We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite Top 10 Holiday Park in NZ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Our favorite Top 10 Holiday Park in NZ”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

During our 4 week road trip through New Zealand we stayed at 7 different Top 10 Holiday Parks and Kaikoura was our favorite. Why? Because the staff are the most friendly, welcoming and helpful. Because the hot tub is free. Because its location within the city of Kaikoura is very central, unlike some Top 10s where you are a bit of a drive out of town. Because the kitchen facilities are particularly large. Yes, it also has pristine clean, comfortable and basic cabins as all Top 10s do. We highly recommend Top 10 Kaikoura for your visit to the Kaikoura area. We noticed that other travelers have commented about the time limit on the shower - the point is to conserve water, and if you can't take a shower in 7 minutes, you can always push the button again, and again. Also, if you’re visiting New Zealand on an extended road trip and plan on staying in holiday parks, we highly recommend the Top 10 Membership, especially if you plan on taking the Interislander because you get a 10% discount. Last but not least, definitely visit the Ohau Seal Pups while you're in Kaikoura!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chamborres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Hi there, we are absolutely delighted with your feedback so thanks very much for taking the time to write us a review. We are particularly glad to hear you were happy with our staff and I will let them all know. It sounds like you made use of all the facilities on offer and took advantage of our central location. Thanks for the tip to our future guests about the TOP 10 Club Membership, it's a fantastic card to have during your travels as there are 50 TOP 10 Parks around New Zealand offering brilliant local discounts, we have some great discounts around Kaikoura and the Interislander discount is a definite bonus! Yes, aren't the baby seals at Ohau Stream just adorable?! That's a real gem to explore in Kaikoura. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    135
    62
    21
    12
See reviews for
127
168
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolligen, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Top10 in Kaikoura. Top location near the Whale Watching Centre, nice campground, Toilets were ok. Although 38 NZ$ for two adults a night (Top10 discount included) is very expensive.
All in all a good opportunity in Kaikoura.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LSR3065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Hi there, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate you letting us and others know that you were happy with your stay here. Our location is definitely a bonus for those heading out on tours or for a quick walk to the beach, the town centre, cafes and restaurants. We hope you have enjoyed the rest of your travels around New Zealand. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Worst top 10 holiday park experience, the shower only allow 7 minutes hot water. After that you have to reset, it says come back in a minute. I waited at least 3 mins before i have hot water again. It is 7 degree outside.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank foodfoodwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback. Kaikoura has a stunning environment which is important to the community, our visitors and our next generation - therefore we are dedicated to protecting our environment. As part of our commitment to the environment we have adapted energy efficient techniques, one of which is to install shower timers to save energy and water. We initially had these set at five minutes and then increased the time to seven minutes. We believe this is a reasonable time to shower and you can, as you say, have another with a one minute delay. If there was a three minute delay then there was something wrong, if you had told us at the time we could have got that particular shower fixed straight away - I will have our maintenance staff check the showers now that you have made us aware of a possible problem, so thank you for alerting us to this. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

I stopped off in kaikoura on my travels through new zealand, in order to see some of the amazing local wildlife. I chose to stay at a top 10 site because I was travelling on my own and wanted to stay with a reputable company, but also wanted to keep my accommodation costs down. Initially I booked a standard cabin and was surprised to find it was literally a room with a bed in it. I'd expected a small kitchenette and a tv at least. I went back to reception and explained, they were very helpful and found a deluxe cabin for me to stay in, for an extra $15 per night. The room was a good size with a double bed and bunk bed, plus fridge, kettle, toaster, some cutlery and a tv. I took my own bedding, if you don't take your own you have to pay a small fee to borrow some.

The cabin was located right next to a train line, I assumed the large trains which were using the line would stop during the night, but I was wrong. I was woken a number of times during the night by the noise and shaking from the train!

I was disappointed with the site overall, it didn't seem particularly good value for money and whilst ideally located for the attractions of kaikoura, the train line is a real negative.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becstar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hi there, I appreciate your comments and am disappointed you were not entirely happy with your experience; we take this feedback very seriously. We do offer a range of accommodation options to suit different traveler's needs and budgets, we do try to explain to all our guests what each room type has so they can choose accordingly and I apologise if you were expecting something different. I am pleased to hear that you did ask to upgrade to something that suited you better. In terms of pricing, we set our prices fairly based on demand and the local market; in terms of all the benefits available at our Holiday Park we think our pricing is fair. Unfortunately, the train traffic is out of our control and is a factor which affects many accommodation options in Kaikoura. The trains are very irregular and are very short in passing so the noise may only last for 20-30 seconds. We generally do not get more than 3 passing in the night, and we have done what we can to reduce the noise - unfortunately a small number of our guests still notice it, most agree though, a little noise is worth the compromise of our excellent location - a quick walk to the town centre, to the ocean, to Whale Watch Kaikoura and to great restaurants. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels, take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My wife and I spend over a month in New Zealand touring in a motorhome, from the top of the North to Bottom of the South, and out of everywhere Kaikoura was our favourite place, including the Top 10 site there. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and the site is just wonderful, the scenery is so dramatic and the site is very clean. I would love to stay here again when we return, Kaikoura is a must!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Hi there, thanks so much for the review - it's a pleasure to hear such positive feedback about both our Park and the Kaikoura township. Thanks for including a photo, we do have a stunning backdrop and we are very lucky to live in such a beautiful place - thanks for reminding us! We hope we will see you back here one day, hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here for one night in a cottage with shared bathroom for $80. The lady at check in was very friendly and gave us some local info. The cabin was a decent size with a double bed and bunk beds. The shared bathrooms were kept clean. It's located only about a two min drive from town. We didn't walk it but I wouldn't think it'd take too long. It's also only a couple of mins the marina where the whale watching tours go from.

It was good value for money and we would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SF3415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Hi there,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review. I'm happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that our standard cabins met your expectations. They are a great option for an overnight stay. Having everything in Kaikoura in very close proximity is a definite bonus of our location; we are only 400 metres from the town centre and Whale Watch Kaikoura is right behind us, so it's a very quick walk for our guests to either location and an even quicker drive! We hope to see you again in the future. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at Kaikoura Top 10 several times and they never fail to satisfy our expectations. We most recently stayed for a period of 2 nights last week and for one overnight stay. Our rooms were as always excellent and the staff friendly and helpful. I have no hesitation in recommending the Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park to anyone. Allan & Anne

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Hi Allan and Anne,

Thank you very much for your review, it is very much appreciated. We are glad to hear we consistently meet your expectations and I will definitely pass on your comments to all our staff as we pride ourselves on our customer service so it is always wonderful to get such great feedback. See you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.9 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
1.5 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#15 of 20 in Kaikoura
111 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Lodge
Sunrise Lodge
#12 of 20 in Kaikoura
49 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
1.8 mi away
Admiral Court Motel
Admiral Court Motel
#8 of 20 in Kaikoura
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park

Property: Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Address: 34 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While visiting Kaikoura come and stay at our centrally located, award-winning Holiday Park and Motel. Just 300 metres from the town centre we are the perfect base whilst exploring Kaikoura, head out on foot to local tours, shops, restaurants and cafes. Kaikoura TOP 10 Holiday Park offers a range of quality, affordable accommodation options to suit everyone and every budget. In addition, we offer motel accommodation with a difference - relax and unwind in park surroundings with a welcoming atmosphere of open spaces, landscaped grounds and stunning mountain vistas while still enjoying the benefits of quality, comfortable motel units. . Choose from our 4-star Qualmark rated motels or our cabins or for those travelling in motorhomes we also offer sites in our 5-star Qualmark rated Holiday Park.We pride ourselves on being able to offer some of the best motel accommodation options and service in Kaikoura. Not only do we offer quality and comfort in a park-like setting but we also have excellent, modern facilities that you won’t find anywhere else in Kaikoura. Along with Wi-Fi and SKY Guest Select 50+ channels in every motel and freeview in cabins, we also have fantastic family facilities including an adventure playground with the popular jumping pillow, heated outdoor pool, private hot tub, games room, TV lounge and fun bikes for hire. With so much on offer it’s a wonderful chance for you to enjoy your holiday your way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing