We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome holiday”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We are a family of 5 including a teenager and 2 preschoolers, we found this park amazing, the staff were super friendly, the park was clean and our tent site was in a perfect location, and there was plenty for the children to do.
This was our first time camping and I will definitely go back to Kaikoura top 10 in a heartbeat.
We didn't find the trains too noisy and our usually wakeful toddlers slept through. A fantastic experience and would highly reccommend to all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hi there Pauline,
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a great review. It's wonderful to hear we gave you an excellent first time experience camping. Thanks also for the feedback on our staff, they'll be pleased to hear you were happy with their service. We hope to see you back here again next summer. Happy New year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    132
    62
    20
    12
See reviews for
123
164
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Ok for a one night stop over but it was expensive and in a noisy location. You'd be better staying off the main highway. The cabins were clean and comfortable. Pool spa and facilities were good but $190 a night was too expensive.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominique-Hes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hi there,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on us. We're glad you found the park and the facilities clean and enjoyed the use of our free private spa and also the swimming pool. In terms of pricing, we are currently in peak season so our pricing does reflect that. We do also offer a range of different accommodation options to suit every budget. With the summer traffic on the roads at the moment, it has been a bit noisy during the day, this noise tends to die down in the evening once the traffic has subsided but we do understand it does disturb some people. We hope you have enjoyed your summer holiday. Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed in a two bed room motel unit. It had a queen bed in one room and two single beds in the other. It was a good size unit with a lounge area and dinning area that would comfortably fit four people. The kitchen was well equipped and even had a dishwasher and free dishwashing power, which we very much appreciated.

The grounds of the holiday park are well kept and the staff at reception were very friendly and helpful. The holiday park is in a good location with several nice restaurants right across the road along with some takeaway places. We had dinner on our first night at the Tutis restaurant, across the road from the holiday park, the food and service were excellent. There is also a large supermarket a couple of minutes by car down the road. The holiday park is an easy walk to the main street of Kaikoura. I’d happily stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summernz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Hello there and many thanks for the feedback on our Holiday Park. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay in our two bedroom motel unit and are pleased to hear it met your expectations. It's excellent to hear you'd like to stay here again and we hope that perhaps oneday we can welcome you back. Enjoy the rest of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
140 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

A nice holiday park that is not too big nor cramp. The family unit was clean, very spacious & comfortable. Met by friendly staff. 3 min drive to the Whale Watching operator. Close to restaurants. Do also drive to the Kaikoura Peninsula Walkway to enjoy the beautiful coastal view.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickFun35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Hi there,
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your time in Kaikoura and at our holiday park. We are pleased to hear our family units met your expectations. Thanks also for the tips to your fellow travellers - the Kaikoura Peninsula is a definite must do! Merry Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kontich, Belgium
Level Contributor
177 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Kaikoura is a super region, when it goes for marine mammals.
We returned to Kaikoura's Top 10 HP for the third time, and are still very happy with the service that is offered.
Reception staff is extremely friendly and helpful. I have read that Internet is too expensive - well... that is not correct. For 25 NZD you get a 7 day AIC subscription, with download up to 1 TB. Speed of the WiFi is quite good.
With regard to the holiday park: it is a "busy" park, as Kaikoura is a very busy tourist location. So that reflects on the park. However, the camper sites are still spacy enough. Accomodation is very good and well maintained (at least: if the guests are thinking about their co-travellers as well :-) )
Very luxury spa that can be used for free (after reservation).
The HP is located to one of the busiest state highways of the land, yet after business hours traffic goes down. The only thing remaining are the trains passing by, yet not really causing too much noise.
I'd gladly return to Kaikoura's Top 10 HP - thank you very much for your welcoming reception!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georges B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Hi there,
We are just thrilled to hear your feedback, thank you for your comments and pleased to hear your repeat stay again met your expectations of us. We do have a great team at reception and I will be sure to pass your comments onto them. We will look forward to hopefully seeing you again someday, Merry Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We expected this to be a great site based on our experience of the other Top 10 sites which have been excellent, spacious and well laid out. This site is squeezed between a railway line on one side and the main road on the other and the camper van pitches are so close together creating very little privacy, the railway line and road are busy which you can clearly hear in the night along with your neighbours conversation! Cannot understand how this won the best Top 10 award it must be for the facilities which were clean and modern but would not get my vote..... No view either. Stayed for a few hours just to go on Whale watch which was brilliant and left as soon as possible.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJ62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Firstly I'd like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is important to us to get feedback and work on any issues our guests may have had. It's unfortunate to hear you were not happy with the site allocated, all our sites vary in sizes and I would like to apologise that you felt yours was too close to your neighbour. We welcome our customers to come back to reception to let us know if a site doesn’t suit them and we are more than happy to show all the options still available so that our guests can choose what suits them best. We are now in peak season with the Christmas period and January coming up being by far our busiest time of the year, so we may have been at or near full capacity during your stay. Most of our guests visiting in this period enjoy the buzz of the busy season in the park but we do recommend visiting us at other times of the year if you are after a quieter holiday park experience. Unfortunately, the trade off for our great, central location does include the road and railway. Luckily, there are very few trains with the noise only lasting momentarily. We do boast fantastic mountain views, seen from all over the park, provided there isn’t low cloud. Some of these views have been posted by travellers in previous reviews. We don’t have sea views but the sea is so close you can hear it and a short walk will take you to sea views. We are disappointed we didn’t meet your expectations and apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us; we have taken your feedback on board. Merry Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Nothing really here to shout about apart from its location in Kaikoura which is excellent. Over the past 3 weeks we've stayed at various sites in NZ some of them top10 and nowhere have we found Internet to be more than $10 for a 24hr period. So why is this top10 charging $25 for 24hrs. My advice go to the coffee shop down the road and get free use with decent coffee.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank asl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Hi there,
Thank you for this feedback. We appreciate your comments and your review is well timed as we have been reconsidering our price for a while now. Today (Monday 17th December) we have officially rolled out our new internet pricing plan. The price you were referring to is for access from our own network where we have now reduced our price. We also provide internet through the Internet Access Company (IAC) - this enables guests to buy plans to use throughout New Zealand, not just at our Park. Guests will now be able to buy internet for 24 hours, with 100GB for $5. We apologise that you were disappointed with the price of our internet, unfortunately in New Zealand internet has been slower to become widely available at low prices, especially in rural towns - but luckily Kaikoura is now catching up with the rest of the world which is shown in our new pricing :) We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.9 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
1.3 mi away
Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura
0.4 mi away
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
#16 of 20 in Kaikoura
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park
0.6 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
0.8 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park

Property: Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Address: 34 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While visiting Kaikoura come and stay at our centrally located, award-winning Holiday Park and Motel. Just 300 metres from the town centre we are the perfect base whilst exploring Kaikoura, head out on foot to local tours, shops, restaurants and cafes. Kaikoura TOP 10 Holiday Park offers a range of quality, affordable accommodation options to suit everyone and every budget. In addition, we offer motel accommodation with a difference - relax and unwind in park surroundings with a welcoming atmosphere of open spaces, landscaped grounds and stunning mountain vistas while still enjoying the benefits of quality, comfortable motel units. . Choose from our 4-star Qualmark rated motels or our cabins or for those travelling in motorhomes we also offer sites in our 5-star Qualmark rated Holiday Park.We pride ourselves on being able to offer some of the best motel accommodation options and service in Kaikoura. Not only do we offer quality and comfort in a park-like setting but we also have excellent, modern facilities that you won’t find anywhere else in Kaikoura. Along with Wi-Fi and SKY Guest Select 50+ channels in every motel and freeview in cabins, we also have fantastic family facilities including an adventure playground with the popular jumping pillow, heated outdoor pool, private hot tub, games room, TV lounge and fun bikes for hire. With so much on offer it’s a wonderful chance for you to enjoy your holiday your way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing