicate that the room needed servicing but when we returned around 3 hours plus later nothing had been done! We were actually seated outside having our lunch when we were approached by a staff member casually passing by and asked us if we wanted our room "serviced" despite the card being openly displayed!! Turned out their definition of "service" was to change the towels and empty the rubbish only!!! Even more shocking was the 2nd day under similar circumstances when we returned we had to go to the office to remind them and to add insult to injury when a staff member turned up she stood at the entrance waiting for us to pass the towels out to her!!! Nothing else was done!!! The excuse given was that they had "new staff" who had just started!!! Turned out the term "service" at this establishment is quite a misnomer!!!

Room Tip: Have a wide range of accommodation to suit all tastes and budgets
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Southlandrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Our servicing includes changing of towels, emptying of rubbish and replenishing of teas and coffees. We advertise this in the compendium in our rooms and also on the welcome sign on the wall in our units - I apologise that you were expecting more and will pass on this feedback. I also apologise for the delay both days on you being serviced, we were in fact training new managers and as it was very busy it was very hard to have the day functioning on our normal schedule. This is our fault and I am very sorry it affected your stay. Normally, we service rooms between 11am and 12pm - it was never our intention to service you later than this. The staff member was not trying to be rude by not entering your room, we find some guests don't like staff coming in when they are in the unit, so I'm sorry for the misunderstanding, we will make sure all staff are reminded to ensure all servicing is complete to the guests satisfaction before we leave. Once again, thank you for your feedback we will be reviewing this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    131
    62
    20
    12
See reviews for
122
163
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

I had a cabin , the price was what one would expect from a top 10 , resonable value , cabin was modern and very clean and comfortable , down side no tv in the cabins , and to much gravel to walk on without footwear, also with the gravel I could hear people moving about at night , also there's a trick to the showers , you have to press a light switch on the outside of the stall to give you six minutes of hot water , that's fine but the instructions need to be bigger , my first shower was cold I didn't see the sign , however this is a top notch place to stay and the management team ate fantastic

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercedes4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Overall the camp was pleasant with good parking bays for campervans. For the size of the camp we felt the number of toilets and showers were inadequate. Luckily the camp was not full while we were there. Very well positioned if you are going on a trip with the Whalewatch company.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devonlodges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed in a studio unit for one night. It was very clean and nice with a good amount of space-especially for a studio. I must admit that I had reservations about staying here before our arrival, these all dissolved upon entering the unit. It was colorful and made me feel at home. But the best part was the reception staff. They went above and beyond to help us. This park is located very close to the railway station, so it was very easy for us to get to without arranging another shuttle. I can recommend this top 10 park to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Rented a two bedroom motel unit for a night. Very comfortable, clean and close to the town centre. Great entertainment for the kids with a pool and play ground. Although close to the road it was very quiet

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank alk3714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed in the 2-bedroom motel unit - what excellent accommodation and facilities! The space in the unit was very generous with a full fitted kitchen, modern bathroom, dining area and sitting room. Perfect for a family stay.

I don't rate holiday/motor parks highly, but this was surprisingly well appointed and comfortable. A good option to try if you are looking for self contained apartments for a good deal.

Very close (within 5 minutes walk) to all the main sights, shops and all manner of cafes/restaurants as added bonus.

Room Tip: If you have a baby, ask for unit #20. It has a ramp which makes moving pushchairs a breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PG_Cumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hi there,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write us this review. It is wonderful to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that you were impressed with our two bedroom motel unit. These units were designed with families in mind and the aim is to provide a home away from home with everything you need. This kind of review is really important to us as we do think our holiday park and the TOP 10 Holiday Park brand New Zealand-wide, is very different from the older style of motor camps/campgrounds - we have accommodation options to suit everyone from sites to cabins to self-contained motels and what's more all set amongst beautiful park-like settings, no concrete jungles here! We hope you'll visit us again one day. Thank you :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

In a deluxe unit, but the noise from the trains......it may be only 30 seconds but you then have to get back to sleep, not easy when the 2 kids are woken and you have to settle them. Personally I did not like the bed, very soft, but that is more a personal preference. End result - very poor nights sleep.

I have stopped in other cabins, (not Top 10) which were as good and cheaper

Grandparents were with us, and they stopped in a Motel Cabin on the road side. Again very noisy

kids enjoyed the pool and jumping pillow, but would I stay again.......no not unless I had to

Room Tip: Road noise or rail noise - you choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.9 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.4 mi away
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
#16 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park
0.8 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
0.6 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park

Property: Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Address: 34 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While visiting Kaikoura come and stay at our centrally located, award-winning Holiday Park and Motel. Just 300 metres from the town centre we are the perfect base whilst exploring Kaikoura, head out on foot to local tours, shops, restaurants and cafes. Kaikoura TOP 10 Holiday Park offers a range of quality, affordable accommodation options to suit everyone and every budget. In addition, we offer motel accommodation with a difference - relax and unwind in park surroundings with a welcoming atmosphere of open spaces, landscaped grounds and stunning mountain vistas while still enjoying the benefits of quality, comfortable motel units. . Choose from our 4-star Qualmark rated motels or our cabins or for those travelling in motorhomes we also offer sites in our 5-star Qualmark rated Holiday Park.We pride ourselves on being able to offer some of the best motel accommodation options and service in Kaikoura. Not only do we offer quality and comfort in a park-like setting but we also have excellent, modern facilities that you won’t find anywhere else in Kaikoura. Along with Wi-Fi and SKY Guest Select 50+ channels in every motel and freeview in cabins, we also have fantastic family facilities including an adventure playground with the popular jumping pillow, heated outdoor pool, private hot tub, games room, TV lounge and fun bikes for hire. With so much on offer it’s a wonderful chance for you to enjoy your holiday your way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing