We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic hostel, nothing much more”
Review of Lazy Shag

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lazy Shag
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“basic hostel, nothing much more”
Reviewed April 5, 2011

the hostel is centrally located and close to the "main" part of the town, though it's so small so everything is relativlly close.
the rooms were too stuffy as there were no windows. same as others says, there were no lids on the trash cans since they were devided by recycling order, so there were many flies as a result of that.
women at reception was very energetic and friendly,too bad the sheets cost money.
tv room was pretty cozy but the tv and movies were out of date...
plenty of parking!!!
all together if you're not coming to kaikoura to view whales or dolphins there's nothing else to do there, so take that under concideration.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yula1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    42
    33
    9
    8
See reviews for
3
42
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
galway ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

We really liked this place. Receptionist was friendly and good fun. Clean, happy and relaxing. One of my fav stays in NZ.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superbunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

The Lazy Shag is about 5 minutes walk from the town centre of Kaikura which is pretty handy. The rooms are very warm which is good considering it's often pretty cold in the area but the bed aren't the best, plus you have to pay to have a duvet which I think is a damn cheek so I used my sleeping bag instead.

The kitchen isn't great, quite small and a tiny eating bench to the side so many people have to eat on the sofas in the room adjacent. Kitchen equipment is adequate. The communal area is quite pokey.

Although it did the job for a night, this place has no soul and isn't great for socialising - no bar either although Kaikura is a small place so perhaps it's not worth their while.

Global Gossip PCs which is handy though.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan_James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kaikoura hotels

Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

we loved the name as we were on honeymoon so booked imagining budget level but s basic standard. It wsa freezing when we got there and we had a half broken 1 bar heater in our room. The rooms were very cheap but the bed was lumpy as hell and there were tiny hand towels in the shower which didnt suffice.

We ended up sleeping sp badly we got up at 5.30 to watch the sunrise so spent all of 6 hours in the room. If on honeymoon stay away - you want a better level of this....and a more comfy bed!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twhDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights. Our en suite room was quite nice. The tv lounge was good. However the kitchen is the major downfall. It is big and fairly well equipped BUT stinks as there are open bins in it. This in turn leads to an abundance of flies. They were everywhere. There was no escaping them!! The cleanliness of the kitchen is poor too, dead flies all over the walls and tea towels don't seem to be washed well.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joey010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

Stayed at the Lazy Shag in January while travelling in the South Island. We stayed for 2 nights in a double room.
We enjoyed our stay at most of the backpackers on our way and from the description in the Lonely Planet expected this to be in line with the rest.
The backpacker is quite new and all the rooms are ensuite - which we considered a treat.
Our room was very small and dirty, the toilet was dirty and looked as if it has never been cleaned, the sheets on the bed were dirty with visible stains. No towels were provided. The toiletpaper is chained up so you can't use too much at a time.
The kitchen was also quite disgusting - the dishwashing liquid used was watered down and smelled and so did not clean the dishes well - leaving everything dirty, kitchen towels were not replaced and so were wet and smelly - and to top it all the stovetop took over an hour to heat - so cooking food was not really an option.
The TV did not work - only movies.
Internet was not free - but cost the same as in most other places.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilelstka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2009

Small double rooms in a very central location. They all have private baths which was great but NO free internet as advertised in Lonely Planet and seen in other TripAdvisor reviews. For the price, you can't beat it. Parking included.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciaoamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers
#14 of 36 in Kaikoura
184 reviews
0.9 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
4.3 mi away
Koura Bay Lodge
Koura Bay Lodge
#13 of 36 in Kaikoura
39 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Shag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Shag

Property: Lazy Shag
Address: 37 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Lazy Shag reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy Shag Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing