We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If Possible Stay Away”
Review of Lazy Shag

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lazy Shag
Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If Possible Stay Away”
Reviewed February 14, 2010

Stayed at the Lazy Shag in January while travelling in the South Island. We stayed for 2 nights in a double room.
We enjoyed our stay at most of the backpackers on our way and from the description in the Lonely Planet expected this to be in line with the rest.
The backpacker is quite new and all the rooms are ensuite - which we considered a treat.
Our room was very small and dirty, the toilet was dirty and looked as if it has never been cleaned, the sheets on the bed were dirty with visible stains. No towels were provided. The toiletpaper is chained up so you can't use too much at a time.
The kitchen was also quite disgusting - the dishwashing liquid used was watered down and smelled and so did not clean the dishes well - leaving everything dirty, kitchen towels were not replaced and so were wet and smelly - and to top it all the stovetop took over an hour to heat - so cooking food was not really an option.
The TV did not work - only movies.
Internet was not free - but cost the same as in most other places.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilelstka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    42
    33
    9
    8
See reviews for
3
42
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2009

Small double rooms in a very central location. They all have private baths which was great but NO free internet as advertised in Lonely Planet and seen in other TripAdvisor reviews. For the price, you can't beat it. Parking included.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciaoamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2009

Spent 3 nights here,

+ Price was ok
+ Good location
+ Free internet
+ Good kitchen & tv room

3.5/5

2.5/5

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tf_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2008

This was one of the better places we stayed whilst on a 2 week trip around NZ's South Island. We were driving and there were plenty of car park spaces, the room was clean but very basic, but we weren't lacking anything we needed. The en suite was clean and functional. There were 2 tvs in the lounge but neither worked as as a tv which was a shame, but there were planty of videos to choose from and comfy bean bags! The kitchen was clean and again had everything we needed. Think there are improvements being made so sure it will be even better now than when we were there!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MancMilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2008

Stayed here for two nights at the end of November 2007 as part of a three month trip around the world.

Until we stayed here we had been in hotels and a camper van and this was the first hostel. Our budget was quite generous so we were not "back packing" but knew New Zealand would be expensive with all the activities so decided to save money by staying in a hostel.

Recommended by Lonely Planet, we were not disappointed. It is a nice property in a good location and was excellent value on our budget. Our room was an ensuite twin and was basic but clean. We did get bed linen but no duvet. The room was very cold alright and we were told the heating could be turned on but it didn't work. We just put on more clothes though!

Didn't use the TV room or the kitchen (which was big and well equipped) but the laundry was great and the internet free (not that slow but there was usually a queue).

Staff were not around that much but when they were they were friendly and helpful. It was a very laid back atmosphere and there was a good outdoor deck area with a nice enough view.

We had no difficulty with noise, luckily cos our room faced on to the deck so it could have been a problem but everyone seemed to go to bed fairly early.

Would definitely recommend it as a way to save money and if you are not too fussy but did not stay in any other hostels in New Zealand so cannot say how it fairs against others.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GaylePDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2007

Stayed here with the Kiwi Experience so if you do stay here be warned that every night 20 or so rowdy backpackers will arrive in and generally take over. The bed rooms were a good size but the sheets weren't clean. Linen wasn't provided but a duvet (no top or bottom sheet) could be hired for $2. Our room was cold. The kitchen was a good size and well equipped and it was clean. One complaint would be that the bins did not have lids so once the food bin started getting full there were a lot of flys around. There was a tv room but it was not tuned so you can only watch movies, however movie hire was free. This room was also extremely cold and there weren't enough seats. The seats available here, as in the 'lounge' next to the kitchen were very old and pretty broken as well as grimy and dirty - not especially relaxing!

On the morning we left the dorm next to us was woken up by their fire alarm going off without provocation. They had to wait until 8am for reception to arrive. At 8:15 nobody had appeared, then we spotted some movement in the office, after banging on the door the receptionist appeared and shut off the fire alarm, she could hear it before but had chosen to do nothing about it, which seemed inexplicable.

In conlcusion; it's a bed for the night and the kicthen was clean, but there are better places out there and for a similar price. Try the YHA

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — All problems mentioned above
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank smallblackflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kaikoura hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2007

The Lazy Shag was a great disappointment. The beds were all covered in hair when we arrived, the internet, although free consists of one very slow computer with no usb racilities, the sofas look so disgusting you're afraid to sit on them and the rooms are pretty cold.
It does have a big TV room which is a bonus, the kitchen is OK but by New Zealand standars is pretty poor, really this is one of the worst hostels we have stayed in on our travels.

  • Liked — Big TV room
  • Disliked — Low level of cleanliness
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank fearon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.9 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.9 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
1.2 mi away
Seaview Motel
Seaview Motel
#13 of 32 in Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers
#13 of 36 in Kaikoura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.8 mi away
Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Dolphin Lodge Backpackers
Dolphin Lodge Backpackers
#8 of 36 in Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Shag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Shag

Property: Lazy Shag
Address: 37 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Lazy Shag reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy Shag Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing