We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed here as part of a two week campervan trip from Auckland to Queenstown and after staying at other Top 10 campgrounds on the way down this was a huge disappointment.

The site we were given for our camper was very, very small - you couldn't have opened the door if the camper next to us had had their door open. Definitely no room for putting your camp chairs or table out.

The site was next to train tracks and the trains didn't stop at night, we were close enough to the tracks that the vibration and noise woke you up.

It was also the most expensive holiday park we stayed at.

On a positive note the restaurant/cafe across the road was very nice and had a good selection of organic and vegetarian food.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank AntipodeanAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Hi there,
Firstly I'd like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is important to us to get feedback and work on issues our guests have had. It's unfortunate to hear you were not happy with the site allocated, all our sites vary in sizes and I would like to apologise that you were not given a site appropriate to the size of your camper. However, I'd like to assure you that if any customer comes back to reception to let us know site is too small or perhaps would prefer a different area of park, we are more than happy to show all the options available for guests to inspect and choose what suits them best.
Unfortunately, the railway does run near to our park, it is a trade off for our great, central location - a quick walk to the town centre, to the ocean, to Whale Watch Kaikoura and to great restaurants. We have found a small number of guests are affected by the train but we are doing what we can to reduce the noise, for example growing a tall, thick hedge around the boundaries of park.
Again, thank you for writing a review, we will take this feedback on board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

325 - 331 of 396 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2012

Staff were ace, helped us out nicely. Well priced, nice and clean.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McLaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Hi there McLaff,
Thanks very much for letting us know you were pleased with the service from staff - I will be sure to let them know about this feedback, that's great!!
Hope to see you here again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We tried to use the Top 10 sites wherever we stayed in New Zealand. We used the self contained cabins which had bathrooms, limited kitchen facilities with plates and cutlery, linen and towels. The facilities were always clean and comfortable and the reception service always good. The Kaikoura one was right across the railway from the whale watching centre which was ideal for us.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fhdCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

Hi there,
Thanks so much for the great review, we really appreciate getting your feedback. So pleased to hear your stay here met your expectations. Hope you had a special trip out on whale watch.
Thanks again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed at Kaikoura Top 10 for 2 nights - very relaxing. We stayed in a studio cabin and were very comfortable. The staff were great! Even though this park is between the rail line and maib road, noise was minimal and certainly didn't disrupt our sleep! It was amazing to walk outside and look up to the mountains - absolutely beautiful. Will go back and stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

Hi there Annie,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review, glad to hear you enjoyed our central location. We are situated very conveniently for our guests; close to activities, restaurants, shops and with the added bonus of beautiful mountain vistas. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

A really nice camp site, easy to find and great location. The pitch itself was very good lots of room, and had a nice outside BBQ and a big kitchen, plenty of showers and no issues with hot water which we did have a some sites.
The staff were very friendly and help us book a dolphin swimming trip the next day.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

Hi there,
Thanks very much for recently writing a review for us, we really appreciate your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here and were pleased with the service of our staff. Hope your dolphin swim was fantastic too!
Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

This park is great we had a great time here it is in walking distance of quite a few restaurants and bars including the main street of Kaikoura.
The facilities are very clean and the guests all seemed very nice and not at all rowdy.
They recommended Tuti's Restaurant which is directly opposite which we think is the best in Kaikoura.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Hi there Brenda,

Many thanks for your feedback, we really appreciate it. We agree we are in a great location, just a short walk to many fantastic restaurants! Glad you enjoyed the staff recommendation. Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Very close to the Main Street. Easy to find. Unit was roomy. No problem booking in for extra night stay.

Staff very helpfull. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jude M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaikouratop10, Marketing Assistant at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Hi JudeM,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review on us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.9 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
1.1 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
345 reviews
1.5 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#12 of 20 in Kaikoura
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
#16 of 20 in Kaikoura
48 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
1.0 mi away
Heritage Court Motor Lodge
Heritage Court Motor Lodge
#14 of 20 in Kaikoura
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park

Address: 34 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range: $55 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While visiting Kaikoura come and stay at our centrally located, award-winning Holiday Park and Motel. Just 300 metres from the town centre we are the perfect base whilst exploring Kaikoura, head out on foot to local tours, shops, restaurants and cafes. Kaikoura TOP 10 Holiday Park offers a range of quality, affordable accommodation options to suit everyone and every budget. In addition, we offer motel accommodation with a difference - relax and unwind in park surroundings with a welcoming atmosphere of open spaces, landscaped grounds and stunning mountain vistas while still enjoying the benefits of quality, comfortable motel units. . Choose from our 4-star Qualmark rated motels or our cabins or for those travelling in motorhomes we also offer sites in our 5-star Qualmark rated Holiday Park.We pride ourselves on being able to offer some of the best motel accommodation options and service in Kaikoura. Not only do we offer quality and comfort in a park-like setting but we also have excellent, modern facilities that you won’t find anywhere else in Kaikoura. Along with Wi-Fi and SKY Guest Select 50+ channels in every motel and freeview in cabins, we also have fantastic family facilities including an adventure playground with the popular jumping pillow, heated outdoor pool, private hot tub, games room, TV lounge and fun bikes for hire. With so much on offer it’s a wonderful chance for you to enjoy your holiday your way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing