We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quiet accommodation”
Review of Sails Motel

Sails Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kaikoura
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sails Motel
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great quiet accommodation”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Sails is run by Deb and Ted who are very attentive. We arrived later than planned and so Deb was very worried we wouldn't get to the shop to buy food but as we had cereal with us gave us extra milk so we could have breakfast before our Albatross Encounter. She also rang the company in the morning to check what time they would actually be going out to sea without any prompting on our part. we both got seasick during the (amazing) Albatross encounter and left a do not disturb note on our door so she left a note to tell us she wouldn't close the office until 9pm as she was concerned for our welfare. We deliberately chose this motel based on the reviews on Trip Advisor - in particular the fact that it is behind other motels means it is really quiet as it is not on the roadside, and because we had read how helpful and considerate Deb is - both of these were spot on. We spent 2 nights there and were very happy with the room, facitilies, quiet and very clean room and bathroom and of course Deb and Ted. We would stay there again and it is very very close to the Encounters office and pick up for trips - so great location in Kaikoura. As a bonus Deb also pointed us to a specific motel - The Chalets Motel in Hanmer Springs and it was also perfect!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    35
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
78
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

a very nice motel that you would probably miss when in kaikoura. It is worth looking for as it's down a driveway . You really get the personal touch when you arrive. The units are of good size and are very clean(It's important to us). It is a nice walk to town. either go along the beach or footpath. Fish & chips , go Hemi's . Its close to the main rood and opens at 5pm. The other thing we found out..was.. if you want a reasonable priced possum/merino/silk clothing...Go to a store called CRT. Its just a kilometre(could be less) north of the main shopping centre. I have been looking all over nz . most are quite expensive...

Room Tip: it's down a driveway
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peternz_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

In a six week tour of New Zealand Bev was the most personally concerned of all the motel owners we met. She genuinely wanted to ensure that you had a really good time in a way that matched your individual interests. The room, although small was furnished with some style, quite a rarity in motels!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Louise366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Good value motel run by a very friendly couple. The motel is set back from the street and beach without views, but this is reflected in the price. It does not have wifi. Rooms clean, comfortable and well-appointed. Nothing too much trouble for owner. Not high hand but excellent value for money.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brancacci186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed in Sails for 2 nights - overall the accommodation and Kaikoura itself were our second favourite place in NZ. The owner is very helpful and kind and gave us some goods tips about places to eat and visit in the locality. The motel itself is in a quiet location, just off the Esplanade with good facillities. If it is a clear evening I recommend a walk up Dempsey's Track to the lookout to watch the sun go down behind the mountians.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulysses100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Sails motel is tucked away off the sea front in Kaikoura and is well sheltered in a lovely garden within easy walking distance of the town centre. Rooms were lovely - spacious and extremely clean. Sad I didn't have more time to sit outside and read my book! Deb was a VERY attentive host, and organised anything we needed. Driveway is very narrow so bigger cars watch out!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dara219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thalwil, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We started our 3 weeks holiday in NZ at the Sails Motel in Kaikoura and we couldn't have wished for a better place to get a first taste of the kiwi hospitality. The cabin we had was basic, but equipped with all the things we needed and very clean. The location is very central yet thanks to the fact that the motel is not directly at the main street also very quiet. Deb was an excellent host and provided us with all the inormation, maps, bochures etc we needed. She even recommended us a nice lunch spot in Blenheim for our onward journey.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.0 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#15 of 20 in Kaikoura
113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
0.6 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sails Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sails Motel

Property: Sails Motel
Address: 134 Esplanade, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Sails Hotel Kaikoura
Sails Motel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing